We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, but not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine, but not what I expected”
Reviewed 19 March 2006

I spent one night at the Varsity Club in March 2006. The overall experience was all right, but not quite what I expected, which was probably largely my fault.

First, the hotel's website has a drawing that gives quite a different impression of the facility than the reality. This hotel is located on a very busy street in Tucson. And it is quite a modern place. From looking at the website, I somehow developed the idea that it was something older and with more character. Oh well.

The location has no particular charm, but is good if you're visting the University of Arizona; especially if you're a sports fan. The hotel is decorated in an athletic theme. It's not walking distance to campus (for most people), but it's a short drive. There are the usual assortment of fast food restaurants, movie theatres, and chain stores close at hand, so it's easy to get supplies if you need anything.

Although it's on a busy street, the room was quiet and comfortable. Nothing extraordinary, but clean and very acceptable.

On the first floor there's a bar/restaurant. The service was friendly but slow as the place was understaffed and it took forever to get any service.

A breakfast is available, but you have to pay for it; nothing is complimentary, except coffee.

An internet connection is available for guests in the "den" next to the restaurant's eating area.

Overall, it was an acceptable experience. The hotel doesn't offer much atmosphere, and it was a little too expensive in comparison with its competitors (Comfort Inn, Best Westerns, etc.) But there were no problems, either, and I'd stay there again if I wanted to be close to the University of Arizona.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    70
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
46
73
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2005

My husb. and I stayed here Aug 13, 2005. Room 313 is 2 bedroom 2 full bath suite with a patio over looking the pool. Great bathrooms with very large Jacuzi tubs in each. Kitchen was fully stocked with everything you would need for entertaining. Nicely decorated, very private. This is fabulous for a weekend getaway with the family or just for the adults. Wonderful value for the money ( 125.00 ) . Dont miss this well kept secret. Cant wait to go back and share it w/ the kids!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank texaschick87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2005

Great rooms- no noisy guests, very quiet and exceptionally enjoyable. Large living room/kitchen area with ceiling fans and bath with jacuzzi tub. Beds were large and comfy- two tvs with VCR in living room and tv in bedroom. Kitchen had all sorts of amenities including a George Foreman oven/broiler and a microwave too. Excellent bath amenities included toiletries from Sedona Spa. Maid service was exceptional- kept everything neat and pristine clean daily. There are even laundry facilities to do your own wash. Bar with happy hour was wonderful, except that the bar area closed much too early (9 PM every night). The only complaint was that the air conditioning in the bar/restaurant area was never functioning properly, so it was always extremely warm. Food was very good in the restaurant. Free videos in the lobby for guest use was great! Pool was large and included an outdoor whirlpool as well. Staff was very friendly and helpful, but not the greatest at giving directions to area attractions. Had to wait to use the hotel guests' Internet/computer, but it was nice to be able to check emails nonetheless. The location is excellent and in close proximity to most area attractions. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Vegas2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2005

Huge suites with kitchen, living area. Very comfortable. We stayed with our adult son in a two bedroom, two bath suite with a great balcony looking out over the pool and the mountains and felt it was the best place we'd ever stayed. Friendly, efficient staff and nice grounds, very nice toiletries. We've stayed there twice and would stay more often, but can't always get a room or rates go up in season. Very reasonable off season. All rooms have a balcony, but some look out on busy street or parking lot. Try to get one that looks onto the courtyard. Bar has great drinks and a happy hour. Only complaint is there should be internet hookup. The one computer in the lobby for guests was often taking over by kids and there was a wait. They really should get access in the rooms. Varsity Club will be the first place we check when we are booking a hotel in Tucson.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carol119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 30 March 2005

We had 5 adults and one child in our group. The length of the stay was four nights. Pro--1. Convenient location on a major Tucson intersection east of downtown. 2. Suite had good floor plan. 3. Maids did an excellent job cleaning and restocking. 3. Kitchen had everything we needed and then some. 4. Enjoyed the unscale ammenities. 5. The public areas were well-maintained. Neutral--1. Desk staff could use some further training in customer service and enthusiasm for their job.
Con--1. Our biggest complaint was the dirty unholstery on the sofa and chair in the sitting area. It was LONG past the time for a good cleaning. I didn't even want to sit on them. 2. I think the tubs are dangerous. They are the jacuzzi type with very high sides. The only grab bar above tub level was a light weight towel rack to assist with getting in and out. If someone slipped I have no doubt that the flimsy rack would pull right out of the tile. 3. Poor lighting for reading. The only satisfactory area was sitting on the high wooden stools in the kitchen area. 4. No hooks to hang robe, clean clothing, etc. on in the bath/dressing area. 5. With three TVs available, a TV guide to see what's on would have been helpful.

Suzanne, California

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 March 2005

3/18/05 - Its a suite, beautiful decor, great kitchen, excellent cable TVs, great bed, top of the line for a reasonable price. Wish they were in every city over 100,000. Convenient to White Sox/D'Back spring training site and U of Arizona campus. Great central TV/Bar has super-size screens. Safe, secure, great outdoor pool. And I lucked into the suite - I had never heard of this chain before.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SACO, MAINE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2005

We enjoyed our stay at the Varsity Club in tucson...great location...great alternative for families...well equipped kitchen, good space, nicely decorated, with great sun deck overlooking the pool...would heartily recommend it...(I wish they would take down the Budweiser ad. down in the lobby...it's a little off-putting!!!

Helpful?
5 Thank MARGOSaco_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucson - Reid Park
3.6 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#58 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson

Property: Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson
Address: 3855 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85716-4021
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Hotel Tucson
Varsity Club Of America Tucson
Varsity Clubs Of America - Tucson Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing