We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve in Casino del Sol!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casino Del Sol Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casino Del Sol Resort
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Years Eve in Casino del Sol!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was not the first time we went to spend New Years Eve in the Casino but with all the additions and the renovations it was a blast.... We had dinner in the Festa Buffet and for the special price of 30 dollars we were treated with prime rib, oysters on the half shell and a bounty of seafood! For more simple taste there was an array of pasta and pizza.... Last bit not least a splendid sushi buffet if that is what you like.... All crowned by an assortment of desserts and pastries.... And as a special treat Mariachis wandering from table to table...
Only very bad point is the smokers in the Casino! Come on management, let the smokers step outside if they really need the bad stuff, this is 2014!!

Room Tip: Go at 8 pm , less crowded! Too bad about the cigarette smoke in the Casino!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
It sounds like you had a great New Year's Eve. We are so pleased you decided to spend it here with us at Casino Del Sol Resort. We hope to see you next New Year's Eve, if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    184
    49
    21
    19
See reviews for
171
341
47
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Went to a nearly sold out comedy act, very good. It is a very nice facility however unlike Vegas the cigarette smoke is vey noticeable. The restaurants are reasonable and the food is good. The bar prices are also reasonable. If not for the large number of chain smokers I would visit and gamble more often.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerFromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed the show and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night for his office Christmas party. The facility is beautiful. The beds were far too firm for my taste and I woke up quite sore. Also the walls are very thin and we could hear people talking all night.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kahlan112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. All feedback is important, and we appreciate sharing this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

I booked a 2 night stay with casino del sol for $161.00 dollars a night two weeks prior to my stay there, two days after booking with them i went on Expedia.com and the same room was $142.00 they told me "to bad,you booked through us" fair enough . I went to the casino the first night and proceeded to lose $2600.00 the next day i dropped another $1000.00 and asked if maybe they could "comp" my room since i was donating so much to their cause i was told no .that night in the casino i put $100 into a $5 dollar slot machine i hit max bet for $25 and the reels spun and the screen went blank and was flashing "door open" i told the attendant and waited for the "Manager Mario" told him about jt he told me he would have to do an audit and would get back to me in the morning well he didn"t come to work so i told the manager my plans had changed and i needed to stay another night when i showed her my losses she agreed to let me have 1 night free i lost another $800.00 that day trying to win back a little of my money NO LUCK at checkout i was charged $367.00 PLUS $16.01 a day OCCUPANCY FEE and $13.00 for WI+ FI The BUFFET was STALE the restaurant MOBY,S was good no winners here JUST SAY NO

Room Tip: i didn't spend much time in my room i was trying to win back something anything all they did was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I am sorry to learn your stay with us was not a success. All feedback is important, and we
appreciate you taking the time to give us our feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I read mixed reviews about this establishment with a trend towards the upside, so I decided to give this place a shot during our latest Thanksgiving trip to Tucson (11/26/2013 - 11/29/2013).

As a background, my wife and I live in Phoenix, but regularly travel down to Tucson for a quick vacation/getaway. We have stayed at quite a few resorts in Tucson, but are always looking to try something new. With its reasonable price tag and comprehensive amenities, Casino del Sol seemed to fit the bill.

The Casino is located slightly off the beaten path, but as long as you are not trying to do a daily commute into town, it really isn't too bad to get anywhere in Tucson provided you make the appropriate time allowances.

Check-in was quick and efficient. The check-in clerk was pleasant and there was no line. She gave us a room on the 9th level with a view of the pool, which was very thoughtful.

The hotel seemed modern and clean. Our room was tidy upon arrival. The view of the pool was very nice (though it does not quite compare with the canyon resorts with the mountain views, of course). The room was on the larger side, and the bed was comfortable.

Room service quickly brought up the crib my wife had requested. Plus points here.

Then things started going wrong. My wife had washed up in the sink which immediately clogged up. At the same time, I was trying to book an appointment at the Hiapsi spa, but the phone line kept cutting out after about 2 mins. A quick call to customer service, and they promptly sent a maintenance and IT guy to fix our problems. Although service arrived quickly, the plumbing repair left a strong odor in our room (think sewage). The stench was strong enough that we had to request a room change, which was quickly acceded to. We moved to the room right across the hall, which unfortunately had a view of the parking lot instead of the pool. This was the main disappointment in our trip.

After that things started looking up. We had no further problems with our new room. As mentioned, the bed (and pillows) are very comfortable (the bed may be slightly firm for some). There is no bath tub in the rooms, but we were okay with that. You get a large screen TV and free Internet. One thing to note about the Internet - it is very slow and unreliable. You sometimes get a good connection through WIFI and other times you won't be able to log on. And even if you do log on, the connection speed is often spotty. However, I can't complain about the price.

The Hiapsi spa service was wonderful. The best thing about the Spa has to be the extremely reasonable pricing (for a resort). It doesn't quite compare to the top end of spa segment, but the overall experience here was extremely good for what it was. The ambience was excellent, the therapists professional and skilled, and the staff friendly. Bear in mind it is a small spa, so do not expect some of the amenities you might expect to find at the larger resorts. Then again, the pricing is a fraction of what you might pay at those resorts. Therefore, I highly recommend.

Parking is slightly inconvenient at this resort due to the fact that you have to take a separate set of elevators that is connected by an (outdoors) covered walkway to the covered garage.

Because this was Winter, we did not utilize the pool.

Meal options are great here, and will be reviewed separately. But overall, you can get great food and reasonable prices, and this was a highlight of our stay.

Overall, this hotel is a very decent option when traveling to Tucson. The location is somewhat off the beaten path, but the service is quick, the food is good, and the prices are reasonable. One or two minor snafus prevented this from earning a 5 star review, but I would consider this an option on our next trip down to Tucson.

Room Tip: Defintely, the pool side has better views than the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It sounds like, although there were a few missed service opportunities, overall you had a good stay with us and are considering a return visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoita, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent 2 nights as a stay-cation. We aren't gamblers so can't say much for that part. The rooms are beautiful; loved the lounge by the window. Restaurants are wonderful. Mr Ahns, PYs and the diner (can't recall the name). What I noticed and appreciated was how well trained the staff were. Sure, there was some room for polishing in the fine dining, but the service was never indifferent. That is high praise these days. Can't wait for the golf course to open! Only disappointment was that the Starbuck's wasn't open early.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I will pass along your comments to Mr. An's, PY Steakhouse and Moby's Restaurant. You won't have to wait long for the opening of the golf course, it opens in mid-December. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My go to favorite when I need a day or two away from my daily routine. Casino del Sol offers a complete escape opportunity. Beautiful rooms, many dining options in all price ranges, a delightful pool/outdoor bar, a first class spa. Many nights offer concerts or live music and all the usual casino fun! Highy recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 212Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. We are pleased to learn we are your "go-to favorite" for a getaway, and look forward to many return visits from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
11.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
16.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
19.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Del Sol Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Del Sol Resort

Property: Casino Del Sol Resort
Address: 5655 W Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85757-9714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Del Sol Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Del Sol Resort, Spa and Conference Center is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Resort and a Four-Diamond Triple AAA resort nestled in the secluded mesquites of the high desert; and just 15 minutes from Tucson International Airport and downtown Tucson. Includes: *Hiapsi Spa and Fitness Center*Prema Lobby Lounge*Festa International Buffet*PY Steakhouse*Ume Asian Cuisine Sushi Restaurant*Expansive pool area featuring the Oasis Pool Bar*High Limit Lounge*Covered parking garage*Various other restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Casino Del Sol Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Del Sol Hotel Tucson
Casino Del Sol Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing