We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front Desk extremely disorganized”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Posada Lodge and Casitas
Ranked #46 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2007

I stayed at the LaPosada as part of an organized tour (hotel chosen by tour company). While the facilities themselves (rooms, restaurant, bell hop) were quite adequate, the staff at the front desk made the stay impossible!

This began when I arranged, several weeks in advance, to be picked up at the Tucson airport and taken to the hotel. When I arrived at the airport no one was there. I called the hotel and was told someone would be there shortly -- which turned out to be about an hour later. This caused me to miss an important orientation given by my tour company.

Apparently the airport shuttle service to the hotel is contracted out to a private person who has only one van. Reservations, however, are made by the front desk staff at the hotel.

Upon returning to the hotel at the end of my vacation (about 2 weeks later) I immediately made a reservation to be taken back to the airport the next morning. That morning it turned out that the front desk staff had overbooked reservations to the airport, and the van could not accomodate everyone. The van driver/private contractor refused to take any responsibility, totally blaming the hotel staff. He divided people up based on their flight times (which was a reasonable thing to do under the circumstances) and changed the departure time of the van. However, even after all of us who were then rescheduled to go on that van were aboard, he refused to leave until the time he had said, even though that would have allowed him to return to the hotel to take the remaining people a little bit earlier.

In addition, I had accidently left a piece of luggage at a previous hotel during my trip. The night I returned to LaPosada I contacted the previous hotel and arranged to have the luggage transported to LaPosada the next day. I then talked with the front desk staff, requesting that they send me the luggage, at my expense, and gave them my address in New York. The next morning I checked with the front desk staff (the shift had changed) to confirm these instructions, and found there was absolutely no record of my original request. I then remade the request. The luggage eventually reached me in New York -- about 6 weeks later!

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debbiefoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2007

We went to Tucson for a spring-break holiday with our 17-year-old daughter, and had booked La Posada in advance on the basis of on-line photos and reviews. We weren't disappointed. We had a third-floor room with very private balcony overlooking the grounds and pool, and with a view toward the golf course and mountains. While the room seemed somewhat small at first, it proved to be fine for our needs, and the spacious balcony with table and chairs was a real bonus. We could leave our sliding doors to the balcony open at all times and feel totally secure. The Mexican-flavoured decor helps to make the room more special than your standard hotel room. Everything was kept very clean, and the beds were good quality. The pool and hot-tub were well tended and attractive, and the numerous sun-lounges around them were comfy. Plus, the location of the hotel is convenient to restaurants, shopping, and other excursions.

Our only complaint: While we appreciated the complimentary breakfasts, they were rather monotonous, and we really question the hotel's decision to use only styrofoam plates, cups, and plastic cutlery. What a mountain of garbage is created every morning -- false economy, we think.

We would definitely go back. We recommend the third-floor rooms because of the privacy, security, and view. And the price (especially the on-line rate) is reasonable for the resort-like quality of this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Escaped_the_rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iowababs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Socal Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank sweetgirlSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Phoenix, Arizona
117
Reviewed 14 November 2005

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,017 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Tucson North Foothills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
9 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#22 of 129 in Tucson
1,215 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Lodge and Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Lodge and Casitas

Address: 5900 N Oracle Rd, Tucson, AZ 85704-3816
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Tucson
#38 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £60 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Lodge and Casitas 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Posada Lodge and Casitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Lodge And Casitas Hotel Tucson
La Posada Hotel And Casitas
La Posada Lodge And Casitas Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing