We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I was traveling to AZ from NH to support my son's lacrosse team. Wanted to take time to enjoy myself while visiting and remembered the Starr Pass being a beautiful resort. I had drinks there years ago. This was my opportunity to enjoy! Right from the start, Victor took care of us. My online reservation made weeks prior was not complete for some reason and we didn't have a room booked. My paper copy showed my intent. Victor assured me immediately that he would find us a room, and he did! The balcony view was amazing and the room was comfortable as well as beautiful. It was a little windy to enjoy the fire pits that night but we sat for a few minutes. The food and drinks were excellent as well. The pools were inviting, the grounds beautiful. Our whole experience was welcoming and accommodating, not stuffy as I thought it could be. The staff was genuine and helpful. Enjoyed the pitchers of flavored water in the reception area. Unfortunately, we only stayed one night. I will return.

Room Tip: balcony overlooking the pool, great sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,323
    489
    164
    64
    41
See reviews for
531
497
57
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

M family (all adults 25-35 yrs old) and I really enjoyed our stay at the JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort and I would highly recommend it for business or pleasure. The amenities and hotel exceeded expectations. The pools and lazy river are very nice and not over crowded even though the hotel was near capacity (per the staff). The staff were amazing from check-in to check-out and very accommodating of any request. I look forward to my next stay at Starr Pass!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalMiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Starting with our arrival, our valet, Victor, was amazing. He was quick, polite, and showed a genuine interest in our satisfaction. Our check in went smoothly and we were unpacking a few minutes later. Night caps at Salud were delicious as well. We ordered room service and it arrived promptly. The creme brulee was awesome. Or stay was fantastic and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVeb514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Good size room, wonderful view, quiet despite being the hotel being busy, lovely lobby area and active firepit/bar area all made this place a winner. Great location for desert walks, and maps available. Invariably helpful staff. Food was OK if inconsistent - some meals better than others, but there is plenty of choice.
We used the driving range, and golf clubs were free to guests - nice touch. Pool was pleasant too.
We did have a little bother checking in with regard to what we had asked for, but by the third room it was all sorted out.
Some rooms overlook the firepits and bar area, and we were happy to find that noise was not an issue with the window closed, in fact we ended up enjoying seeing how lively the bar was, and looking out at Tucson at night.
Don't expect to shop there, and the spa looked uninviting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chwarae422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is a beautiful place. The staff at the restaurants and front desk deserve a sixth star. The concierges were awesome. Very warm and genuine, and the overnight front desk staff who are there until 8 AM are fantastic.

I would love it, though, if the trails for walking behind the property were a bit more clearly marked (you can quickly find yourself walking on the golf course rather than the walking paths) and that the unpaved trails around the hills out the front of the hotel were better marked. I never found the Lorraine Lee trail based on the instructions from one of the desk staff and had to come back. Bummer.

The gym needs a bit of an upgrade. And big pet peeve: if a running machine is broken, PUT A SIGN ON IT. I watched five people in the course of 20 minutes get up on the broken treadmill, get ready to run, and then realize it wasn't working. You don't want to see how frustrated people look at that moment, and how that accrues to the Marriott brand. Also no towels there when I got there one morning. A lot of people are there for conferences, and you have to expect a full house by 5 AM at a hotel gym.

If you are staying here, get a cab and go out to the Sonora Desert Museum. It costs about $25 each way. Such an amazing place.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, request a room overlooking the golf course and the lazy river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hughster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I decided to spend a quiet evening together and go out to dinner for something different that has always been excellent food and outstanding service. We asked to sit by the window at the Signature Grill and the hostess was very accommodating. Our favorite waiter, JB, was our server and he remembered us although we hadn't been there recently. He made sure I received special treatment in choosing my dinner because I have a wheat and gluten allergy. We both started with a glass of wine to relax and enjoy the city view. Our bus server was also very attentive and while he brought an appetizer that had gluten for my husband, he offered something for me. JB made the night very special and even suggested I call ahead next time for a special gluten free dessert. We highly recommend the Signature Grill and will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Let me begin by saying that prior to check in, I had experienced terrible customer service at the Omni Tucson (We'll save that review for somewhere else). So I began to feel cursed when I checked into this hotel at midnight and walked clear across the resort only to find the key to my room didn't work. BUT BOY did the service I receive after that make up for it! All of the staff here is very friendly and the spa at this place is phenomenal! Raymond from room service rushed a key to me that night I checked in so I didn't have to walk across the resort back to the front desk. Later, he had the front desk send me a personalized card with fruit and wine as a formal apology of sorts (it was a very nice touch). All in all the staff here is exceptional and I will be making the JW my preferred hotel while in Tucson.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the rest of the resort as this will promise amazing views of the city and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeliV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#3 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#9 of 130 in Tucson
859 reviews
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
13.0 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing