We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fiesta buffet”
Review of Casino Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casino Del Sol
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Thank goodness it was comped, as we are new club members. Would have been extremely upset to have paid $19.99 for this meal.

Food was lukewarm at best. We arrived at 5 pm, it opened at 4, and the food was already dried out. Marinara sauce watery, Alfredo sauce had absolutely no flavor.

Actually most of the food was flavorless, bland. Maybe the kitchen ran out of salt, seasonings.

Tri tip, turkey so dry you could hardly chew it.

The green beans and the New York cheesecake were good.

Service was excellent as was the cleanliness.

Will not return!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

I was sorry to learn you did not enjoy your meal at our buffet. We work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their dining experience with us, but sometimes we miss the mark. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We enjoyed our three nights at the Casino del Sol very much. The room was comfortable and sufficiently spacious. The staff were very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The restaurants were all quite good and not too expensive, which was nice because the hotel is a bit off the beaten path. It was a 20-minute drive to downtown Tucson.

I'm not a gambler or golfer, so I can't on the casino or golf course. I wish I'd had time to try the spa, but no such luck. I did use the workout room, which was ample and in great shape. I admit that I kind of felt like an idiot running on a treadmill while gazing outside at the 60-degree Arizona air, given that I was visiting from the 15-degree Chicago winter, but that brings me to my one criticism of the property. They've got plenty of space, so why not have more outdoor activities other than golf and a swimming pool? I wanted desperately to get outside, but there wasn't really any place to do so without getting in the car and driving 15 minutes to a park.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Great weekend! Two rooms. Both clean and comfy. Water pressure stinks but it's the desert so not a biggie. Customer service was excellent. Had issue with loud neighbors and took security awhile to respond but we did get a small discount for the inconvenience. We'd stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank mlhodgkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your recent review. We were pleased to learn you had a great weekend, and look forward to your next weekend stay with us here at Casino Del Sol Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just had a wonderful extended weekend stay at the Casino. All of the amenities one could want with service not outdone by any place I've stayed the past year. Dining, lounges, pool and gambling etc are all exceptional. No need to leave for anything if that is your desire. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobR1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

We look forward to you staying with us here at Casino Del Sol Resort in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

As long time residents of Tucson, Casino Del Sol is a terrific option for weekend and mid week get aways.

Staff is excellent!!!! Super helpful.
Food - outstanding
The machines actually let you win sometimes. This is a very fun place to go.
Facilities - Great!!!
Hotel - wonderful

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidG916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We will see you on your next mid-week getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

While visiting my parents, my partner and I stayed at the Casino Del Sol. After staying at other casino hotels before, we both were pleasantly surprised. The room was was well decorated (comparable of not better than some of the rooms I visited in Las Vegas). The pool, though a bit small for the size of the hotel, was very nice with a water display and two hot tubs.

There were only two "misses" with our visit. First was the buffet. While ok, it was a small thus forcing people to wait in a long line (we were there on steak night which let to a longer line). Our suggestion would be to somehow enlarge the seating area to accommodate more customers (this will be difficult to do but it would decrease the line). The second has to do with the smoke. I am fully aware that when you visit a casino, there will be smoke. My suggestion would be for the hotel to purchase "air scrubbers" that the Las Vegas casinos use. While there will always be smoke at a casino, the management could do a better job of removing it from the casino floor.

Overall...it was a good experience at the hotel and would recommend others to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnwguy1j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such great feedback and the recommendation for others to visit Casino Del Sol Resort. We will see you on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

What an absolutely beautiful property and resort! Architecturally appealing, the Casino Del Sol Resort is a haven for pampering (think spa) and for some of the best in fine dining. Amenities galore. Service is superb and reflects attention to detail everywhere. I felt like the Queen of Sheba during my stay. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelindaGuestServMgr, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us at Casino Del Sol Resort and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
11.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
708 reviews
17.4 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
794 reviews
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
19.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
15.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Del Sol

Address: 5655 W Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85757-9714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Family Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £80 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Del Sol, Spa and Conference Center is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Resort and a Four-Diamond Triple AAA resort nestled in the secluded mesquites of the high desert; and just 15 minutes from Tucson International Airport and downtown Tucson. Includes: *Hiapsi Spa and Fitness Center, *Prema Lobby Lounge, *Festa International Buffet,*PY Steakhouse, *Ume Asian Cuisine Sushi Restaurant, *Expansive pool area featuring the Oasis Pool Bar, *High Limit Lounge, *Covered parking garage, *Various other restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Casino Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Del Sol Hotel Tucson
Casino Del Sol Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing