We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at JW Marriott Starr Pass - more than 5 Star !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Monroe, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Stay at JW Marriott Starr Pass - more than 5 Star !”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Every aspect of our trip was fantastic and our goal was for our son to get to know Tucson and tour the U of Arizona ( Go Wildcats). We checked in very late and were treated exceptionally well.
From the Signature Grill or coffee at Starbucks,Primo or late night drinks and S'mores at Salud by the fire pit. Every member of the staff was exceptional: the valets, front desk, the pool staff , spa staff...and beyond.
The service at the pool was perfect: Andres' was terrific, Toni at the front desk gave awesome restaurant recommendations that are more local establishments than toursit traps. While all the front desk team were super cool Toni...is the guy I see moving up the ladder fast. Mary Ann who is the eyes and ears of the entire facility took the time to speak with us and check on us. When our tour of U of Arizona was over...it seemed the entire staff new our reasoning for being in Tucson. All folllowed by Russ, General Mgr. sending a card to our room detailing congrats to our son on his decision......who does this ? The family of Starr Pass...is who.
I am a huge Ritz Carlton Fan and have stayed at the "other" popular resort in town<LaP>. JW Starr Pass is as good as it gets without the nonsense. Minutes to everything and if you do not have a car...shuttles to everywhere.
We are happy to say after that after day two in Tucson our son committed to U of Arizona. We have made reservations for move in week, parent weekend and beyond.
As long as our son is in Tucson the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa will be our home away from home.

Room Tip: Go for the pool view... the mountains...from sunrise to sunset...wow ! Sit by the pool and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    489
    164
    63
    41
See reviews for
530
497
57
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The staff and service was exceptional. We played golf on 5 different courses in Tucson but the Marriott was our base. We spent most late afternoons on their bar patio. All food, mostly snacks, was really good. Try the hot dog sliders! Rooms were very nice with great views. Good location for all our running around. Last evening at their grill. Nice last dinner. Their course grill for dinner, Catalina was terrible. Rib eye steaks were crappy meat, bad tasting whether done rare, medium rare or well.
Courses were very challenging, but enjoyed!
We all liked it very much

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PejotaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This morning my family had breakfast at the Signature Grill. Everyone was very nice although the staff was probably tired from working at the restaurant the day and night before accommodating the Valentine's day crowd. Max was our server and he is definitely a STAR! Max is very nice, very professional, and provides extraordinary service! Our food was very good, but Max definitely made our breakfast even more enjoyable with his kindness and attention to detail. Thank you Signature Grill and especially thank you Max for a lovely breakfast!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We checked in at the front desk with Jude. That got us off on a great start. He was kind, courteous and reviewed all the dining, recreation and spa facilities. As others have reviewed the staff at this JW are outstanding. The only other feature that comes close is the location of this JW. If you don't embrace the desert scenery you will come to love it. The hotel is spacious, luxurious, vibrant yet serene. We have stayed a JW Marriott's in Maui, Chicago, Santa Monica, San Francisco and more but there is no question this is the most all encompassing property we have stayed at. We woke up to the sun rising on a hill of dessert scenery. It was quiet yet there were many going out the door for a morning of exploring the trails across from the hotel. The other side of the hotel faces the pool and beyond. Both are fabulous views. I would be happy with both possibilities. Te food options were excellent. The room service was excellent. The only sad part of our stay was we had to leave and that really did make me sad. I would return to this JW in a heart beat.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathleeenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The resort is located about 15 minutes from the Tucson Airport. Easily accessed by car service for $40 to $45. I do recommend a car service because a taxi is about the same price and its always nice to have someone waiting to whisk you away to a beautiful resort. The resort offers beautiful scenery, world class golf, serene pool, relaxing lazy river, world class food, and superb customer service. I traveled here for a business trip which was handled very well by the hotel staff. My stay was extended due to a winter storm shutting down the east coast hubs and I was happy to be stuck in a wonderful environment. This would be my go to place to stay in Tucson. It is a great place for business meetings, romantic getaway, or family vacation. I will be coming back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a nice view of the City of Tucson overlooking the pool area. Some rooms do look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDB0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This review is long over-due. My stay at the Starr Pass has been weekly since last Oct. Resort features include a Spa, Lap Pool, 2 swimming pools, the lazy river and a spacious, well equipped fitness center, several restaurants.. In my time I experienced nothing but the highest levels of service, and accommodation. Additionally, I have observed the same level of treatment to every guest regardless of length of stay, status, etc. The Staff are incredible with a few becoming friends whose life has become part of mine. The are both professional (regardless what that means) including a great sense of pride and pleasure in serving. Some staff are pretty entertaining if engaged. It's not a stuffy group. :-D
There are a wide variety of room sizes and incredible views. Rooms are spacious, well maintained and meet the multi-media needs of the most demanding techno-geek (I am one). I have stayed as Diamond in HiIton at HGVC properties, Resort of Phucket,, Hiltons all over and Ritz-Carlton as (Platinum Elite). The Starr Pass location, rooms and facility on are par with any of these other properties, but the human factor of this property is the brightest star.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing downtown Tucson overlooking the gold course with morning For a more secluded fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvwhitin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2014

great hotel, great service. great food.... all together 5 star.
I do travel alot around the world and this is by far the best hotel ever.
I was very happy with all the service and will stay here whenever I can.
very friendly. very warm atmosphere.
I like to mention the staff were great too. I came across Ms. Marry Ann Fierros. and her hospitality was above all. I think she should be the manager of the resort :)

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing.... you will be very happy when you leave this hotel. I felt like a new person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seesima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#9 of 130 in Tucson
858 reviews
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13.0 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing