We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GO TO BE PAMPERED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 December 2013

After driving across the country we settled in for 4 nights here before our last leg to CA. The minute we stepped out of car we knew we had made a great decision. Door was opened into a lovely lobby. Upgraded room including an amazing breakfast. Some of the Hilton Hotels should come here to see what a wonderful buffet breakfast is all about. Thank you Trisk for always remembering what we liked. (blueberry pancakes to die for). Service was outstanding in all aspects.
One item we were not that crazy about was the restaurant on site called Catalina. The barbecue food is overly salty and sauced. But it was easy to have dinner here without breaking the bank. Yes, we are Marriott Platinum members so that helped in the upgrade and the lovely thought that the front desk did as we were in our room---they sent up chips and salsa & guacamole with a note welcoming us after our long journey.
Relax and enjoy as this is a stunning place.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JSSMetroD.C.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

My Husband booked this hotel as part of a professional conference several months ago. He had requested a king bed. When we arrived he was told a king was not available and only 2 doubles were left. He is over 6'3" so a double is very uncomfortable for him. We asked to be moved the next day and the next. NOPE. No one would even act interested in helping us move. Upon check out I again complained and was told the reason there was no king available was due to a conference group and they had them all reserved. We were part of that group. The bed was not the big issue for us, but rather the attitude that no one cared we were unhappy or tried to help in any way. The staff is friendly and the setting is beautiful, but the hotel in general seems poorly managed. Twice we ordered a menu item that they were out of. The mirrors in the hallway looked like they were cleaned with a dirty cloth and this did not change in 3days. .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadreamin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your insight on your past stay. The associates at the JW Marriott work together to orchestrate a personalized experience, and I apologize that service was not reflected on your visit. We sincerely appreciate your perspective and the opportunity to grow from these learning’s. We look forward to your return and thank you for reviewing the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Perfect check in. Perfect room, service was outstanding. It was a weekend of Christmas parties and a college basketball team in this Tucson hotel, so the hotel was very busy. It was like a well oil machine. Running on a cylinders and no issues. Hope to visit it again soon !

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MROSS79104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My sincerest gratitude to the professional, kind and courteous staff of this resort. This level of service is not something that money can buy or an organization can hammer in. Rather, the first employee trains the next one, creating a culture that puts the customer first. The resort is located in a pristine natural setting with wonderful hikes into some of the most astonishing elevations of the Sonora Desert. The rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean and oh-so-quiet. There are three restaurants on the premise, two of them fine-dining establishments. The other serves a casual cuisine with indoor and outdoor seating. The food is outstanding in every venue and you are not required to dress up for dinner. Upon your request, you are shuttled to a grand barbeque restaurant with a delicious fare. The vast veranda offers fire pits, live music and comfortable seats that encourage mingling and making new friends. Every aspect of the building offers breathtaking views of the natural beauty as well as panoramic vistas of Tucson. The night views are amazing as the city shimmers against a black canvas. I can go on and on, but I must return to the wonderful women and men who make a stay at this resort a most memorable experience.

Room Tip: Room 6725 is ideal. It has a beautiful view (see photos) and is near the elevator and the ice machi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Behrouzsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

This resort is amazing! The rooms are clean and large. Most of the staff is very friendly. The only area we thought needed improvement was Starbucks. The customer service from Starbucks was lacking. They were not very friendly and seemed put out to help.

The pools were warm and very enjoyable even in 65-70 degree weather. My family had an amazing time playing in the pools.

The morning hike they offer is well worth it to get up early. The guide was very informative and pleasant to be around. In fact, it was so interesting we went multiple mornings.

Can't wait to go back! Arizona is a beautiful state!

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Jimnbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWRestaurants, Marketing Coordinator at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review of our resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We apologize that your service was lacking at our Starbucks. The manager is using this review for an opportunity to revisit service training for our Starbucks associates.

We hope that you will stay with us again soon.

Thank you.

Crystal R.
Marketing Coordinator
Food & Beverage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I stayed there overnight to celebrate her birthday. Front desk staff, Jude Matthew, checked us in and was very pleasant and courteous. He took the time to explain to us the layout of the hotel/resort, the amenities, restaurants, charges (what was included or not) and other info to make our stay great. He gave us a room with wonderful views of the city and the mountains.

He made the reservation for our dinner that night. We were disappointed that the Primo restaurant was closed (main reason why we went back to Starr Pass -- we ate there 3 years ago) but it turned out that food at the Signature Grill was just as great.

When we went back to our room after our dinner, there was a greeting card wishing my wife a happy birthday along with a bottle of champagne and chocolate cake. It was more than we expected.

We didn't really have time to do activities or enjoy the amenities in the resort, since we had to go back to Phoenix in the morning, but we had a wonderful stay. The room was very clean, super comfortable bed, magnificent views, great food, and staff we encountered -- whether in front desk or the restaurant -- were awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelsons0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a company convention. It is very nice and there is a lot to do, if you have time for leisure........Great pools and trails around the hotel. Food was very good and rooms were good with good views of the mountains and the city...............................Lot´s of space for conventions and big meetings.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
12.8 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
814 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
726 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#8 of 129 in Tucson
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Family Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £185 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson, Arizona merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing