We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be on everyones HIT list”
Review of The Loft Cinema

The Loft Cinema
Ranked #6 of 42 Fun & Games in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted BEST OF TUCSON every year since 2002 by readers of the Tucson Weekly, The Loft Cinema is a mission-driven, membership-supported nonprofit cinema that screens new independent American and foreign films and documentaries, along with classic art films, interactive events including a monthly short film contest, sing-a-longs and cult favorites. Patrons can enjoy beer, wine, pizza, tamales along with fantastic films. The main theatre seats 500 people and boasts the largest screen in Southern Arizona. In addition to our regular programming, The Loft hosts an annual international film festival in the fall and a free children's film festival every July. The Loft is a member of the Sundance Institute's Art House Project, based on our excellence of programming and service to the community. In 2012 The Loft was selected to be an official venue of the Sundance Film Festival in their Sundance USA program and we have hosted a screening direct from Sundance with the filmmakers every year since. The Loft is one of 7 American cinemas to be a collaborating partner with Film Forward: Advancing Cultural Dialogue in 2012, an honor The Loft also enjoyed in 2011.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Should be on everyones HIT list”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A wonderful jewel for Tucson. A nonprofit movie theater !! Way Cool. Tons of wonderful movies , free popcorn if you're a member. A glass of wine or beer. Everyone should support the LOFT....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SteveandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    30
    9
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Tucson Treasure”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We love the Loft and feel very lucky to have this amazing movie theatre in Tucson. An impressive amount of great independent films are screened at the Loft all year round. The large theatre is the largest screen in Tucson. The small upstairs theatre is great with sofas in the front row. They serve an amazing range of food and drink including craft beers, wine, pizza and great popcorn. Members get a nice discount and free popcorn. Well worth the membership fee. The only complaint I have is that the new theatre that opened about a year ago is very uncomfortable. The seats are rock hard. I wish they had spent a little extra to make that theatre more comfortable. If you have not been to The Loft you must go to see what it is like to see a movie that is not in a shopping mall or a big mulitplex. See you at the movies!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long island, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“art films in Tucson”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

who'd have thought that a small city like Tucson could corner the market with such wonderful "art films" and I say that coming from the NY metropolitan area. Cinema has always been a passion of mine and most of the big stuff out there is not what I want to see. The prices are reasonable, the theatre/concessions abundant, good parking, and a good place to go on a hot Tucson day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank calvero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
388 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Like an Adventure every time?”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We love this place! Never a dull moment and so many venues. Fun indies and directors. I have seen some wonderful documentaries and regular movies. They offer vegan cookies and organic popcorn. They serve beer and wine. They have couches upstairs to snug into with your loved ones. The place keeps updating and expanding. They have a horror night and often show old movies to have a song along. Even cult classics. What more can I say. Go and enjoy and you may even find a few fresh veggies and cheese at their next farmers market. See you there. I only wish I lived closer!

Helpful?
2 Thank Tundrachoochoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Indy Movies in a Hip Environment”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A great selection of Indy Movies in a hip environment The Loft is a pretty cool place. Good food, real popcorn with real butter (watch out! It can be addictive) A large old theater and several small intimate theaters make for an eclectic environment. I like the upstairs mini-theater with the couches and chairs, feels like a college campus!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank FinnieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft Cinema also viewed

 

Been to The Loft Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing