We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why oh why did I agree to stay here?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn Tucson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
University Inn Tucson
Ranked #56 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Why oh why did I agree to stay here?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The location is what made me stay here: it's very close to downtown.

But: It was noisy because there was some sort of athletic event where the contestants woke up at 5:30 AM on a Sunday. The desk manager was not friendly: she refused to give us a AAA discount even though the hotel is endorsed by AAA. Yeah, a red flag and I should have left but my friend wanted to stay. She could have also mentioned that there were several teams staying and that they may have some events. Does she know the definition of "host"?

Summary: Shop around. There are plenty of rooms in Tucson with much more friendly and HOSPITABLE staff and better bang for the buck. I won't be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yatz8261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Yatz8261,

Thank you for taking the time to write us feedback about our Inn. I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay and would like to address your concerns.

While we cannot control what time our guests get up in the morning, we can control the environment up to a certain degree. The first step would be to notify the front desk that you are being disturbed from a room around you at that moment. In the moment we can tell other guests to keep the noise levels down if they are being loud. We sincerely care about the quality of stay for every guest, including yours.

We are a AAA hotel that offers AAA discounts, but there are 4 different instances where the discount would not be valid.:

1. If the discount has been already applied.

2. If you cannot prove your membership with AAA (like not having the AAA card with you).

3. Already booking on a 3rd party site like expedia.com, etc. If you already made the reservation we cannot give you an additional discount on top. Any discounts should be recognized at the time of booking on a 3rd party site.

4. Giving you the best deal from the start! Sometimes the desk agents give the best discounted price just to do it. We love giving out discounts and you'll find them around (hint: even on TripAdvisor, click the Offers & Announcements on our main page for details). If we are already giving you a better deal it wouldn't make sense to give you an additional discount. We're a bit old fashion like that, why not just give the guest your best rate!

The University Inn Tucson is a locally owned and operated business for over 20 years (I've even lost count because it's been so long). We focus on value, providing clean and comfortable rooms with many amenities.

Your feedback is very important to us and I will be sharing it with the staff. Again I would like to apologize for the inconveniences, and would like to invite you to giving us another chance to show our hospitality so we can make things right.

Sincerely,

University Inn Tucson Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    72
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
53
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Very nice and comfortable, clean, and well maintained motel with the most helpful and friendly staff that anyone could ever ask for. They went far beyond what you would expect, to offer you complete satisfaction while staying there. Very affordable. I would definitely stay again when in Tucson. Thank you staff!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stammercindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear stammercindy,

Thank you for reviewing our Inn on TripAdvisor! Thank you for all the lovely comments about our Inn. We provide clean and comfortable rooms with very personal customer service. Majority of our guests are repeat guests that we see over and over again. We have been managing this Inn for over 20+ years (I've even lost count) and we have seen how the hospitality industry has changed over time. We have definitely narrowed our target market to serve guests who are looking for a quiet, clean, and comfortable place with necessary amenities at a reasonable price. We are absolutely happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and look forward to serving you again next time you visit! Thank you for your feedback!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel exceeded all pur expectations. It is clean, quiet, and well maintained.
Above all, the hotel manager was helpful and friendly.
A nice touch was a simple contraption that kept the curtains from flaping over the a/c.

Room Tip: The wild garlic grill is not far
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Isaac O,

Thank you for providing a review on our Inn on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We are an Inn that focuses on value and just because we are reasonably priced does not mean you have to sacrifice on quality. We are happy to provide clean and comfortable rooms to our guests with very friendly prices. We are happy to hear we exceed your expectations. We look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

VERY nice motel facility & convenient to get to & from for Tucson, AZ activities (or just a stop for the night). The motel is very clean, quite well maintained, comfortable, & run by a friendly helpful owner/manager American couple. Has easy to use WiFi, extensive cable TV, and a nice basic continental breakfast. It seems to even improve every time we stay there. The reason I gave it five stars instead of only four is that the rates are so reasonable (especially in relation to other motel facilities). We will definately stay there again when we visit the Tucson area. WELL DONE University Inn people!

Room Tip: see the review above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StanR92411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear StanR92411,

Thank you so much for leaving a review on our Inn. Thank you for all the wonderful comments about our Inn. We are happy to provide such a great value our customers enjoy. We are definitely an Inn that focuses on providing clean and comfortable rooms with plenty of necessary amenities. Thank you again for all your gracious comments and we look forward to serving you again anytime you come into town.

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

A genuine american motel, owned by a nice family from India! You get incredible much for the relatively small amount of money you pay: A quite large room with two king size beds. Bathroom is of course attached. Very clean and towels are changed every day. In the room there is also a refrigerator and a microwave oven for your use. The place has also a laundry, and even a small swimming pool! Most of the stuff is quite old. The tv is for example not flat, but rather thick and the remote control in my room was very worn. But most of the stuff works. Ok, there is no gym or restaurant, but you get a breakfast. And for Tucson standards the place is quite central. You CAN reach down town and the university by walking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear AndersHaag,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I am happy to hear you had a great stay with us and enjoyed all the amenities. You are absolutely right, we provide a lot for the amount of money guests pay. We focus most on providing value, by having clean comfortable rooms with many amenities, with a reasonable price. I would like to clarify about our room types, we do have spacious rooms, however they are not exactly 2 king sized beds (even though they might seem like it!). We have 2 basic room types, one room with 2 double beds, and another room with 1 king bed. We also do have family rooms that have either 1 king bed with 2 double beds or 4 double beds. We don't really post the family rooms on the internet besides on our website at universityinntucson.com, so if anyone is interested in the family rooms call us directly or email us directly at room@univesityinntucson.com. I am happy you mentioned our TVs, I am excited to tell you that we are in the process of changing out those by the end of this year to flat screen! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you again!

Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights when visiting U of A. Chose this motel based on tripadvisor reasonably positive reviews. It's an older building but was remodeled and has electronic switches for lights.

Pros
1.Large room and equipped with microwave (never use) and fridge
2.Comfortable beds and pillows
3.Wifi is fast
4.Just 4 blocks to U of A (you can use speedway for faster way to U of A)
5.There's a single washer and dryer located upstairs at the corner of the building
6.Minimal starter breakfast at the lobby which requires you to carry it to your room

Cons
1.Walked barefoot on the room carpet. After 5 minutes, our soles were absolutely black from dirt in the carpet. Could not believe it, so washed our feet and and 'experimented.' Soles were black again after a few minutes.
2.There's an open air smoking corner on the property.

Overall, the price point is reasonable. The location is excellent. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Boo6029,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Inn on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you found us to be a good value and found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. We do provide many in-room amenities including hair dryers, refrigerators, microwaves, and ironing capabilities. And other amenities included are our ice machine, washer and dryer, free continental breakfast, and free wireless internet. I smiled at your comment about our fast wireless internet, we did upgrade it and I am absolutely happy to hear it worked well for you!

Thank you for your cons feedback as we will definitely be addressing it. I would like to apologize for that, and we will certainly pass this on for housekeeping. We get our carpets professionally shampooed as needed and it looks like it is time for it again.

Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to serving you again next time you visit!


Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Based on other TripAdvisor reviews, we decided to book this facility for our four night stay in Tucson from March 10 to March 13. We were not disappointed.

We are budget travellers and like to spend evenings out on the town and vacate the room every day to sightsee and/or golf. We see no point in wasting our money on extravagances in hotels that we don't need or use. Even TV's largely remain unused where we stay. We want clean (doesn't have to be spotless), comfy beds and pillows, convenient location, reasonably spacious for two and the basic conveniences most facilities offer such as a fridge, air conditioning, etc. This place fit the bill on all accounts at an affordable price. If you're like us, you'll like this place, too!

Notes - There was a dearth of electrical outlets in our room. This is not uncommon in many facilities and we always travel with an extension cord with multiple plug inputs. We used it here to charge up batteries, the laptop, phone, etc. Also, the owner/proprietor noted in another review their philosophy regarding their continental breakfast offerings. I agree with his perspective but once again, be forewarned... they were minimal, although admittedly, we tended to partake toward the latter stages of the time period given. Perhaps options were better at 7:00 or 8:00. I rated it very good but for the price, it is an excellent option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddogrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henry P, Manager at University Inn Tucson, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear maddogrick,

Thank you for reviewing our Inn on TripAdvisor. You touch a great point on the type of Inn we are. We cater to people just like you who are looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay with all the basic amenities(I might argue we offer more than basic amenities), with an affordable price. We believe we have created a pretty good balance between value and pricing, and I am happy to hear our hospitality was just right for you.

I would like to apologize for the minimal breakfast as we might have forgotten to restock towards the later hour of breakfast. We do say our breakfast times are 7:00am to 9:30am, but we keep it out longer for our guests. Next time you visit us and if anything is missing or out, please do inform the front desk agent, we will happily restock if it is available. There is an explanation for this and I'll tell you a secret. As much as our Inn provides value and many amenities at an affordable price, it usually is a pleasant thing, but sometimes with a small disadvantage. Some people take advantage of our affordability and amenities. In terms of breakfast, we sometimes get guests who nearly take everything from the breakfast room, not to eat, but to trash. We will find plates and bowls full of breakfast in the rooms that not have been touched or glasses of juice and milk filled to the top just sitting in the room. We've been providing breakfast for over 20 years and our offerings have increased over time so we've had our experience seeing this time and time again. We are a value based hotel, we don't charge outrageous prices, so every aspect including our breakfast, we try to minimize waste and loss. The practice of putting out breakfast items just as needed and restocking, prevents waste and loss. I don't want guests to misinterpret this as being stingy (We want you to eat and fill your tummies with all our breakfast offerings, thats why we offer them!) because we do put out everything we say we offer, but for an example, instead of putting out a whole loaf of bread, we might put out half a loaf then as guests take it, we restock and put out more. This is a common practice amongst hotels, especially the smaller independent hotels, as it makes sense, and prevents loss and waste. On any note, we still continue to provide a wonderful assortment of breakfast items which include coffee, juice, cereal, milk, donuts, pastries such as muffins, bread (white and wheat), bagels, and fruit (seasonally).

Thank you for your pleasant review of our Inn, we are blessed to have guests like you who we get to serve! We look forward to serving you again next time you visit Tucson, AZ.


Sincerely,

University Inn Mgmt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.3 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#57 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Flamingo
Quality Inn Flamingo
#87 of 128 in Tucson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Tucson

Property: University Inn Tucson
Address: 950 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn Tucson 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in the heart of Tucson, less than one mile away from the University of Arizona (Bear Down!!!), Tucson Downtown/Convention Center, and the 4th Avenue tourist district. Locally owned and operated for over 20+ years, the University Inn Tucson proudly offers its Guests comfortable and clean guestrooms at competitively affordable rates. Generous amenities include complimentary continental breakfast, free high speed wireless Internet, and coin laundry facilities. All our rooms have remote TVs with free premium cable, refrigerators and microwaves, hair dryers, and ironing capabilities. We are the ultimate hospitality destination with quality rooms at a friendly price! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your University Inn Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Inn Tucson Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing