We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing golf, fabulous wildlife, spectacular views, delicious food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Even though we are local, we recently stayed at the JW Marriott in Tucson for my husband's birthday. Every single staff member that we met were incredible kind, generous, and honestly just seemed happy. We enjoyed playing golf on the spectacular golf course and were amazed that we even ate lunch at the clubhouse for under $20! We were upgraded to a beautifully decorated and very spacious suite free of charge. Clarissa, the gal who checked us in, also surprised us and had a complimentary bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries sent to our room! Every meal that we had was spectacular and very reasonably priced. At dinner the waiter served us a complimentary desert - decadent cannolies! The wildlife was unexpected and amazing! We have lived in Tucson for 20 years and never seen the abundance of wildlife that we saw here! The pools and lazy river were so relaxing, just the perfect temperature - and it was November! We will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Congratulations and thank you for celebrating such a significant occasion with us. I am delighted to hear that you had a personalized experience, thanks in part to the efforts of Clarissa. Thank you for highlighting our amenities and the desert wildlife. Affirmation from a local Tucsonans is a true testament to the authentic experience that we strive for all guests to enjoy. Thank you for sharing your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 2,215 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

Just got back from the Starr Pass and I have a lot of praise for this resort.

My room was 6725 which had a view of the City of Tucson, pools and included a balcony. IMHO, this was by far the best of the resort to be on. When you see pictures of the resort this is the side that they normally show. I think the other view is called the "mountain" or "park" view which to me was not greatly impressive. The room was large, clean and well-appointed and included a small refrigerator. The bathroom had a large counter space and included a large tub and separate shower. The shower, tub and floor were all done in tile. One of the best sleeping beds I've slept on.

The staff has to be one of the best! They were friendly and helpful without exception and I never felt like I was rushed/pushed out of the room so it could be cleaned, etc.

Not only were the grounds on the resort incredibly well taken care of but they blended in so well with the natural beauty of the hills, mountains and cactus that surrounded the resort. There was also an abundance of road runners, javelina and other animals that had access to the grounds, which to me added to the whole experience.

Overall I think the resort does a good job of incorporating the history and natural surrounding into a very enjoyable package.

Room Tip: Facing Tucson and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripper_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Senior Contributor:

It was with great pleasure to read your review entitles “Beautiful views, grounds and friendly, efficient staff”. It was lovely to read about your encounter with nature on your journey at the resort. I have always enjoyed seeing how the wildlife takes a journey through our backyard. Thank you for highlighting our associates’, and we look forward to welcoming you back to another tranquil experience.

Sincerely,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Tucson is a great place to visit or to begin a trip to Mexico - the Sierra Madre Express, for example. The grounds are beautifully Southwest, the service is excellent and the restaurant is top notch. Large, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We have stayed at this resort many times over the years, so enjoyed seeing the recently remodeled guest rooms. The rooms are large and comfortable; the remodel features new carpet, bedding and guest lamps. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom has a grand feel with a separate shower and tub. I think the showers are showing some age, but they are still very nice. The lobby is open and welcoming and I especially enjoyed the flavored water offered near the guest services desk. Staff service is excellent all around. The patio in the evening is the most relaxing place to hang out after a day at work. The many fire pits and chimneys make for lots of cozy, comfortable choices. The dinner menu on the patio is limited, but they are usually willing to bring food over from the restaurant next door. The prices are resort prices, so expect to pay a lot for cocktails. The best value is the Catalina Barbecue down on the golf course. They provide drop off and pick up from the hotel front entrance. The menu and food are both good and they offer beer and appetizer specials when football is on TV. It is always a treat to stay at the Starr Pass and I look forward to the next trip.

Room Tip: We enjoy all the views except the parking lot view. Mountains, golf course, or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to highlight and commend the JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the recently refreshed guest rooms and highlighted many of the assets of our property. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. The rooms are large and modern. The gym is a little tired as are most US hotels... food choices were limited particularly after a week long stay. Annoyingly Starbucks closes at 5pm, so if youre working, this is awkward.
The pool is delightful as is the spa. The breakfast buffet is well worth the cost!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank claire_moor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your feedback on your past stay, I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the fitness center and are planning a refresh in early 2014. Thank you for sharing about your experience and we look forward to your return and the opportunity to make a lasting impression on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed there for a weekend with our granddaughter. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is a pretty good hiking trail and an nice golf course. The center piece are the pools so a summertime trip would be best if you have kids. The rooms are nice, but pretty small. The restaurants on site are good, but expensive. I would suggest the self parking.

Room Tip: Higher rooms give you a better view of the mountains or the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G2services
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your recent experience. Thank you for taking time to highlight a couple of the features of our resort. The hiking trails out our Front Door offer a fantastic insight into the Sonoran Desert. We are glad to learn about your experience and look forward to your return.

Regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We - child, mum and grandmum - stayed for girls together night at the Starr Resort in early Oct 2013. As other reviewers have pointed out there are many good points - view, pools, pleasant staff etc. But looking at it as a 5 star hotel, it seemed strange that it was so empty; particularly when many people in the immediate area had half-term. The reason seems clear and you could do something about it. The resort is expensive as you'd expect, but there seems a mean-spiritness about what is on offer as part of the special 'resort' fee. Most of which I would have expected to be included as part of any five star offer. For example, the one heated pool was outside and cost an additional 15 dollars a day, per person. And although this area is warm, it isn't that warm all the year and this must pay for heated pool wasn't that warm.

Why not provide some cheaper offers and fill the place up, with locals who might fancy a couple of days of luxury? Could do this a week before and make the whole place more lively, which the term 'resort' also implies. Helps parents if their children can find out children with whom to play. And fills rooms, restaurants and bars

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJo459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

We sincerely appreciate your online review of the resort. I apologize for any misperception, The JW Marriott Tucson does not charge guests a fee to utilize the Reflections Pool or the Starr Canyon River and Monsoon slide. Access to the Saline Lap pool at the Hashani Spa is limited to guests of the Spa, and a Day Pass may be purchased for $25, to experience the Saline Lap Pool, Jacuzzi’s and Eucalyptus Steam Room. We appreciate your sincere review of your stay and will take it into consideration, as we strive for all guests to have an enjoyable and relaxing experience at the property.

Regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.8 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
819 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
745 reviews
14 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13 mi away
El Conquistador Tucson, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £202 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson, Arizona merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing