We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rate....but that's it! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street
Ranked #85 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
“Good rate....but that's it! ”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The receptionist gave us 10% off for Valentines days. The TV didn't work, the bed was lumpy. I payed extra for Internet that could not handle a netflix stream. The next morning I was woken up at 6am with lots of kids playing in the courtyard. Time to check out and find a different hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jahmontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
4
7
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just needed a place to lay my head for a few hours and this place was very adequate. Room was clean and quiet. The attendant at the front dest was more than helpful and the customer service was exceptional for a motel of this price range!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cclakeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamborine Mountain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nothing special about this place.
The guy behind the front desk looked like he'd had a hard day? But I must say he warmed up a bit and was helpful with an area map.
Free WiFi, just as well because it didn't work in our room.I did pick up a bit of a signal near the pool.
It looks like there might be a few permanent residents here, small BBQ's outside peoples doors etc.
The room was OK, no smells, it was clean and they shower worked well.
As for being a shady neighborhood? I don't think the local residents would be to glad to hear about that :-)
Best thing about the place is there's a Denny's just up the road and a Waffle House as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We just needed a place to sleep late at night and it served its purpose. Getting there was confusing. It was in a really shady neighborhood and I'm glad that we were able to park under a streetlight. There were no bugs in the room, but the room stank and I refused to walk around barefoot. Thankfully the a/c worked well. Oh and no water pressure in the shower.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethany T. K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

When we arrived no one was in the office and when he came out it seemed like we annoyed him, gee it was only 5pm. We got our non smoking room with WIFI ( which we had to pay for). The stairs were firlthy stucco was falling off, paint peeling off the wood as well. The tv inside our room was fine about the only thing that worked. The shower needed to be reglazed as there were pieces of it missing. The back of the toliet tank was cracked and there was dirt along the baseboards of the entire room. The heater was so noisey we couldnt have it on and watched tv at the same time. There was a ash tray in our room that was suppose to for non smokers. The towels were paper think and in need of cleaning. the bedspread had cigarette burns on it the sheets were stained and filthy. The bed was so hard and uncomfortable worst nights sleep. The pillows if thats what they were more like flat rocks were terrible. The next morning my husband and I were so happy to get away from that motel. The outside doing the day was in disgusting shape as well. never again at this location and we have stayed a few motel 6 but this was HORRIBLE

Room Tip: keep driving away from this place, spend a little more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindab00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tucson hotels

Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

after driving 7 hours from California I checked into Motel 6 at 960 S Freeway, Tuscon, AZ... I was given incorrect information about the internet service that was provided, the pillowcases were inside out so I called reception to let them know, they gave me another code for the internet and said they would let housekeeping know about the pillow cases. There was also an ashtray in a supposedly non smoking room which let her (Tiffany) know also)... My 7 year old son and I both fell asleep around 8pm. At 10.20 there was loud knocking on our door which woke me up. It was a 'security guard' who was insisting that I need to open the door and speak with her. I pulled back the curtains and she couild clearly see that I was in my pj's and I informed her that we were sleeping and I would not open the door unless she could give me a valid reason which she did not. I called up the front desk and spoke with Tiffany who said that it was fine she would let the security guard know that she was not needed. I then got back into bed... 2 minutes later the security guard CALLS ME, starts telling me that if I have any further small complaints they will boot me out of the hotel. She was extremely rude and behaving in a threatening manner. I called the police who came about half an hour later. The police office came to my room after going to reception first despite that fact that it was I who called THEM as I felt threatened. And she informed me that they were asking me to leave the premises. By this time it was after 11pm. My 7yo son was fast asleep, I had to wake him up, go and get a refund for TWO of the three nights I had paid for as they refused to issue me one for tonight and find another Hotel. I am ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED at being treated in such a manner. I have stayed in HUNDREDS of Motels and have NEVER been treated so badly. I asked the Hotel Manager to make sure the CCTV footage was saved so that when I go to a lawyer about this we will have all of those conversations on tape! That security guard should be ASHAMED of herself for treating people so badly. Had she come to my door and asked if everything was okay, I would have responded yes it was (we WERE sleeping) and she could have gone on her way.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nogales, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have been at this motel for 4 nights now and plan on staying another week. All in all, it's ok. The staff is friendly and the service is decent. One of the clerks even helped me push my car when it broke down. Something most motel workers won't do. On the downside, there is a homeless fellow who wanders around the place during the day, apparently with the staff's implicit consent. Also, I encountered a doper smoking weed a couple of doors down several times. They don't really police the place. The weekly rates sort of suck too. They want $262 for a week and they tack on Motel 6's perennial Wi-Fi charge of $3.20. In effect, you are paying $285 for a week. But they do accept dogs and with an APBT, that is great. Lots of turnover, very few permanent guests and cleanliness is a plus.

Room Tip: Best rooms appear to be on the north side or next to the pool if that's your game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.5 mi away
Arizona Riverpark Inn
Arizona Riverpark Inn
#71 of 130 in Tucson
237 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucson
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Tucson Downtown Convention Center
1.7 mi away
University Inn Tucson
University Inn Tucson
#51 of 130 in Tucson
170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Tucson West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street

Property: Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street
Address: 960 S Freeway, Tucson, AZ 85745-3220
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street is located at the intersection of I-10 and I-19, and less than a mile from downtown Tucson. Features include a beautiful oversized pool and a guest laundry facility. Wi-Fi in all guest rooms for 2.99 USD per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Tucson - Congress Street Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing