We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Tucson University
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our initial impression of the Aloft Hotel was positive. It features a very modern look and a fun atmosphere. The lobby and rooms do not have that business hotel look. It looked like an upscale party scene.

Unfortunately, our experience was less positive. The rooms are clean but not comfortable. They show visible signs of abuse from one too many parties.

The beds were too hard and we woke up in pain. The shower heads spray a little water at a wide angle. It was hard to rinse off. There are just the bare minimum of towels, cups, and other essentials in the rooms. The noise from the street has loud all night.

Our room cost $160/night. At the price we paid for the room, we expected a lot better. We will not return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank cjn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Good Afternoon Cjn60

On behalf of the Aloft and the staff I wanted to apologize that your stay was not an outstanding one. I appreciate you taking the time to provide me your feedback.
The hotel was 100% renovated just a year ago, so all the beds and bedding are new. I'm surprised to hear that you had an uncomfortable time sleeping, but I think sometimes mattresses can be a very personal preference. In regards to room amenities, we have someone available at all times to bring you additional towels, cups, soap or whatever you need. I apologize if we did not meet your expectation in this area.
I encourage you to call me directly if you would like to discuss your stay. I would definitely like to hear your feedback.

Regards,
Phil Forte
520-908-6800

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very chic, fresh, and simple. Close to everything - U of A campus, restaurants, and public transportation. The beds are the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel - 6 pillows, a great view, very cool room set-up. Very affordable. Offers conveniences of a lobby convenience shop, bar, restaurant, computers, and billiards. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view so you won't end up with a parking lot view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaTwoRivers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

LisaTwoRivers2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your evaluation. I'm glad you had such a great experience on your recent stay. Hopefully, we will be welcoming you back to the Aloft University Tucson in the near future. Thank you also, for mentioning our Green program. It is a significant part of the Aloft brand we believe a very positive step in the right direction.

Regards,
Phil Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Came this direction to watch a performance at the Rialto Theatre. For the price, this place really exceeds expectations. Rooms are super clean and spacious with a technological touch. Love the bar area and patio section as well. Fun vibe and the value is unbeatable.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Preston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Preston S

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post an evaluation regarding your recent stay at the Aloft University Tucson. I'm sure you had a wonderful time at the Rialto theatre. It is a great attraction to visit here in Tucson. Also, thank you for recognizing our efforts in providing the finest in comfort and technology. Aloft is definitely the tech savvy brand. Thanks again. I hope to see you back in the hotel in the near future.

Regards,

Phil Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was in town looking for a venue for a fashion show and let me say...wow!!! I was very impressed! The Property is Gorgeous! Ian Wilson took care of me and made sure my stay was exceptional. He was very quick and to the point with booking the venue and i must say he gave some of the best service till this day. I am now a Starwood member because of the amount of travel I do in the area. Besides the service the W XYZ Bar is awesome, and runs a daily happy hour for $3 beers and $6 well mixed drinks which my partner and I took advantage of. All in all, this property is perfect. It’s right next to University of Arizona and in the heart of Tucson. Beds are comfy, rooms are modern and it’s definitely a place I will be returning to! The Director of Sales, Ian is great and made bookings for my Entertainment company simple. I Highly recommend this Hotel and look forward to hosting my event there in September.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hello Sam G

Thank you for taking the time to write such a terrific review. I agree Ian Wilson does an outstanding job as the Director of Sales here at the Aloft University Tucson. I'm glad you had such a positive experience on your recent stay and also, happy that you've chosen our hotel for your event in September. We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring your event is executed in a first class manner.

Best,
Phil Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My girlfriend and I chose this hotel because of the location and because of the great reviews it got online. We were not disappointed. We were greeted by Ashley H. and Autumn when we arrived. They thanked us for staying with them and gave us a rundown of the immensities in the hotel. Ashley H. even told us if we call ahead we can lock in our current rate any time we visit.

The rooms were clean and beds were very soft. It was just the right amount of space for a couple to not be stepping over top each other. I was very happy to be on Speedway right by campus and so close to the nightlife. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Korey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Korey B

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. I'm happy to hear that you and your girlfriend had a good time here in Tucson and a terrific stay at the hotel. I will definitely recognize Autumn and Ashley for providing outstanding customer service and while I can't promise you will always get the same rate I can promise you will receive outstanding service and great accomodations..:)

Best,

Phil Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stay at the Aloft Tucson almost weekly for work and I have experienced extremely consistent customer service and quality of accommodations. The location is solid, the rooms are modern and comfortable and the staff is always friendly and goes out of there way to help. Marie Rubio consistently goes out of her way to help and assist me with anything that comes up while I'm Tucson.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello Justin T
I wanted to thank you for your email response. I know it can be difficult traveling a lot so it is our goal to provide you the most comfortable stay possible. I appreciate you recognizing Marie. I agree she does an outstanding job! If there is ever anything I can do ensure that your stay at the Hotel is an outstanding one please contact or ask for me directly. Thank you again for choosing the Aloft University Tucson!

Regards,
Phil Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

As a business traveler, it can be annoying being on the road and away from the comforts of home. Maria Rubio always helps me with reservations. She gave me her direct contact information so I can reach out to her to make accommodations. I frequently have changes and she helps me with ease. The hotel staff is always very helpful and friendly, especially Miss Marie.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Karina

It was great to meet you today! Thank you so much for continuing to choose the Aloft University Tucson as your Hotel of choice when visiting the Tucson area. Your loyalty and your feedback are very much appreciated. I agree 100%. Marie does a fantastic job of providing outstanding hospitality and I will make sure she is recognized within the hotel for her efforts. Thank you again for choosing the Aloft.

Regards,
Phil Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
5.3 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#23 of 129 in Tucson
1,195 reviews
6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Address: 1900 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85719-4631 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Tucson
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £91 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points
Aloft Tucson University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing