We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That bread...”

Bison Witches Bar & Deli
Ranked #174 of 1,990 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours
ttr25
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“That bread...”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Oh my goodness, that bread was freaking fantastic! I ordered a 1/2 Club and it was larger than most other full sandwiches and it delicious. We want to go back for more. My husband had the C.A.B and he said it was really good. They had ice-cold Anchor Steam on tap. The service was great and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    48
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
532 reviews
404 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“The Sandwich Was Bigger than My Head”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

And while my head is not huge/gargantuan - it's home to a decent-sized skull, I think. The adjective 'HUGE' if often overused or hyperbolic, but not in this case.
The two sandwiches (grilled cheese, chicken/avocado) were tasty and warm and actually, the biggest sandwiches I have ever seen, personally. There is a half-sandwich option, but really, I only get one go-around on Earth, so who has time for that?
The chips were fresh and the server knew to include ice in my drink order (grapefruit juice), so I was excited before the spaceship-sized food arrived.
Clean, intimate, hip, affordable, and worth every penny of the positive word-of-mouth advertising I had heard.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere on 4th Ave in Tucson”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I really loved this place. I had the CAB (Chicken and Bacon?) sandwich. First off, this sandwich is like two sandwiches put together. Each piece of bread is easily as big as two normal slices. The sandwich was not just freakishly large, but super tasty as well. The chicken and bacon were delicious; however, the real star of the sandwich was the russian dressing that was made with honey. It was just sweet enough to really set off the salty bacon, but not so much that it overpowered everything else. My dining partner had a Reuben and proclaimed it to be one of the best he had ever had. That means a lot coming from two Omaha guys. Reubens were invented in Omaha, and are very popular there. I am in Tucson for another two weeks, and will have to make a return trip to Bison Witches.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OMG so good”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My favorite place to eat in the university area. The sandwiches are all great and they have soup in a bread bowl! Get the combo to get the best of both worlds! I also love the chips con queso! They do have a bar, but I have not used it. Oh, and expect to wait as the place is always packed! Being on 4th ave there is not a lot of seating... they do have a patio but don't use it in the summer :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank araes2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“One of our favorite places to eat!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My wife and I at least eat lunch here once a month. Huge, tasty sandwiches and terrific soup served in a bread bowl. They also have a large beer selection and great drink specials. Go a little off the lunch rush because the long wait outside in the afternoon sun can be grueling.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bison Witches Bar & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Bison Witches Bar & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing