We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“couples? family? business?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
352 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“couples? family? business?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We wanted a resort as a base to explore Tucson and from the web site this one looked great-- pools, some highly rated restaurant options for eating "in" after a day of exploring, great grounds. We were somewhat worried when we checked in to see the enormous number of conference attendees milling about.I am happy to say however that somehow this resort caters to all three groups at a high level. As a casual couples traveler I was very happy with this experience. The resort is however HUGE-- if you decide to self park you do walk several blocks which was fine once you planned for this. If you have issues you can decide to pay for valet parking.
The fact that the entire hotel is non smoking was a plus for us-- however apparently they do allow smoking outside as we saw several groups of smokers congregated around the outside of the restaurants and pools with ashtrays provided.
Grounds are lovely-- view was awesome. Lots of wildlife to see including in the mornings-- groups of javelinas on the grounds, lots of deer and assorted birds and I was so fortunate to see a Bobcat hunting quail on the golf course right as the sun comes up ( they are nocturnal so you have to get up early)--- and clearly Bobcats are a very different species than cougars!-- so no danger -- just amazing views of the wildness that is the Sonoran desert.
We went hiking up the trail that is right by the resort-- great 1.5 mile hike to see the Saguaro and other desert features. it was lovely to have iced, flavored water in the lobby--- nice touch

The rooms were very clean and comfortable-- linens of high quality. The noise level was low-- we unfortunately had some very noisy kids next to us one night and just about to call the front desk when they stopped screaming and jumping off the bed. Other nights really quiet and you can find rude guests anywhere-- not a problem with the resort except that they do get lots of families due to the wonderful pool slide and floating pool. It was generally delightful to see the kids having fun with their families and being outside.

For a resort of this level I would anticipate a morning coffee service--- there is a Starbucks and $3 for a coffee is no big deal if one can afford to stay here but it was unusual for a resort of this level to not have morning coffee service in the lobby. Also no afternoon turn down service--- which again we rarely use anyway at other similar resorts but if you need your trash emptied or more towels you can call. The staff was very helpful -- especially the front desk and restaurant staff. This is not a Four Seasons where EVERY staff member acknowledges you-- I had some frowns from the pool cleaners on my early morning walk and I sure wasn't in their way--- funny vibes from housekeeping staff. I think there is a management opportunity here to have all staff on board with hospitality and it makes me wonder if the staff are "well treated" or trained? But again minor minor overall to the experience --

Overall I would definitely come back here -- for the view, for the proximity to good walking/hikes, for the in resort food. I was hoping for more "activities" but you can find those on your own.

Our room was clean. Some issues with general up keep-- I noted a piece of trash in the hallway was there for the entire four nights of our stay--- right in the middle of the hall was a plastic straw which stayed there despite daily room cleaning. Some of the bathrooms downstairs which clean in some areas -- were not so clean on the walls... which makes you wonder...

Room Tip: avoid the rooms overlooking the pool or bar which can be incredibly noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurettaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,285
    475
    158
    62
    39
See reviews for
516
480
55
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a large conference oriented hotel in an isolated part of Tucson. This is not an issue if you plan to stay the entire time at the resort; but if you venture out to eat, tour or shop it is about a 30 minute drive. The hotel has great staff, great rooms, and the facilities include very nice pools a golf course, hiking trails, and spa. The outdoor amenities also include numerous fire pits, dining, and rooms with balconies. One of the unique features of the hotel is a morning Indian ritual which I highly recommend. What I don't recommend is the food. All the meals had a high price, nice presentation; but were lacking in quality. I have never had such bad meals at a Marriott as I did at Starr Pass. After day two I started having breakfast and lunch at the on site Starbucks and going off site for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel appears to be a green property and environmentally friendly
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
193 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed here on business for three days. It's near an air force base of sorts, so there are occasional military planes/helicopters flying overhead, but other than this, it is very peaceful; you can't hear the highway from the resort.

The resort experience is alive and well here; it is away from the town and roads. From what I heard from those who explored the town in rental cars, this is a good thing - it sounded like there was some criminal activity in the area. Options for activity on the premises include pool and fire pit activities, spa, stargazing at night, animal watching during the day, golfing, and hiking at the nearby trails. There are also a couple of on-site restaurants; the food at our conference meals was good-to-great, depending on what you had. The hiking was great - the desert weather truly is perfect hiking weather. The stargazing was wonderful - the skies are so clear, it's easy to wile away the time, lost in the stars.

The suite was clean, spacious, and nicely furnished. There is a sofa, desk, flat screen television, mini fridge, coffeemaker with water and a small selection of coffees and teas, two queen beds, an iron and ironing board and hairdryer; the bathroom was great. It had a separate shower and tub, and ample vanity; lots of mirrors in and outside of the bathroom. My upper-level room had its own balcony overlooking the resort's promenade and a mountain and gully. I got a great view of a large group of mule deer coming down the mountain and into the gulley to eat one morning; a nice surprise, and so peaceful to simply sit and watch them eat the shrubs.

The entire resort was very spacious, clean, and elegant. The staff was almost exceedingly pleasant. I can't think of a single negative thing about my stay - it was a great site.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the pool area. A colleague had a room on the first floor facing the po...
See more room tips
Green Features: They had recycling bins on the premises, signs about re-using towels, and warnings about not drinking or bathing in the [repurposed?] water.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Great location, huge hotel, rooms getting a bit worn out and bathroom need a little remodeling.

Main pool area has become a party area for adults. Large groups hanging out in pool while drinking. I am surprised the hotel would allow glass containers in the pool or poolside. There was some suggestive sexual behavior that was not appropriate for children or other guests to see.

Most guests use fire pits to cook s'mores as a family activity and adults may bring a beverage from the bar. The 3 fire pits are located adjacent to the bar. There is no glass partition separating the bar from the fire pits.

Thy bar patrons consider part of the bar. The families consider a outside fire pit to cook s'mores. There is tension and stern looks when the children are near the fire pits. Thy hotel needs to set the boundaries and decide if the fire pits are part of the bar. If so, place signs up stating children are not allowed.

Great service from waitstaff by the lazy river.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms end in 85-93
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Mr. Gerry:

Thank you for taking time to review your latest experience at the resort. We sincerely value your personalized perspective on your experience, and express regret that your recent stay did not exceed expectations. We strive to provide an excellent experience for all of our guests; and like you, I am disappointed with the shortcomings in your experience. We are taking appropriate steps to address the concerns noted in your review. Thank you for allowing us to learn about your experience. If I can be of further assistance feel free to contact me directly at chad.lybrook@marriott.com

Regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was here on business for more than just a few days. The rooms are comfortable. I have had a room with the view of the city and the mountain and I cannot complain about either one. Big bed, Big TV, nice bathroom in each room. The gym is good. The front desk folks are really friendly and helpful (Cole, Jude, Kathryn, Jorge and Paul the night audit). The Restaurant is not very good. The food quality does not meet the price they charge. I expected a $30 meal, but instead it tasted like $10. Alanya the waitress, is very nice though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jheroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson,az
Level Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had not stayed here in a couple of years and decided to return. We were not disappointed. As adults looking for a quiet experience, we have learned that midweek visits are best to avoid the noisy unruly children. As elite members we had access to the spa which was a beautiful and tranquil. The service seems to have improved with friendlier staff. The Salud lounge is a favorite spot and Carlos, the manager oversees every detail. No matter how busy they are, the service is
excellent and most pleasant.

One bit of constructive criticism is the check in process. They had a big conference and only two people at the front desk and there is not elite check in. This will not work if they want to attract conferences.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lounge are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This resort is simply top notch in just about every regard. All the staff seemed friendly and services provided are all excellent (they even have a Starbucks)! I've stayed here twice but was only able to visit the resort's restaurant the signature grill on my latest visit as my I was there strictly on business my first visit.

But WOW! I absolutely love this restaurant. Excellent food (organic, cage free, ect...) and outstanding service. Our server Chastity was exceptionally knowledgable of all the menu selections and had a cheerful and friendly attitude.

I found out that room service is catered by the signature grill so of course I ordered from my room the following night. The service we were provided by room service simply blew me out of the water. Our server Raymond provided the same caliber of excellence we got from the dining room. He was very speedy - a huge plus for any room service. He was also able to answer all of my husbands questions about the wines on the menu that the phone operator could not and likewise had a pleasant and friendly demeanor.

Overall, this resort has amazing folks on staff and there is so much more reason to stay there than just the restaurant. I didn't even mention the pool, spa, golf or hiking! But instead of writing a book long review, I'll say this - Just Go!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StephanieSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
10.0 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing