We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
Ranked #81 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

In March, 2014, my husband had lung cancer surgery so our family stayed at the Sheraton which was close to the hospital knowing that previously we had a wonderful experience being a guest of the Sheraton in Tucson, AZ.
We booked thru AAA and was given a discount rate which was NEVER honored by Sheraton. We stayed 8 nights. The night we arrived, we discovered at bedtime that the sheets on the pull-out had never been changed from the previous guest. They were filthy and even though we asked for housekeeping, no one showed up. During our stay, one day room service NEVER showed up at all. We got home after being at the hospital all day and the room had not been made up, no clean towels, beds unmade, etc.
Needless to say, we were shocked to have had such a disappointing experience as we had such a pleasant experience in July, 2013. Up until this visit, we always felt we could count on a Sheraton resort, but this was most upsetting, especially since we were facing such challenging times regarding my husband's lung cancer surgery. We needed a clean room as we were spending long hours at the hospital and used the room to bathe and sleep. We tried to talk with management, but they were unavailable.
I am sure this was very unusual, but the room rate should have been made correct and there was no excuse for the dirty room.

Room Tip: Check to see that the sheets are clean before you unpack. The grounds are beautiful, with a lovely...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are complying to environmentally-friendly codes
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    190
    115
    73
    51
See reviews for
153
158
65
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
335 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Let start by saying this is not your typical Sheraton. It appears to be a property in transition. The lobby has been remodeled, the room was nice although the bathroom was small. However, the sliding glass door screen was broken and the juliette balcony was dirty. Very comfortable bed, hbo tv, free parking and no resort fee. The pool area is very nice with fire pits, outdoor bar/resturant; but the pool surface area needs refacing and cleaning. Lots of families during the time I stayed at the hotel. Location is good as there is a IHOP across the parking lot and 1/4 mile away Starbucks, movie theatre, and nice shopping.

Room Tip: An upper floor room is better and since this is a pet friendly hotel check to see if a barking dog i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My wife and I frequent this fine establishment quite often for weekend getaways as we reside in a rural area just north of the Mexican border. Naturally, when she was scheduled for surgery, we
chose to stay here. She was released from the hospital a few hours after the 4 hour procedure and I brought her back to the hotel for a few days of recovery before venturing home. The entire staff has been most accommodating and absolutely amazing in ensuring all her needs are met. Thank you all for making my wife's stay much more comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJRICHARDSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

To me an excellent hotel is not only one that is above average but one that exceeds expectations in unexpected ways. We used points to book an upgraded room with lounge access and so I expected that but we were pleasantly surprised when Max at the front desk upgraded us to the Presidential Suite. The room was fantastic and one that we looked forward to coming home to each day after we were out and about playing tourist. The club lounge was also a very nice addition that I'd highly recommend. We appreciated the breakfast each morning, snacks and drinks throughout the day, and light hors d'ouvres in the evening. This was my first time using the lounge but I'll be sure to include it with my reservations in the future. The restaurant on site was excellent and reasonably priced as were the staff we encountered there and the pool is heated and well-kept as well. Some things to be aware of is that this is an aging property so if staying at new or modern hotels is important I'd recommend the Aloft or Westin hotel in the area. While the hotel is aging everything was clean and maintained and I'd certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieperjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It's wonderful Max was able to upgrade you to our presidential suite and enjoyed your time with us. We are glad you were able to experience the Club Lounge with our breakfast, evening reception as well as complimentary drinks and snacks offered 24 hours a day. I will be sure to pass along your comments to Max and the rest of our staff. Thank you and we look foward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
131 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Situated near a hospital complex, the hotel have nice rooms, clean and spacious.
Staff is polite and helpful.
Restaurant is good and service excellent.
There is a nice pool in a inner pateo, but we went in winter.

Room Tip: Rooms have a nice living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmo_Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for being a guest at our hotel, we appreciate the feedback you provided on your recent stay. It's great to hear you liked our spacious room, restaurant food and service you received from the restaurant associates. We look forward to the next time we can accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deming
Level Contributor
181 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is our favorite property in Tucson. It's convenient to all the attractions, but out of the mainstream traffic. The rooms are large and comfortable. The pool and jacuzzi are a decent size, with plenty of lounge chairs. The onsite restaurant has a good variety for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The property itself is beginning to show its' age. Hope Sheraton does a makeover soon.

Room Tip: Request a room that doesn't face Grant Street and that isn't near the elevator the maids use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearhug68jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret R, General Manager at Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Janet C, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are so glad you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel along with our spacious rooms, restaurant and pool area. We look forward to your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here thought the stay was alright. The hotel looked like a very old hotel and there were no upgrades done to it. They are also pet friendly. We stayed for 3 days and had certain expectations, especially since we are SPG. We own a time share in Orlando with Starwood and the Sheraton falls under Starwood. The room was great, except there wasn't a microwave or fridge. Also, the bathroom was so tiny and old looking. We were very, very disappointed that the bathroom was so, so tiny. This room was insulting to my husband and i because we have stayed in great resorts owned by Starwood. But for the price we paid, they should have offered a microwave or fridge at least. I'm glad my step kids werent with us because we would have had to eat out a lot and throw away any left overs (which is what my husband and I had to do). However the bed was very clean and comfortable, the fitness center was great and the pool and jacuzzi was great.
Another con was the gate. The gates require you to scan your room key to get in the complex, however it required multiple scans. Even if you had a green light, the door would not open. Very annoying. Also, the pet area where dogs do their business was DISGUSTING!!!! The hotel needs to ensure people are picking up after their pets. Every step i took there was different size poops. It was gross. I would have rathered my morkie to take care of her business on a training pad. This is a HUGE infection control issue. Other than that, the room gets an average from me

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tucson - Grant Road
2.0 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#34 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Tucson East
Hilton Tucson East
#44 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites

Property: Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites
Address: 5151 E Grant Rd, Tucson, AZ 85712-2116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Tucson Hotel & Suites encompasses the intimacy of a boutique hotel with fun feel of an urban retreat. Take comfort in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed, enjoy a delectable meal at Fire+Spice, and take in the breathtaking views of the nearby mountains. Sheraton Tucson Hotel & Suites' central location gives you easy access to surrounding businesses, cultural and recreational attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Tucson Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tucson Hotel Tucson
Tucson Sheraton
Sheraton Tucson Hotel And Suites Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing