We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft Tucson University
Ranked #60 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Columbia, Maryland, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are looking for another type of business hotel, this is it. Funky lobby, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Great location near the University of Arizona and eating and drinking places. Worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Marc V

Hi, I just wanted to thank you for taking the time to respond with such a great review. I appreciate your feedback and I hope that you will stay at the Aloft Tucson University again on your next trip back to the area....Thanks again.

Regards,

Phil Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    107
    50
    18
    8
See reviews for
88
55
24
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoney Creek, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

After a disappointing stay at another hotel in Tucson, we decided to check out the Aloft Tucson University. Having never stay at an Aloft Hotel before, we didn't know what to expect but were just thrilled with our stay. I checked it out on line to see what the rates were and was quoted $139 per night on a discount website, but after our first experience, I wanted to visit the hotel before committing on line. I went in and found the atmosphere very youthful, trendy and fun and decided to book in for a night. The kind staff member at the reception said he would do better because I was honest about the online quote and gave us a king room for $99, which was a steal. We checked into our room that had the feel of an upscale dorm, in a very good way. The room had a huge double glass shower with a separate sink area, which is always nice. I like a bath option also so if I was to go again I would ask for a room with that feature, but for a night or two it was fine. The bed was comfortable, the room temperature just right, and the gym was amazing...I could watch T.V. right on my treadmill. The gym had more equipment options that the average hotel which pleased me and most of the guests seemed to utilize the gym, which is more rare, but was very good to see. Saying that, I didn't have to wait or any piece of equipment I wanted to use, there was plenty. I will seek out an Aloft hotel in the next city where we vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Julia B

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough and outstanding review. I appreciate you mentioning our Gym---at the Aloft we call it Re-charge and it really is a great space to get in a good workout or just stretch out and re-energize. I hope you will stay with us again when you are back in the Tucson area.

Regards,
Phil Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. It is very modern but also kind of like the 70's. In walking distance to main gate and 4th ave. However, it was fairly noisy at night. I would suggest either bringing a relaxing sound scape to listen to or keep the air down far enough so that it continuously runs to drown out the sound.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolecutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
NicoleRosenthal

I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write an evaluation regarding your recent stay at the Aloft Tucson University and providing us your feedback. I'm sorry you had an issue with noise. I hope if you are back in Tucson you will try us again and I can ensure you we will do everything possible to make your stay an outstanding one.

Thank you again,

Philip Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This hotel has several advantages if you are planning to visit the University of Arizona at Tucson - it is close to the University and has free parking. Rooms are relatively large and quiet. However, there were no drawers in our room (very weird design) and the shower leaked/sprayed to cover the floor with water every time we used it. Service in the bar was extraordinarily slow (on a slow night took 40 minutes to get a snack and a drink) and the breakfasts were awful (in terms of choice and taste).

Green Features: good policies and procedures for environmentally-friendly practices (conservation of water, towels/linens, etc.)
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRI-Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
MRI-Sleep

Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback on your recent stay. I apologize that it was not an outstanding one, which is our goal at the Aloft Tucson University. I will address the issues your surfaced regarding the bar and breakfast. That level of service is not acceptable in this hotel. If you are in the area, please give us another try. I can assure you that your stay will be a better experience.

Regards,

Phil Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Checked into this funky (in a good way) hotel at an all purpose reception desk which also served as the order point for meals. The hotel is central to the University of Arizona and appeared to support a convoy of parents seeing their children off to their University tour. The bar is also central to "reception" and was always busy. The bar also served food which we partook of at Happy Hours. Prices were very reasonable. There was a small pool and spa on a deck at the back of the hotel. Parking was free and accessible being at street level and underground.

The hotel itself is situated to the center of the city. Although we didn't walk, we could have but it was hot. There were lots of fast food joints a short walk away as well as several restaurants, pharmacy gas station etc. Everything we needed for our short stay.

The rooms were accessed using a smart card which worked every time I used it which is unusual for me. We had a two window view of the main street (Speedway Boulevard) but traffic noise was surprisingly low from our upper level room. The room was very functional and suggested a Japanese influence with sliding doors, glass doors for the bathroom and shower, a chair at a desk built into the wall with a computer hookup and a very comfortable King bed.

We were on a quick two day trip and this hotel was perfect for our needs. We were gone early, came back for Happy Hour and went to sleep. Perfect for us!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey2349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Mikey 2349

I just wanted to thank you for your recent review of the Aloft Tucson University....I liked your line funky, but in a good way!! Thanks again for taking the time. Your feedback is very much appreciated....

Regards,

Phil Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just wanted to show my appreciation for the attentive, helpful staff at this hotel. Even after messing them around with extending my stay and even checking back in/out after going out of town one weekend - nothing was any trouble for the guys and girls at front desk.

Special thanks to Ashlee (hope Ive spelled that correctly) who was particularly helpful.

Cheers guys!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Good afternoon Nick L

Thank you for your recent posting on the Aloft Tucson University. I'm glad we could assist you as your plans changed. It's our goal to always be as flexible and accomodating as we can be to ensure that your stay is an outstanding one. I'll definitely pass on the positive feedback to Ashley.

Thank you,

Phil Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We traveled recently on a vacation and made our first trip to Tucson. The hotel is right next to the University of Arizona. The location is very convenient and close to Interstate 10 and main streets in town. It has a young look both outside and inside. The room we stayed was clean and spacious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip F, General Manager at Aloft Tucson University, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
JlBoston

I just wanted to thank you for your recent review of the Aloft Tucson University. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel here in Tucson in the near future...Thanks again!!

Best,

Phil Forte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#21 of 130 in Tucson
971 reviews
2.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Tucson University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Tucson University

Property: Aloft Tucson University
Address: 1900 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85719-4631 (Formerly Four Points Tucson University Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#31 Family Hotel in Tucson
#37 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft Tucson University 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening April 2013, Aloft Tucson University is located right next to the University of Arizona campus and the University of Arizona Medical Center. If you're looking for things to do in Tucson the new Aloft Tucson University hotel is located right next to great shopping, dining and entertainment.Closed for renovation until 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Tucson University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Tucson University Plaza
Four Points Tucson University Plaza Hotel Tucson
Sheraton Tucson University Plaza
Tucson Four Points
Aloft Tucson University Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing