We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Hotel - The Accidental Tourist”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport
Ranked #70 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Basic Hotel - The Accidental Tourist”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed one night prior to an early airport departure. This is a good basic HIE, competitively priced for the neighborhood. The king suite was a nice size and clean, this is just an older hotel so don't go and expect a Crown Plaza. Just minutes from the airport, the main reason we stayed here, the staff checked us in and out without issue. Would I stay here again - you bet.

Room Tip: Pick a king suite, worth it to have the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnklTravlnMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    48
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
29
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've been staying in Holiday In Express hotels for many years. I've never had a problem with these hotels and normally I love them. I've never stayed at this one in Tucson until last week. I spent 2 days there while in town for business. The staff was very rude when you could even find them. I just had back surgery so I was really looking forward to the heated jacuzzi. Needless to say the jacuzzi was disgusting with dirt, leaves, debris and algae. See photo below, look at the difference in color between the gross jacuzzi and pool. I couldn't even get into the pool area because the door was broken so even a relaxing swim was out. The room was fair at best. The refrigerator didn't work, the pillows were tiny and not enough of them. I went to housekeeping myself and got 2 more. The shelf by the coffee pot was all broken and the towels were old and very rough. Normally I'm happy to pay extra to stay in this chain of hotels but this time I would have been better off in a Motel 6 for $39.99 VERY disappointed and definitely would not recommend. I will say this, other Holiday Inn Express hotels are not like this so don't avoid all of them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We have sent you a private message addressing your concerns. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is not up to mark of other Holiday Inn Express properties nor other hotels in this class like Hyatt Place. This was billed by priceline as 3-star, but honestly this seems more like a 2 star hotel.

The main problem lies in old building that houses most of the rooms. The hallway had funny smell, like mentioned in the other reviews. Our room had stains on the carpet. Also, the bathtub drained fairly slowly. The hallway and room of main building needs updating.

That staff service was fine and the lobby/lounge area did look new and pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SecurityArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear SecurityArch,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I appreciate your positive feedback on our hotel staff. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It's regrettable to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in particular with the quality of our rooms and facilities. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments will be forwarded to the hotel management for consideration of future upgrades. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Fairly modernized and clean hotel with a descent free breakfast and good internet speeds, HBO, no showtime.
Really no downsides. Just a good place and very nice mattress.
If the shuttle isn't busy then they can take you down the road for some quick food.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank eraumon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Booked a last minute trip to Tucson and found this hotel with airfare as a good value. Very close to the airport. We got a room on the first floor and we couldn't really open the curtains since the floor to ceiling window was facing a parking lot. At one point there were people drinking right in front of the window. The room was clean but didn't have a safe and a refrigerator. Forgot my toothbrush and toothpaste and Holiday Inn gives free toiletries upon request. They even followed up to make sure I got them. Housekeeping came too early at 9am and we asked for her to come back later but after we returned that evening, our room was never cleaned. Front desk was eager to please and we just requested for additional clean towels and more toothpaste instead of a late room cleaning. The drain was very slow but was fixed the next day. Good hotel and good customer service.

Room Tip: Rooms from the 2nd floor and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Curly323,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry some aspects of our hotel were not to your liking. I am pleased that our staff was able to offset this displeasure with great service. I was glad to hear you did appreciate our great location.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here a couple of years ago. This is a consistently clean, comfortable hotel close to the airport. The hot tub was not working this time around, but everything else was fine. This is a good choice for the airport area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliment of our great hotel. Please make sure you visit us again when your in the area and please signup for IHG rewards program - Leilani Hinkler Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Booked through hotwire. Was just looking for a cheap motel to spend the night before going on into Mexico. Hotel is very very close to the airport, and they have their own shuttle service. Room was clean nice modern. Breakfast was extensive and free. Customer service was great.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salbetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tucson Airport
Courtyard Tucson Airport
#58 of 130 in Tucson
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#67 of 130 in Tucson
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport
Address: 2548 E Medina Rd, Tucson, AZ 85756-7135
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a newly renovated property with updated furnishings and fixtures throughout the hotel including: flat screen TV's, Denver pillow top mattresses, new carpet, wallpaper, new wood furnishings in bedroom, and also an updated breakfast area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport Hotel Tucson
Holiday Inn Tucson
Tucson Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Tucson Airport Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing