We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Much better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is now part of the Diamond timeshare group and we booked this as Diamond owners. We stayed for 3 nights on entering the car park I was very scepitical as it is at the side of a very busy road. On entering the property I was pleasantly surprised, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were assigned a Studio apartment and we could not hear the traffic. The studio was large and contained a mini kitchen with all the appliances you need along with a large fridge all that is usually found in a diamond property. We understand that Diamond resorts have replaced all the beds and must say that the bed along with all the linens and towels are the generic good quality that Diamond provide. The kitchen area and couches could do with a makeover, however everything was spotlessly clean. We did enjoy a couple of mornings around the pool and the whole area was maintained to a high standard, The manager was very visable, and I must say the hotel and staff are to his credit. The only downside to our room was it was placed near to the cleaners station and when they came on duty in the morning we were woken early by there chatter.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenmoredevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
We are delighted to read that we have managed to meet or even exceed your expectations and you had a relaxing week here with us, enjoying the comforts offered by your apartment. We hope to see you again in the future and till then we wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    66
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
45
64
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed in a 1 Bedroom unit for a week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was more than accomodating and friendly. Our unit was very clean and up to date with furniture and appliances. Loved the pool and hot tub. The location was perfect... close to attractions and
the city. Can't say enough about the staff and property. If in the area again, we would definitely consider this location.

Room Tip: I would ask for a balcony unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Our aim is to deliver memorable and exceptional service experiences and we are very grateful for your comments referring to our team performance. Your coming back would really mean the world to us-hopefully we will get to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed here for one week. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious with numerous amenities, including kitchen utensils and a very relaxing jacuzzi tub. (I believe this is/was a timeshare, so the hotel follows that model. For example, the cleaning staff only comes once every three days.) The pool and jacuzzi are nice, and the hotel itself is centrally located in Tucson, near the University of Arizona. The best part of the hotel was the reasonable rate. You get a lot for your money here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoyampl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Our stay was only one night.... when I saw the room, I wished that we ha the time to spend in Tucson on this trip. We plan to come back to the area. The desk clerk was very friendly.

Pros: room was a real suite. bed we great. linens were top quality, furniture was decent throughout the suite. the bath was clean, sparkling and held a jacuzzi tub, which I put to good use! This suite had a kitchenette, stocked with the appropriate needed items to cook a nice meal. High ceilings. Overall a great deal.
The lighting was good and the accessories were more than adequate (coffee maker, toaster, blender, radio w/ipad station, flashlights, etc)

Cons: Speedway is a busy street, so the noise is a factor on the front of the building if you are a light sleeper, but not a deal breaker for us. The hotel is located among thriving businesses, not in a newer area, but it's not a bad part of town. We never felt uneasy. Just a lot of small to medium shops, businesses, and strip malls. The AC was a bit loud, but since there are two, the one to the bedroom can be placed on fan for ambient noise and the one in the main room can cycle on and off, if desired.
About 4.5 miles off of I-10.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Speedway Blvd may be a bit noisy for light sleepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Touchous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed review of our resort. We are delighted that the comfort of our accommodations, choice amenities and great customer service met, If not exceeded your expectations and contributed to you having a great stay here. We would be thrilled to have the pleasure of having you as a regular guest and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

The Varsity Clubs of America Suites Hotel was a great base for our week long vacation in Tucson. It was comfortable and well equipped for our needs. We arrived early and they were able to get us checked in without any undue problems. It was easy to get to our various from the hotel. Our unit had a basic kitchen (two stove top burners and a microwave) which allowed us to prepare meals, as our vacations are definitely NOT restaurant tours. Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay for a trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times and honestly, each time has been different. One time great, one time pretty good, and this time, ehhh ok. A pattern developing??
This time it seemed a bit shabby (or at least the room we were assigned was). The kitchen counter was very badly water damaged and the jacuzzi tub/shower leaked all over the bathroom floor (whether jacuzzi tub was used or not). The hot water was turned off one morning WITHOUT guests being notified (imagine the shock when everything goes really cold in the middle of rinsing!). That evening there was black stuff coming out of the hot water faucet in the tub - even after running it for 5 minutes to clear the line. We asked for a quiet location and were given one right by the elevator....not too quiet with kids running to and from the elevator all of the time.
We used the BBQ and were impressed with the cleanliness. We used the pool area but couldn't use the jacuzzi because the hotel doesn't enforce their own rule of no kids under 14 in it so it was more of a "peecuzzi"....pretty gross with 10 little kids in it constantly! The sofa bed mattress is HORRID! One slept on the floor and the other slept on the couch without it being made into a bed...not conducive to a restful night's sleep.
We have another reservation for this hotel in May. I hope by then the hotel's management will have read this review and made a few adjustments to make everyone's stay a bit more restful and enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveler507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appleton wi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

first the pics you see of the hotel are spot on, we rented a studio and arrived at around noon check in is at 4pm, they allowed us to check in early and also upgraded us to a one bedroom at no extra charge. we are here because of medical issues and needed to be close to UMC, it is super close and a good neighborhood. There is a McDonald's across the street as well as a CVS. Next door is a Chinese Rest. It was very good. The staff here was GREAT, I needed to extend our stay from Saturday to Tuesday the front desk Mgr. Raul made some quick changes to other guest coming in on Sat. so we could stay in the same room and not have to pack it all up and move. will def stay again, we usually get a condo @ a rate of 100 a day this on Expedia was 57. a night and just as nice as renting a condo. Also i don't have to go through VRBO and email owners for availability.They have a nice coffee and tea bar that is free and available all the time. The beds are great, there is no oven but a stove top and microwave are available, also a full sized fridge. TV's are flat screens and are in both bedroom and living area.Plenty of closet and dresser space available. and the nicest thing is every staff member at front desk has asked me how things medically were going. If you go out the hotel front door and go left about one block walking is a high end thrift store, found some awesome things there. Do not believe what these other people are saying this place is great.

Room Tip: If you ask for a odd number room you will be poolside and have a balcony wish we had one but for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly1golf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diamondresorts, Manager at Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here at The Varsity Clubs of America Tucson AZ. We were extremely thrilled to hear that you had a great time here, and that you were upgraded at no extra cost by our front desk. On that note, we were also pleased to hear that Raul was able to extend your stay and keep you in the same unit. The tips you have provided for the surrounding area will be very helpful for our future guests. Your recommendation of our resort is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you and your family again soon, hopefully under more pleasant circumstances!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
0.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#27 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
#49 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Tucson - Williams Center
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Property: Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Address: 3855 E. Speedway Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85716
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing