We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing vacation even with grandkids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
“A relaxing vacation even with grandkids”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed star treatment by TRISK, JOE & CHASITY at breakfast each morning. Having some trouble with our portable DVD player, IT people ERIC & ERNESTO fixed the problem in time for our grandchildren to enjoy Frozen for the umptenth time. BRYAN BARTLETT , recreation director spent alot of time helping us arrange our visit,

We will definitely return to STARR PASS RESORT soon!

Room Tip: SOUTH SIDE, with the mountain and golf course view
See more room tips
Green Features: The Marriott is very environmentally friendly! Use of recycling bins in the room, changing sheets every 3 days, but willing to change your bedding more frequently if wanted.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,308
    482
    160
    62
    40
See reviews for
523
489
56
680
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff is friendly and welcoming. The resort location is quite beautiful and if you're a fan of golfing this is the place for you. The lazy river pool was delightful, but the margaritas seemed a bit watered down. For all of the many positives offered by the resort, this is not the place for a quiet, romantic getaway. I'm not sure if the large number of families with kids was a result of a summer promotion to attract business during the hot Arizona summer, but there were many little ones and teenagers running around (even at 1:00 am through the hallway).

We were in a standard room with a king size bed. The decor was not anything remarkable, but the bed was very comfortable. I did not experience the spa, but my son and daughter-in-law reported that their couple's massage was enjoyable. The in-house Starbuck's was a definite plus. A word of warning, if you have any physical impairments or lots of heavy luggage - do not use the self-parking feature. The parking structure is a fair distance from the lobby and you'll walk around 1/4 -1/2 mile through the resort from self-parking until you reach the lobby. The charge per day for valet parking is on par with other resorts I've visited and is less expensive than some markets like Boston, Chicago or San Diego.

One last huge plus for me - the lobby has fruited water stations where you can fill up a small-sized water bottle (they also have non-fruited water and one with jalapeno chunks infusing into the water). This resort could be a terrific destination during the shoulder season or winter for those who enjoy golfing or experiencing the natural beauty of the Tucson area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_T22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great stay at the jw marriott star pass over 4th of July weekend. They had their own private fireworks display for guests just as good as any public display. Service and staff very friendly. Food was good. Very clean place. Very family friendly. Water slide, lazy river, nice pool and spa.

Room Tip: Bring hiking boots. There are some great hiking trails right out the front door through the beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson43172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just beautiful and relaxing. Our first night we had dinner in Primo and it was amazing. Breakfast with Trisk every morning was a treat - she always remembered our names. We will definitely be back on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Look for one with a view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel/spa is a little off the beaten path in Tucson but it's worth the effort to stay there. It sits up on a hill so you get a great view of the area. The staff were top-notch and friendly and the rooms were excellent. There are also nice walking paths winding through the grounds and nearby hills. If you're looking for a relaxing retreat with great views, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon-Voyage-747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The food, service everywhere in the resort, and our room were fantastic! The cabana by the pool was worth every cent and our suite was huge and comfortable. Fabulous fireworks right next to the pool and the lazy river was great fun for all ages.

Room Tip: The suite was a great option to have privacy and entertain friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglover80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Negatives: We booked for a room that would sleep 5 people. Apparently that means to double beds (which would not sleep 2 adults comfortably) and a blow up air mattress (which we had to ask for twice) wedged between the dresser and the foot of the beds, leaving no room to walk. I inquired about upgrading to a suite, but was informed that they were no bigger as far as sleeping space went.The bath linens, which I expected to be large and fluffy at a 5 star resort, were small and scratchy. The staff at the front desk was great, but the staff at the pool and restaurant hostesses were horrible and condescending. Speaking of pools, one reason we booked here was the lap pool, as my son is an athletic swimmer. Unfortunately , that pool was inaccessible to him because he is not 18, even though I never saw a single guest utilize that pool during our entire stay. The other pools were ridiculously chaotic and not at all relaxing. The service at the pool were extremely slow (20min for a drink). Also, the way the resort is designed, we had to use 2 different elevators and hike through the lobby to get to the pool. The number of people traipsing through the gorgeous lobby area in bathing suits and flip flops with blow up rafts turned the 5 star atmosphere into a joke. Although we got a great rate on our rooms, everything else was VERY pricey, as expected (breakfast buffet was $25 per person, but delicious). I would have rather paid a flat $500 per night all inclusive then pay the same and feel like I was being "nickeled and dimed" to death.
Positives: The grounds were beautiful and the water pressure in the showers was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time to share about your recent visit to The JW Marriott Starr Pass Resort & Spa. We truly value your personalized perspective, and I sincerely apologize that your experience did not exceed your expectations. Thank you for detailing areas of opportunities for us to improve on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
10.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
10.0 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing