We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time at this hotel, outstanding!”
Review of Casino Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casino Del Sol
Ranked #9 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Brownstown Township, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at this hotel, outstanding!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We just arrived home after a one weeks vacation in Arizona. We stayed at several different
hotels, in Tuscon, Scottsdale and Sedona. Our 2 night stay at Casino Del Sol Resort was
the absolute best by far. The rooms were very clean, beautiful and the beds were very
comfortable. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The pool is also outstanding. My husband also thought the breakfast buffett in the Casino was excellent (I don't breakfast).
Also, we thought the casino was great. It is the only Casino in Arizona that we did win money at, and had the least amount of smoke. We loved, loved this hotel, hands down it was the best
place we stayed at and we did stay at other Hotels which were more expensive. We both recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the fourth floor or above, also the pool side is has a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanney12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    197
    52
    24
    21
See reviews for
189
366
52
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My friends and I have stayed in this hotel three times now, the most recent being this weekend (Thursday, March 29 through Saturday March 31). We love this hotel and casino. The rooms are beautifully appointed. We have NEVER had a problem with hotel staff. On the contrary, everyone is helpful, and very cheerful. We love the restaurants, and especially having a drink in Mr. An's bar. The pool area is phenomenal. Very comfortable lounges, pool, and two jacuzzis. We live in Tucson, and go to the resort for our getaways every month. I don't foresee us stopping this practice any time soon.

Room Tip: We like rooms near the ice and water machines at the end of the hall. We have never had a problem wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We are a 40 something couple traveling by car. We had just traveled 6 hours to get to what we thought was a premier destination resort. When we turned off of the interstate, we kept driving and driving and driving. Finally, we saw the hotel in the middle of nowhere. There is no grand entrance or curb appeal to this place. Just a tiny little 2 way road. We missed it in fact. Once you get on the road, you have to drive around to the back of the property . We drove up to the valet area, parked and got out to check-in. It was actually the entrance to the casino. The entrance to the hotel is not marked and looks like doors to a conference area. Once in, the interior is not resort standards. While checking in we were told that there would be a $100 'hold' on our credit card during our stay. There was no explanation for the 'hold' and it was not mentioned on their website. We got our key and moved our car to the parking garage - all the way around to the back of the hotel which is now the front of the property. We got up to our room and although it had some upgraded features, it was smaller than most hotel rooms and definately not a resort level room. We had a view of the pool and the mountains which was nice. Before we went to the car to bring our luggage in, we decided to sit and have a drink. The small lounge was well furnished with couches and chairs as well as a bar. But, no bartender. We were wisked away but some guest relations employee who told us she would take us to a quiet lounge for drinks because this lounge was closed until 3pm (no sign telling the guest that). She took us to the High Rollers bar where there was a tv blaring, the stench of cigarette smoke, uncomfortable bar chairs and a snotty bartender. Once the bartender realized we were not part of the High Rollers club she snubbed us. She told my husband that they did not carry his brand of tequila (Cuervo Gold) because it was a lower quality tequila. Then she gave me a cocktail menu and I ordered some Mosacto wine and she said we don't carry that. Then she said they were out of it. That tipped me over the edge. I went to the front desk of the hotel, asked to speak to a manager. I explained that I was not happy with the 'resort' and that I did not want to stay. After an offer of a discounted rate (which I turned down), I was told there was a cancellation fee. I refused to pay it. After disappearing through a closed door several times, she finally said that my credit card would be credited the full amount and the $100 'hold' would be lifted. We left vowing to never return.

If you are expecting a 'resort' please reconsider your stay. It is nothing more than a typical casino hotel that is trying to sell itself as an upscale resort. The location is terrible, the smoke is terrible in all of the public areas inside and the front staff have nothing better to do than stand around and laugh.

I do appreciate the employee that responded to my request to cancel the reservation. It was kind of like a new car purchase where she kept going behind closed doors to figure out how to resolve the issue. Nonetheless, she was professional.

We ended up staying at The Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa in Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vodaelixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Steve ‎ - Mar 27, 2012
Once again I have had a disappointing and now perhaps final stay at your hotel. I have made comment in the past about other visit disappointments but I have never received a response. I have, what I feel are, significant guest relations issues.  When I approach a front desk person I don't get a satisfactory response. The staff acts like this is their first day on the job with no training.  This hotel opened with incredible hype but has yet to live up to that hype, based on my previous visits.  Maid service is sorely lacking in completeness. I found an empty Diet Pepsi bottle and a guest Club Sol Membership card (silver) with dust bunnies on both, under the chaise, when the technicians worked on the air conditioning.  The air conditioning unit failed. Service was long delayed until the technicians (showed at 2200hrs) tried to fix it and replaced the thermostat 3 times, eventually had to rely on a maintenance person (who did not show up until 2350 hrs). He changed the, incredibly dirty, filter and connected a black wire that had the appearance of never having been connected. I apparently had to wait for this particular maintenance person because he was 3rd shift staff and previous shift staff did not want to take on the task.  I had to make multiple visits to the front desk with front desk staff acting like total amateurs.  During this stay housekeeping was noticeably absent and when late afternoon manager was queried, he reported her statement that I left a door hanger sign to indicate later service. I have never used one of those signs in any hotel. A new hotel is expected to have some issues but this kind of mechanical breakdown, ineffective staff and lack of representation from management leaves the customer with a less than stellar opinion. No recommendations will be forthcoming. I am a Club Sol Member, platinum

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Although just an overnight stay, it was more like a brief vacation. Upon arrival, you will be impressed by the overall feel of the property. A grand entrance leads to the Casino and Hotel valet. If feels like a European grand hotel the minute you step into the lobby. The feeling continues in the Casino where it feels like the streets of an Italian village in some areas, with an artificial sky and with restaurants and shops along the streets. One restaurant, PY Steakhouse was elegant and the menu outstanding. The meal was superb and we got to meet the chef. The room was well appointed and overlooked the spectacular palm lined pool. We plan on returning with our grand kid sometime soon and perhaps many more times in future.

Room Tip: Get upper floor overlooking the pool if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybern13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our first visit to Tucson Arizona. I was here doing a site visit on several properties. The Casino Del Sol was my last resort to stop and do a tour and stay the night. The front desk gave us a warm welcome when we arrived.

The room was very nice -- overlooking the desert. We needed assistance with getting the internet service. They were very prompt to respond to our call, We ate dinner at the steakhouse - just around the corner from the registration desk. It was a little pricey but the food was fantastic.

Negatives: The ventilation system seemed a bit noisy. This hotel opened 11/11/11 and there is still a lot of the NEW smell -- when is great but a bit too strong. They need to open all the doors and let it air out.

The casino was nicely done. The ceiling looks like Las Vegas.

Room Tip: 10th Floor Sky Level -- Beautiful. We overlooked the pool. What a beautiful pool area. They provi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elon91463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey bc
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We chose this Hotel because it was fairly close to Kitt Peak Observatory . The hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. Our room was lovely and spacious with a view of the pool! The location was also 15 minutes to San Xavier del Bac Mission which we were visiting.We will definitely stay here again when we return to Tucson. The Management has done an excellent job in training their staff and being attentive to the needs of their guests. .This is a new Hotel which opened in November 2011 .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marleebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.2 mi away
Desert Diamond Casino Hotel
11.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
19.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
16.2 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Del Sol

Property: Casino Del Sol
Address: 5655 W Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85757-9714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Del Sol, Spa and Conference Center is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Resort and a Four-Diamond Triple AAA resort nestled in the secluded mesquites of the high desert; and just 15 minutes from Tucson International Airport and downtown Tucson. Includes: *Hiapsi Spa and Fitness Center, *Prema Lobby Lounge, *Festa International Buffet,*PY Steakhouse, *Ume Asian Cuisine Sushi Restaurant, *Expansive pool area featuring the Oasis Pool Bar, *High Limit Lounge, *Covered parking garage, *Various other restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Casino Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Del Sol Hotel Tucson
Casino Del Sol Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing