We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place”
Review of The Settlement - CLOSED

The Settlement
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful place”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We went here for an anniversary dinner. Very impressed with location and decor. Very friendly waitress, knowledgeable about the menu items! Good beer selection, a gorgeous blood orange in my Blue Moon. We were a little stuffed on the appetizer and salad, so ended up taking most of the actual dinner home to eat later. Good tenderloin, husband enjoyed his entree, barbeque sauce a little sweet for our tastes, but still good. Would go back for a drink and appetizer on the patio once the weather warms up a bit. View of the mountains and saguaros just beautiful.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cowboys and all!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Clean, very much a taste of the southwest, artful preparation, loved the wait staff, food is so reasonable in Tucson!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glorylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, good food, good service, good entertainment”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My husband and I ate here on a recent vacation in Tucson. We stayed at a nearby B&B, and the innkeeper recommended this restaurant. Our waitress was very friendly and attentive. Our food was very good and very generously portioned. In fact, we couldn't eat it all! I had the trout, and my husband had the ribs, and both were excellent. The atmosphere is very laid back and low key. We enjoyed the western artwork and sculptures and spent some time after our meal viewing them more closely. We also enjoyed listening to the solo guitarist who played country songs during our meal, including a special request from my husband for me.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaIndigoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Authentic Tucson fare”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had a group of three couples visiting Tucson for a few days, so we've been eager to avoid the national chains and try local fare. We found "The Bone-In Steak and Smokehouse" as a byproduct of our wish to enjoy some Western music by a favorite singer/songwriter, Andy Hersey.

We were SO pleased to be drawn to the Bone-in! The place is certainly a bit out of the way, almost adjacent to the fabulous Saguaro National Park - East on the far east side of Tucson. We walked into a wonderfully southwestern adobe-style restaurant with muted but still bright southwestern colors and decor. There is a bar to your right and a few dining areas separated by half-walls on the left. The place was spotless throughout. A nice wood fire was crackling near the entryway.

We had the sweetest waitress ever that dealt gracefully with our happy crew. The menu was great, filled with a nice range of beef and pork entrees and sandwiches as well as Mexican fare. Among our group was a professional meat producer who gave very high marks to the quality of the meat products. The two engineers in the group appreciated more the architecture and the saguaro-rib and plaster ceiling design.

The entertainment was wonderful, with the singer located on a stool in the center of the facility. The music carried well throughout, but without intruding on our dining conversations. There is just no way to beat a great meal with live entertainment like that!

On a Sunday evening at 6pm, we took about an hour and a half of drinks, dinner, and just plain listening/talking without feeling pushed to clear our table for the next customer.

Specific likes:

Great decor
Fabulous entertainment
Sweet waitress
Good food

Could be better:
One couple's order was mangled a bit - arriving way late
Our GPS routed us through a meandering path to the restaurant. The return via I-10 was a whole lot better!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The steaks are great, the service is good but not perfect. First we just went there because it was close to place we were staying, but then we had our dinner in the Bone-In for the next 3 nights.
The food takes its time, but it is worth it. They have a large outside area where can enjoy your dinner with stars and bats above you head.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing