We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great dinner”

Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails
Reserve with OpenTable
Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 1,976 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: BROADWAY + 6TH AVE
Transit: If you are arriving on the public bus system you can stop at the Rondstat Center downtown and walk 1 1/2 blocks south on 6th Ave. to 135 S. 6th ave.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
205 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Went with our neighbors to dinner at this restaurant. A bit windy last night, otherwise would have sat outside on the patio. Not crowded when we arrived, but picked upas we had dinner (it was a Thurs). Great men selection. Back and forth btw the lemon chicken and the salmon. Opted for the latter. It was excellent!! Had a pisco sour with port. Very interesting, desert was also outstanding. Everyone's meal was terrific. Waiter was excellent. A very enjoyable time. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elrobo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    103
    46
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
205 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stopped here for lunch with a buddy before venturing to Etherton Gallery on the second floor. Both had the scrumtious hamburger. Excellent!! And Chef Janos actually delivered the meals to our table (we told him to compliment the chef - ha, ha). In any event, it turns out that he lives in our neighborhood, and we see him out walking frequently, have stopped to chat, and thought maybe it was him, but never really introduced ourselves. Now we have. Planning on a return lunch, probably tomorrow with some friends from Texas. Can't wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elrobo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gourmet food & great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

This was my second time eating here & the food was just as delicious. I can't wait to return when I visit my son at the University in October. Their calamari salad is great. Dishes I have tried and loved are the salmon, roast chicken, fish soup. Service is always great and so is the ambiance. MIT is worth the price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank laura818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
226 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Fantastic food combinations in a hip Urban setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Chef Janos you have delighted us in the past at your other restaurants and this is not different. Downtown Kitchen has a very Open and Hip setting. the Decor is urban and nice. While it was open, it was not noisy or loud. Definitely was a comfortable place to have a nice dinner and good conversation. I also liked that the tables are not packed close together and there is space to move around and the servers to get to your table without reach over the other members of your table. The Service was outstanding. We had a great waitress that really knew her stuff and the bar and the wine. She went out of her way to try to find us some unique drinks and make us feel special. The menu during this time was set up as a tour of Bangkok. (I am not sure how often it changes, but I want to go back to experience what else Chef Janos will come up with) As you read through the menu, you will be surprised of the combination of flavors and foods, don't be afraid to try. Everything we got was fantastic. The menu offers different sizes of the dishes, so you can order a small or regular salad or then a entree alone or combination of the tour which is a Salad/Appetizer, entree and dessert.
They also serve a local brew from Bario Brew pub, I love that local restaurants are supporting local vendors.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank laurae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Recently had a celebration dinner there. Food was good, appetizers tasty...specialty martini's came in glasses that were only 2/3rds full. Reminded me of cereal boxes ...where the prices stay the same and the size keeps getting smaller...kinda cheesy for a restaurant this nice. Offset the quality of the meal and not in a nice way. Pay attention bartender...Buck Up and Fill Up the Glasses! Your patrons will feel that they are getting their money's worth.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Kitchen & Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing