We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, better than most chains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aloft Tucson University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aloft Tucson University
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good location, better than most chains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We spent two nights at the Aloft. We took the advice of several other travelers and asked for a room on the parking lot side. It was better to view the trash dumpsters than hear the street noise. We were on the second floor away from the pool. The hotel was fairly empty and we requested a higher room but were told that there were none available. We suspect that they were doing this for the consolidating the housekeeping services. The room and bath area were large and very clean.
We also brought pillows based on others advice and suggest that if you like a flat pillow, to do the same. There are several places to eat just around the corner and we used them for our breakfasts.
The hotel has been totally renovated in the last year or so and seems European in style.
I can see that during a busy time, that noise might be a problem but we had no trouble. The residential area around the hotel is historic and worth walking around in.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms facing Speedway Blvd.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlamedaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    95
    45
    17
    7
See reviews for
82
51
21
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

This Hotel is very well located near the University. I really like the green choice with the $5 reimbursement, however the ladies at the desk did not explain it well and we did not know how to do it till the next day, so we lost the opportunity to contribute to this program. I did not like the huge bowls in the bathroom, they splash water everywhere and they are not practical. Breakfast is terrible, you have to pay and the quality is not so good. Be aware of the scam with the taxis. They claim they have a good rate from the Hotel to the airport (which is $32) but we only paid $25 on the way in, so call yourself the taxi driver and make sure they don't overcharge you. Rooms are very noisy, specially the ones facing the Speedway Rd.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room that faces Speedway, it is very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Not the reception that one hopes for when hosting friends and business acquaintances. The hotel had no manager with whom to discuss the situation, just students running the place. No manager at checkout, 8:15 am on Monday, either! Staff had little training and no idea of what "Hospitality" means. Booked 2 rooms for 2 nights and the reservation as well as check-in was messed up.(I had telephoned in January to verify that our reservations were as emailed to the hotel and was assured that things were fine. This was a prepaid, non-refundable rate.)
First question asked from reception was "When are you leaving ?" No smiles, no greeting, no welcome. Rooms were not ready although it was 45 minutes past check-in time of 3:00pm. No explanation of the services available, when reservation was finally straightened out. We went to our rooms only to discover the electronic keys didn't work. No apologies, only blame to us for having "changed our minds so much". Room decor dark and gloomy. Minimalist to the point of ridiculousness. One small gooseneck lamp on desk was only light from which to read. Recessed lighting was ambient lighting, nothing you could read by or even locate the plugs for electronics. No safety bars in walk-in glass walled shower area (no tub). Only plus: complimentary bottled water.

Room Tip: No encouragement for you to stay here. It's convenient for University business or game.Staff is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We appreciate your feedback thank you for sharing. Your comments have been shared with our team and the appropriate action has been taken to ensure an experience such as the one you described is not experienced in the future. We are always looking for new ways to create the best experience possible for our guests and we hope you will give us another try in the future so that we can provide you with the superior experience and service Aloft Tucson University strives to achieve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I had some flowers and some bears delivered to the hotel for my girlfriend and children. Ashley did a great job having them delivered to the room and fielding my many calls. The florist did not deliver a part of the order and she was instrumental in having them there the next day. Thank you very much

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Quick jaunt to UA campus for a college tour. Very close to university and fast food options.

There are 3 things that I need in a hotel:
They must be clean. Aloft room was clean, sleek and simple!
They must have comfortable beds. I slept great!
They must have good water pressure in the shower. Our room fell a little short with this, but I've had worse!

I'm probably a little older than the demographic they are going for, but my 18 yr old son was quite comfortable with the purple lights in the elevator, pool table in the lobby and overall modern atmosphere. It felt very euro/ikea meets Four Points.

We were there for a very short time (10 hours total) so I can't tell about the amenities although they looked comparable to the rest of the hotel (not high end but modern and functional).

As a new SPG gold member, I expected that I would have the late checkout extended to me automatically. The front desk person was very polite but told me I had to call down in the morning. Not wanting to deal with it and knowing we'd be short on time anyway, I didn't. Not a big deal this time, but it might be an issue in the future.

Little things like the alarm clock (although cool looking) did not function correctly and it looked like someone had thrown pencils into the ceiling (I couldn't tell if it was supposed to look that way or if it needed repair). I am able to overlook these things... it would probably bother some people.

Overall, I would stay here again for a short trip and would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkushlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york city
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

When I travel to a small city, I like to feel the ambiance of the city around the hotel that I choose. This hotel is on a busy intersection that feels like a strip mall spot - anywhere USA. Suggestion: as their is quite a lot of parking for the hotel outside and underground, why not take the space in front of the hotel, eliminate the parking and put some Arizona vegetation there instead of the blacktop and line of cars. Same thing for the pool area- not a bit of plant life and just a big white wall surrounding it- The outdoor seating space is much nicer adjacent to the pool.
The entire stay had this pull of nice touch vs. what were they thinking. Part of the lobby feels like a 7-11 Store- the bar area is relaxed and pleasant to sit in. Food is very average bar snack quality.
Rooms had comfortable beds and flat screens with extremely slow wifi. Lighting was a problem- woke up early to take a shower and did not want to disturb my husband- took five minutes to figure out how to find/turn on the bathroom light. This was our first Aloft stay so I'm not sure if this is typical but I would look to stay elsewhere before choosing them again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katshorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here for a quick tour of UofA. Must say Starwood has succeeded with this hip and modern take on a Motel 6. Super friendly staff. Room decor is W light. Bar area very trendy but comfortable. They have a mine 7-11 type spot in lobby called "REFUEL". It's the spot for a quickie breakfast, with very adequate food for the price. They also have a fantastic selection of munchies. The 2 tips I would suggest is get a room not facing the street. The night I stayed cars and motorcycles were racing up and down Speedway (yes, that's the street's name) rattling my window panes throughout the night. The other tip is definitely use your DO NOT DISTURB sign otherwise at precisely 8am the overzealous housekeepers will be tap tap tapping on your doors. They reminded me of my alarm snooze button because after informing them we were still in the room, they returned every 12 minutes with more tapping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
2.1 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Property: Aloft Tucson University
Address: 1900 East Speedway, Tucson, AZ 85719 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points
Aloft Tucson University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing