We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Staycation”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Me and my family decided to get away for the weekend to help celebrate my birthday. We had stayed here before and knew it was very kid friendly, which is one of the many reasons we wanted to come back. Our experience again only did not disappoint, it surpassed our expectations which was soley due to the excellent service we received from the staff. One person in particular went out of their way to make sure our stay was a little special. Nayaana at the front desk surprised us with a wonderful birthday dessert that was delivered to the room after dinner time. This type of thoughtfulness is what sets great service apart and is the reason w'll definitely keep going back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,333
    492
    165
    64
    44
See reviews for
539
498
59
695
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We enjoyed star treatment by TRISK, JOE & CHASITY at breakfast each morning. Having some trouble with our portable DVD player, IT people ERIC & ERNESTO fixed the problem in time for our grandchildren to enjoy Frozen for the umptenth time. BRYAN BARTLETT , recreation director spent alot of time helping us arrange our visit,

We will definitely return to STARR PASS RESORT soon!

Room Tip: SOUTH SIDE, with the mountain and golf course view
See more room tips
Green Features: The Marriott is very environmentally friendly! Use of recycling bins in the room, changing sheets every 3 days, but willing to change your bedding more frequently if wanted.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff is friendly and welcoming. The resort location is quite beautiful and if you're a fan of golfing this is the place for you. The lazy river pool was delightful, but the margaritas seemed a bit watered down. For all of the many positives offered by the resort, this is not the place for a quiet, romantic getaway. I'm not sure if the large number of families with kids was a result of a summer promotion to attract business during the hot Arizona summer, but there were many little ones and teenagers running around (even at 1:00 am through the hallway).

We were in a standard room with a king size bed. The decor was not anything remarkable, but the bed was very comfortable. I did not experience the spa, but my son and daughter-in-law reported that their couple's massage was enjoyable. The in-house Starbuck's was a definite plus. A word of warning, if you have any physical impairments or lots of heavy luggage - do not use the self-parking feature. The parking structure is a fair distance from the lobby and you'll walk around 1/4 -1/2 mile through the resort from self-parking until you reach the lobby. The charge per day for valet parking is on par with other resorts I've visited and is less expensive than some markets like Boston, Chicago or San Diego.

One last huge plus for me - the lobby has fruited water stations where you can fill up a small-sized water bottle (they also have non-fruited water and one with jalapeno chunks infusing into the water). This resort could be a terrific destination during the shoulder season or winter for those who enjoy golfing or experiencing the natural beauty of the Tucson area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_T22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great stay at the jw marriott star pass over 4th of July weekend. They had their own private fireworks display for guests just as good as any public display. Service and staff very friendly. Food was good. Very clean place. Very family friendly. Water slide, lazy river, nice pool and spa.

Room Tip: Bring hiking boots. There are some great hiking trails right out the front door through the beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson43172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Just beautiful and relaxing. Our first night we had dinner in Primo and it was amazing. Breakfast with Trisk every morning was a treat - she always remembered our names. We will definitely be back on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Look for one with a view to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel/spa is a little off the beaten path in Tucson but it's worth the effort to stay there. It sits up on a hill so you get a great view of the area. The staff were top-notch and friendly and the rooms were excellent. There are also nice walking paths winding through the grounds and nearby hills. If you're looking for a relaxing retreat with great views, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon-Voyage-747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The food, service everywhere in the resort, and our room were fantastic! The cabana by the pool was worth every cent and our suite was huge and comfortable. Fabulous fireworks right next to the pool and the lazy river was great fun for all ages.

Room Tip: The suite was a great option to have privacy and entertain friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doglover80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 130 in Tucson
870 reviews
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
13.0 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
10.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#5 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing