We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really??? 4 stars????”
Review of Casino Del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casino Del Sol
Ranked #8 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is comparable to a two star. NOT that clean, had to call to have our room cleaned. Food at buffet was awful, staff actully argued over a tip in front of us. I was angry I paid so much for a crappy hotel. And... the gambling was really bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVollmer, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am so sorry to learn you did not have a good stay with us. Our Team Members work hard to ensure our guests have a good stay, but it sounds like we missed the mark in your case. Please accept my apologies and my thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 918 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

When we first pulled up, the only thing we noticed was the casino. Even though the resort was rated as Forbes 4 star and a AAA 4 diamond resort, it was anything but that. While it was clean and nicely decorated, you could tell quickly that the only thing they really cared much about was the casino.

The service in the restaurants and pool area was almost non-existent. No porters or bellman were to be found. Front desk personnel were overly helpful.

The pool area was pretty and looked well maintained. However, when I took my kids down there, the number of "gang-banger" type guests and their antics made us pack up and leave quickly.

If your looking to spend time with drunks, degenerate gamblers and various other members of the dregs of society, this might be the place for you. If you're looking for a quality resort for a nice getaway, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSchwartzFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVollmer, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I am sorry to learn you did not have a good stay with us here at Casino Del Sol Resort. However, we appreciate you sharing your concerns with us, as we take all feedback seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had an amazing time at Casino Del Sol. It was clean, gorgeous and all the staff I encountered was very kind and pleasant. The pool was gorgeous and just as lovely as the pictures show. The spa was very nice, very relaxing and great service was provided. Smoke makes me sick so walking through the casino area was a bit sickening for me but definitely worth the walk through to get to the different restaurants.
Laura at the front desk was very kind and helpful.
Michelle at Moby's restaurant was very kind.
Melva in security was very kind and helpful.
Everyone I met was kind and helpful. It's a great place to just get away and relax but you're not far from the freeway and the staff is happy to help provide you with directions to get around. It's gorgeous to look at all the mountains, the blue sky and the glowing sun. It's not like Vegas when you feel like your skin might melt in the sun, its a splendid 100 degrees especially poolside.
Oh and room service is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A. J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVollmer, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

I am so pleased to learn you had such a great stay with us. Our staff work very hard to ensure our guests enjoy themselves, and it sounds like they hit the mark. Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I will certainly share your comments with our Team Members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

excellent resort\hotel, great family friendly hotel,great food to chose from, very quiet in the rooms, great beds, so comfortable, the black-out curtains are great,the shower is amazing,a must stay when in sw tucson,great staff, excellent service......

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVollmer, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We are pleased we were able to meet all your expectations. We hope you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I love this resort! Pool side dining was delicious, staff is available to help with any need and quality of accommodations is great! We didn't get a chance to go into casino this visit. .. But we'll be back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVollmer, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to your return, the pool and casino awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spent two nights there this week. Totally service oriented staff went above and beyond to meet our needs.If you go to the PY steakhouse ask for Blanche,and their wine list is extensive and filled with Bargins.We'll be back .

Room Tip: Get something facing the pool and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancingbear910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVollmer, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

I am so pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us here at Casino Del Sol Resort and plan on returning. I agree, Blanche is a wonderful Team Member. I will certainly share your kind comment with Blanche and her supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just stayed one night at Casino del Sol and tried to get in everything they had to offer! The room was really nice, love the chaise lounge by the window, overlooking the pool. Had an express massage at the spa to start my day off, followed by a glass of wine. Relaxing already! Enjoyed checking out all the dining options in the big atrium that makes you feel like you are in Venice. Had a wonderful dinner at PY Steakhouse! It was delicious, artful and the sommelier paired it up with some incredible wines. I'm not much of a gambler, but did have some fun on the poker slots. Breakfast buffet in the morning had lots of options. The girlfriends and I are going to try to make it back soon....so many restaurants we still have to try! Oh, and everyone was so friendly and helpful!!

Room Tip: Had a room overlooking the pool and mountains which was great, friends on the other side of hotel al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishmartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVollmer, Manager at Casino Del Sol, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am so pleased to learn you and your girlfriends enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you and the girls returning for your next stay with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,011 reviews
16.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
11.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
19.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casino Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casino Del Sol

Address: 5655 W Valencia Rd, Tucson, AZ 85757-9714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#12 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £89 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casino Del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Del Sol, Spa and Conference Center is a Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star Resort and a Four-Diamond Triple AAA resort nestled in the secluded mesquites of the high desert; and just 15 minutes from Tucson International Airport and downtown Tucson. Includes: *Hiapsi Spa and Fitness Center, *Prema Lobby Lounge, *Festa International Buffet,*PY Steakhouse, *Ume Asian Cuisine Sushi Restaurant, *Expansive pool area featuring the Oasis Pool Bar, *High Limit Lounge, *Covered parking garage, *Various other restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Casino Del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Del Sol Hotel Tucson
Casino Del Sol Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing