We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice condo if you can find it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonoran Suites of Tucson
Ranked #85 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
HSV, AR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice condo if you can find it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

Like others, we looked for this place for a couple of hours. We asked several people but no one could tell us where to go. Once we found the place we still could not get in. Tried for another two hours to contact someone with Sonoran Suites - no one would answer their phones or return our messages. Finally an Expedia rep. apparently reached someone and they finally called us back, just as we were leaving to find somewhere else to stay. The Cable TV is basic coverage - local channels only. We were there the night of the football BCS national championship game which was covered by ESPN and had to go to a sports bar to watch the game. Also, no wireless internet.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gunsm0ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    4
    2
    4
    7
See reviews for
9
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

Just wanted to write a quick review on Sonoran Suites Tucson. I booked a 1 bedroom rental for me and a friend for a quick, cheap getaway to Tucson to play some golf. August is dirt cheap and we were not expecting much. Chris is the golf package manager and he gave us a great deal to stay 3 nights and play 2 rounds. We only booked a 1 bedroom to save some $$, but he upgraded at us when we arrived to a 2 bedroom condo, awesome. Just a simple gesture made 2 guys very happy and made for a very pleasant stay. The rentals are near Arizona National so we played there and another round at Vistoso. The condo was clean, and better than we had expected. Since we had booked a golf package I was well aware of the lockbox and check in, I can see how this is confusing for some, but the instructions we received were crystal clear. We are not exactly rocket scientists and we figured it out We wold do this again, it really is the perfect option if you are looking for something better than a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eldonlajolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed for a friends' wedding that was held at Arizona National Golf Course, just up the road. We found it to be clean, suitable and overall a good stay. The check in can be tricky with the lockbox like others have mentioned - but we found it similar to other rentals we have used for vacation in Gulf Shores and Florida. No compalinst here, we liked it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtaylor6597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

I had chosen Sonoran Suites because of its excellent reviews. Unfortunately, I had an emergency after hours - unable to enter room (lock box w/ key inoperable) and called their "emergency number". No one picked up, and I left a message - twice that evening - stressing the importance of the call. No one called back that evening. I never stayed in the room that night. My girlfirend and I had to search for a nearby hotel in the middle of the night and pay for another stay elsewhere. 2 days later, still haven't heard from Sonoran Suites. Eventually, I called and I spoke to someone, explained my situation and was told I would hear from them that day. No call back, again. I then called the following day, spoke to a manager - hoping this would repair the situation - and it did not. Eventually, I was charged for the room, thru Expedia because Sonoran Suites still charged them for my stay. No explaination from any of the staff of Sonoran Suites for their lack of response to my emergency call. And no one held accountable for that - except me, because it was my fault, I could not open the lock box! No refund or credit! Never again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aquasandstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaveCreek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

We booked a golf package through Sonoran Suites for a weekend road trip to Tucson. The condo was nice for us, very clean and we were set up on 3 great courses at great rates = La Paloma, AZ National and best of all, we played The course at Ritz Carlton 3 days after the PGA Tour event! Wow - I don't know how they got us on there but it was incredible. Like I said, the condo was real nice, we all had separate beds since they had 2 beds in each room. We "checked in" by sending in some paperwork from our confirmation email and had a map, our address and the lockbox code in hand when we arrived, they said just go right to the door and it was so easy. Next up is Palm Sprins and we will use Sonoran Suites anytime we can, good service, nice place to stay and the best golf in town.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theskipper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

As somebody else already noted, the place needs on-site managing. It is completely unsuitable for short stays. We booked a one-bedroom for two nights en route. Finding the place without GPS and a cell phone was a two hour ordeal, not helped by the staff we finally tracked down who could not be bothered to explain that "Sonoran Suites" hide in a complex called "Pinnacles Estates". The Tucson street numbering system in this part of town is not comprehensible for outsiders, partly due to the mountainous area. Who knows, who cares, but the staff should be tuned to out-of-towners, never mind international travellers.
Worse to come though: After the protracted booking-in procedure, taking another full half hour with faxes going back and forth, even though we were fully paid up, the place was a nightmare. We had been assigned a two bedroom suite with the master bed and bathroom uncleaned since the previous occupants left! Therefore we squeezed into the small bedroom, literally. since the bed on one side was accessible only by creeping in sideways - and we are both slim and trim! No place to put a glass of water on that side, either, of course. Altogether, the place was dirty. I had to quickly wash a couple of glasses so we could drink out of them. That, of course, can be blamed on previous visitors, but the windows were equally smeared. Anything that should be sparkling clean like sinks in kitchen and bathroom were dull and unsanitary looking. The faucet in the kitchen threatened to fall off, but the very worst was yet to come. Next morning the strange flimsy contraption maskerading as the bathroom faucet proved inoperable. In all our travels around the world, including third world countries, have we ever come across something like that. Neither did we have to go without shower for two days!!!
We left several urgent and emergent messages but nobody got back to us. Admittedly, the situation was exacerbated by the weekend, but nevertheless somebody should have made themselves available. I was tempted to report a spill on their precious "residential" carpet since juding from the prominently displayed exhortations and threatened penalties that was the only interest in their guests. (Who would even think to use carpet in this climate and with all the gorgeous tile available but then the place was furnished for display only and not for the slightest comfort - as well as a good 20 years out of date.)
However, decor is a matter of taste, and minor problems can arise anywhere. A lack of basic facilities and efforts to provide them, though, is inexcusable. We have many times over had better facilities in basic motels - and more courteous service!
We had booked into this sort of place with a view to future extended stays on our retirement but this was such an eye opener that we almost have to be thankful for the warning!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MargotEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

Book the Sonoran Suites after looking at tripadvisor site.We booked a two bedroom Condo ,but we were put in a three bedroom one not a problem to us more room.Gorgeous views ,lovely pool and the Condo beauitful.Only two things to say the carpet was very badly marked and the bees around the pool late evening would not give up .Eat at the Cheesecake Factory at Riverside great food and service.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ottiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
4.3 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
Sonesta ES Suites Tucson
#46 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
7.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
4.2 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#36 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
2.2 mi away
Casitas at Sabino Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoran Suites of Tucson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoran Suites of Tucson

Property: Sonoran Suites of Tucson
Address: 7990 E Snyder Rd, Tucson, AZ 85750-6530
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonoran Suites of Tucson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step up without having to pay those outlandish prices with a 1, 2 or 3 Bedroom Fully Furnished Suite provided by Sonoran Suites of Tucson. Our spacious, luxurious Suites offer all the comforts of home with the amenities of any five star resorts. With FREE Wi-Fi, Expanded Cable and Sparkling Swimming Pools there is only one clear choice when choosing your Lodging Accommodations.Each of our One, Two or Three Bedroom Suites have large Living Rooms, Dining Rooms, Bedrooms, Bathrooms, Full Size Kitchens with all of the necessary equipment including Cookware, Flatware, Refrigerator, Microwave, Oven and Coffee/Tea Maker. You will also have the opportunity to enjoy our Flat Screen TV’s, DVD Players, Washer & Dryers, Hair Dryers, Iron & Ironing Boards, Fresh Linens, Towels and Toiletries in each Suite.The Bedrooms can be set to your custom specifications in either a single King or Two Twin Beds. The Sonoran Suites Fully Furnished Suites are very well located in perfect areas for shopping, sightseeing or getting in a few rounds of golf at one of your favorite Golf Courses. Whether you plan on staying with us one night or a few weeks, Sonoran Suites of Tucson has the means to provide you the very best stay at the most competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonoran Suites of Tucson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoran Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Sonoran Hotel Tucson
Sonoran Suites Of Tucson Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing