We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Catalina BBQ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
“Catalina BBQ”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

After a round of golf it's brisket and sangria on the patio or in the bar at the Catalina BBQ. It's always delicious and a special treat is the pecan pie with cinnamon ice cream. We always look forward to seeing Kevin and Mia whose service is the best, more like going to a friends house than eating at a restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,309
    484
    160
    62
    40
See reviews for
524
489
56
682
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The desert, wide open space, hot arid climate, couple that with one of the most beautiful resorts not attached to the sea and you have Starr Pass Resorts. My wife and I spent five nights here in April and found the service friendly, professional and highly attentive. The cuisine is delightful and varied, though we don't play golf the course we saw looked in great shape! The best bit for us was lounging around the pool and drifting down their lazy river. We are going back in September which says it all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The BBQ at Catalina BBQ is amazing. The sweet potato fries and the pulled pork and beef brisket, served with multiple sauces, are wonderful, surpassed only by Kevin B.'s service. He remembered our names and food preferences even though we had last seen him almost 3 months ago! Add in the golf course view, and you have our favorite place to eat in Tucson.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The scenery surrounding this hotel was simply incredible...but nearly trumped by the service! Great resort and fantastic service from Cole - he went above and beyond to ensure we had a more than comfortable stay!
I will definitely be back for the food, drinks and scenic views - all topped off w/ superb service...thanks again, Cole!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beautiful grounds and quiet rooms. We stayed in a King room with a balcony for 3 nights while my husband attended a conference. Lots of restaurant variety, though I must admit Starbucks was our go-to coffee stop each morning. Staff was very accommodating about parking when a friend drove up for the day from the Phoenix area and again when we added a roll-away for 2 nights when our daughter arrived. The roll away was delivered before I could get back from requesting it at the front desk. It is a long walk from the guest rooms to the self-serve parking garage. I always felt very safe in the parking area. We hiked two great trails that take off from the resort. Lazy river was a bit lackluster and the slide was closed. We never tried the big pool, but others were enjoying it. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great resort. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. This is my 3rd time here since Jan. that should tell it all. I have to extended a special Thank You to Max, he was the best waiter at the Signature Grill.
I will be back again. Thanks everyone for making this special, it was also my moms 82 birthday.
Judy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for a business trip and look forward to bringing my Scottsdale family down here for a visit. Top of the line resort and over the top customer service. Be sure to stop by and have a drink from Kevin B. at the Catalina Barbeque Co. & Sports Bar. He is the best!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUPERMOMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
10.0 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing