We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue, Even Better People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Venue, Even Better People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

First, I would like to say that Starr Pass was a fabulous resort. The grounds, golf course and spacious lobby with expansive views were all quite impressive. Above the amenities was the staff and how friendly and helpful everyone was. One gentleman in particular who wasn't even in a customer service role, Robert from the Engineering Department, provided me with a ride in his service cart when he noticed me walking from the parking structure on a very hot afternoon. This type of service is what will keeping me coming back in the future. It is rare for people to step out of their role and help where help is needed. Thank you Robert and thanks to the staff for a very welcome stay at Starr Pass Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daveywavy1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,289
    476
    158
    62
    39
See reviews for
517
482
55
669
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

A huge resort and a typically good Marriott brand. Sine it is so big, it takes a little while to get to and from. But we did not mind it as the ambiance is very pleasing.Very friendly staff. Another Marriott touch. Where do they find so many friendly workers?? The gentleman at the front desk remembered my name the next day. Nice touch! We stayed here only two nights in May. Wished could have stayed a little longer just to try the restaurant Primo which had received great reviews. It was closed both of the days we were there.Our room was spacious and well appointed. The bedding was extremely comfortable. I wished the bathroom vanity was not so high. A little difficult for a short person to brush their teeth. The Signature Grill was an okay place to grab something to eat when on the run. What I did not like about this hotel was the parking. The parking is so far away. We opted for valet parking as we did not want to deal with the hassle of wasting time to go back and forth. All in all we had a very nice experience. We enjoyed the rural setting yet the close proximity to the city. When in Tucson we will go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anicka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I booked a suite here for a three-night stay in early June, one of the hottest months of the year in Tucson, so the rates were way less than during the peak season. Everything about this resort is really nice, and it would be hard not to be impressed with the property, if you’re traveling: (1) as a family on a luxury getaway, (2) among friends for a weekend of golf and leisure, (3) as a couple wanting a romantic stay with luxurious bedrooms and dining, or (4) for a corporate off-site party or team building extravaganza. I travel solo, and below are my observations for your consideration. [Disclosure: I am a Gold level Marriott Reward member].

* The staff gets an A+ rating: some of the most courteous hotel people I’ve ever met, and they ALL wanted to answer my questions.
* The suites are huge; mine consisted of four rooms worth of floor space. The bedroom was a good-sized king with a really nice bathroom (tub and shower separate). The suite add-on had a full dining table, Murphy bed, lots of couches and chairs, an alcove with a desk and another full bathroom. There were also two balconies, one of which seemed to be at least 150SF (corner of the building).
* If you're solo or a couple there’s no need to book a suite because there’s nothing to do in the “grand room” (i.e., other than the bedroom) unless you’re entertaining lots of guests. The one upside is that there’s no one making noise on that side of your bedroom wall.
* Room A/C (important in the summer) is easy to work. Just push on/off and set the temp you want.
* If you want to avoid outside noise, pay attention to what’s outside your window. There are five lodging buildings. Building #4, generally in the middle, is where the lobby and Salud bar/restaurant are. It has rooms facing either the porte-cochère (front) or the restaurant terrace (back). I would avoid this building if you want the most peaceful room. The terrace has a band which plays until 10:00 PM, plus people hang out there and chat for a long time after dark in the summer. Perhaps during the colder months the band is not there, don’t know for sure. Building #5 is on one side and #1 thru #3 are on the other.
* Buildings #1 and #5 many be the quietest but are the farthest away from the pools and Salud.
* I stayed in Building #3 facing the lazy river pool, which closed at 9:00 PM, so I had no problem sleeping, but I requested to be moved from a room in Building #4 that overlooked the entrance where all the cars pulled up.
* Get a room as far away from the elevators as possible.
* Regarding the “resort mode” in my title, just keep in mind that families and friends are here mostly for fun and festivity, and this often equates to a bit of people-noise. Kids, bands, Native American drum ceremonies, outdoor hang-outs on balmy nights … you know. I imagine many visitors stay here without leaving the property.
* The nightly valet parking charge is $25, not bad. Self-park is $10, but is covered by the $29 resort fee if you book a room (more on fees, below). The garage is really far away, and could take 5-10 minutes to walk there if you’re slow and/or located on the opposite side of the resort. I’m athletic, so that was no problem.
* The fitness center is in Building #6, along with the salon, UPS store and gift shop. It’s awesome. Just find the salon on level 3 (lobby level) and take the elevator down. In addition to lots of cardio equipment there are many machines to help you get the weight workout you want.
* I had dinner twice on the Salud restaurant terrace. Above average food was a tad pricey. Oh, and there’s a tequila drink called “Dark Monsoon” which you must try. Just get it … trust me. The more formal restaurant is Primo, where I didn’t dine but it sure looked nice and “upper crust-ish.”
* No free internet in the business center. You have to swipe a credit card for an initial charge, then the $$ pile up as the minutes of use go on. Bummer.
* In addition to the room charge, there were six extra fees and taxes that bumped my room cost up by over 20%. Uff! The rates were way down for the summer; I wouldn’t stay here during peak season.
* The resort location is quite far off the beaten path, so if you want to go anywhere off the property, nothing is within walking or biking distance. Downtown could be 10-15 minutes by car depending on traffic. San Xavier del Bac Mission is 25 minutes away. Sabino Canyon is 35 minutes. Mt. Lemmon is 1½ hours.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive, stay in a building away from the amenities, and get a room far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Good, attentive staff, excellent views of the city at night, plenty of entertainment for our child. could do better with parking. Slow internet, but came in handy, kept me away from work. Has a UPS store in the resort, so really there was no need for heading back into town.

Room Tip: The room doors are heavy with a self closing system, with that said, you might want to select a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great place to spend time in the winter. Did not want to go back east. look forward to returning next year. Did not have to leave resort as everything needed was on the property. Great golf course and awesome spa

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

played a round at their golf course-great course-great views-great shape- the best part of the day was talking to mac -the starter-he was knowledgealble and very gracious and funny-he made the whole day

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Wow. What a FANTASTIC hotel. Winding paths with little Quails scurrying around native cacti and succulents. Native American music playing softly as you walk around. So authentic to the southwest. Fountains for the kids to cool off in- my boys were thrilled! A lazy river, a couple of hot tubs. Restaurants were pricey but convenient. The Signature Grill was delicious for breakfast and lunch! Had a "Signature View" room with a balcony on the top floor. Can't recommend that floor enough! Overlooked the pools, etc. Cried when we left, can't wait to return! A wonderful experience for my family!

Room Tip: Room 6735 had the most perfect view of the pools and grounds with the hills in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcf0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
10.0 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing