We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B We've Ever Stayed At”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

If you require something beyond very beautiful, natural surroundings, warm and attentive hosts, wonderful food, very comfortable and completely outfitted rooms/houses, nearby amenities, and magical sunrises and sunsets....then do look beyond here. Otherwise, Azure Gate will be for you, as it was for us, a place of joy.
There are so many superb extras here beyond expectation as well. A mind-blowing library of films to see in your room at night, a very extensive area filled with local attraction information, a quite detailed guest book of places to eat and see, and a lovely pool, among other surprises. Dennis and Christine are all about making your Tucson stay a terrific one, yet are never intrusive. This place is a gem and made our time in Arizon twice as great as it would have been without our stay here. Go!

Room Tip: We stayed at a casita next to the main house and didn't want to leave. It had every comfort imag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck&Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

Everything previously noted about this property is 100% true .. it would be very hard to find a better B&B. My husband and I stayed for 9 days in the Santa Ana guest house, and loved everything, including the private rear patio, an excellent spot to have a glass of wine and watch the sun set and the animals scamper about! The property, beautifully landscaped, is situated on a quiet side street, but just a few minutes to restaurants and shopping.The breakfasts are fantastic .. not only is the food delicious, but Dennis is a master at providing visual appeal for his plates too. One morning the poached pears were almost too pretty to eat (but we did!) The large jar of trail mix in our room disappeared quickly, as did the dish of chocolate candy thoughtfully provided on the coffee table. There was plenty of hot water and extra towels; the small kitchen has fresh coffee beans in the cupboard and cream in the refrigerator, also a selection of juices, chilled and ready. Christine was delightful to chat with at breakfast, and both innkeepers went out of there way to give us suggestions and directions for touring and dinners. These people are the most gracious and hospitable innkeepers you will ever find, stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kybirdcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stay here!! My husband and I came here for our honeymoon and we couldn't have landed anywhere better. We stayed in the Santa Ana Guest House and are totally head over heals for this place. Breakfasts have been rockin' our worlds--in fact, they are some of the tastiest breakfasts I've ever eaten. The location of Azure Gate is ideal being close to the base of Mt. Lemmon which is a great place for hiking. Christine and Dennis are so sweet and friendly and helpful and kind. Also, the perks are amazing. They have a video/dvd library with over 1,000 options, a binder full of local restaurant descriptions and recommendations. This place is a demonstration of true excellence in every way.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Santa Ana Guest House and couldn't be more thrilled about it. It is clean and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I read great reviews online about The Azure Gate, but you never know until you arrive what it’s really like. I was more than pleased! Our room was beautifully decorated in southwestern décor with lovely little touches everywhere.

We woke each morning to wonderful smells from the kitchen where Dennis whipped up an outstanding gourmet breakfast. Christine’s china, goblets, and serving dishes make the experience doubly delightful. Dennis describes each of his delicious creations. One morning breakfast was served by the lovely outdoor swimming pool. What a lovely way to start the day.

The Azure Gate is surrounded by beautiful grounds with cactus, native plants, birds, and other wildlife. It is peaceful and lovely. Both Christine and Dennis are warm and hospitable. They went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Oh, the coffee is delicious, too. Christine and Dennis are originally from Seattle!

Our stay at Dennis and Christine’s B&B was the best part of our trip. I highly recommend The Azure Gate and look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: For the most privacy, choose one of the separate guest houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank napickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great quiet location, best food of any b&b we've ever stayed
Good central location to access all sights and activities of tucson
Dennis and Christine are exemplary hosts, they know the area well
And give accurate descriptions of sights ,activities and directions

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in, make sure your rom faces west.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My mid-October, 2013 visit to the Azure Gate was wonderful -- again! It is a truly special desert oasis where I can unwind and recharge at any time of year. The delicious gourmet breakfasts (at delightful tables!) are the perfect fuel for a day hike or other desert exploration -- and Dennis and Christine gladly share their tips for current events, wildlife sightings and other interests that make each day a unique adventure. Nightfall brings the welcome comfort of a peaceful setting that seems more like home every time I visit. I hope the memories of another perfect respite will sustain me until I can return!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank So_where2next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is the first review I've ever posted. I'm rather late in posting, but feel it's only fair to add our recommendation since we chose to stay at the Azure Gate based on the great reviews others have posted. We had a great experience, and can confirm that the high praise of previous reviewers is well deserved.

We stayed in one of the rooms in the owners' home. Our room (and the entire B&B) was very clean and comfortable (good bed!). The breakfasts were beautiful, delicious and healthy; and the exterior surroundings are so serene. You are right there in the Sonoran desert. Plus, Dennis and Christine are very welcoming, and generous with information on the area.

We loved Tucson; exotic desert surroundings, and great hiking. We really enjoyed the Azure Gate B&B and Dennis and Christine the owners!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JO H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.3 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,010 reviews
23.1 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
814 reviews
4.7 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
5.7 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.8 mi away
Royal Elizabeth Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9351 E Morrill Way, Tucson, AZ 85749-8550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: £104 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 magical acres of desert botanical garden ambiance; two guest houses with kitchens; plus two guest rooms in the main house offer a range in pricing as well as length of stay; enjoy the library, chess room, living room, and outdoor oasis; walk through 10 Azure Gates designed by artist Simon Donovan; Come here to relax and enjoy the peace, beauty, and spirit of nature that is The Azure Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azure Gate Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing