We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“People make the difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
“People make the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Last week I had some problems with my reservation using a popular internet booking service. I won't name that site directly but for the purposes of this review I will call them "not-so-niceline". I asked the people at the JW Marriott if they could help. Anyone in the hotel business knows I was asking the impossible. The people of the JW Marriott, specifically Frankie and Kaitlyn, made a difference for my family. They went above and beyond to help us. They had no incentive whatsoever to spend the time to solve a problem that I created. These are good people doing good work. If I could give them 6 stars, I would. Thank you Frankie and Kaitlyn!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    465
    157
    61
    36
See reviews for
506
475
55
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Starr Pass Resort was wonderful. The customer service in every part of the resort was top notch. From the concierge to the wait staff at the pools and the wait staff at every restaurant. Every person working here seemed genuinely happy to see us and make the experience enjoyable. We especially enjoyed breakfast on the patio of Signature Grill with Joe as our server. He was kind, polite, and friendly without being overbearing. Also, Marcos at Primo was a top rate server as well. Wonderful, relaxing experience!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We've been enjoying the Starr Pass resort since it first opened nearly nine years ago, but our most recent visit was one of the best - due to the level of service from the staff. As the staff has turned over throughout the years we've noticed a slight increase in the level of service. We were impressed with Rachel at Salud and her attentive and friendly service. We have had the pleasure of getting to know Rachel over the years and feel that she is an asset to the Starr Pass. She is always great with our children, going out of her way to make them feel special. We were also impressed with Jonathan and Trisk at Signature Grill with friendly and helpful service. Combine this great service with the convenient location to downtown, the UA, freeway, along with the beautiful mountains and nice resort setting, and we have one of our favorite hotels in Tucson for a staycation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at this hotel. Beautiful grounds and cool cacti. The room was very clean and modern. Dinner was nice but no kids menu on a Saturday night available. Just a kids buffet. Very fast and friendly check in and a very knowledgable concierge. Great summer rates.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joentg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

The beautiful surroundings speak for themselves as you drive up to this gorgeous resort, however, what really makes this resort a true gem are it's employees. Especially those who work in the Signature Grill. My family and I were not treated like ordinary guests, we were treated like family! We had the absolute best service. Here are the names of just a few people who made us feel completely welcomed, they were, Anita (the hostess) waiters: Max, Daryl, Joe, Martin and Jonathan. I really could go on and on about these amazing people, but I do not have enough space....We were beyond privileged to have met them all and we look forward to seeing them next visit!!
~The McDonald Family~

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACKIE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Resort is in a beautiful area, 9 nice walks in smells rustic the glass walls open for outside where burning logs are lite. Front desk very pleasant, it was a easy stay, our room was on the floor you arrive all the way down the hall... rooms where hot air was not that great, and beds not as soft as other JW, it was short stay didn't do nothing except sleep and hit road next morning. Will differently give another try.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fire860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad L, Guest Relations Manager at JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking time out of your day to highlight your quick trip. We appreciate your encouraging comments about the natural amenities in the area. . We appreciate the opportunity to learn about your experience, and forward to earning a five-star review on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Chad Lybrook
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for a Tucson swim meet and family weekend getaway.

The hotel is in a scenic valley surrounding by beautiful cactus covered mountains. The view from almost any room is hard to beat.

The slightly remote location from downtown Tucson largely contributes to this beautiful scenery, but also leaves you a bit stranded from any restaurants or other things in town (was a 20-30 min drive to our swim meet each day -- and a good 20 min from any decent restaurants. Without a car you'd be stuck eating at the hotel restaurant only).

Staff was all helpful, and rooms were clean and relatively new.

The surrounding golf course looked beautiful (although we didn't play, as it was 110F.

The outdoor scene was pretty hectic/crowded/crazy- perhaps because we randomly arrived on 'rodeo week' (or something like that, I was told). The lazy river and pools were overrun by locals and people there for the music/bands. Hopefully on any other week those outdoor facilities would be more serene.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
6.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
6.3 mi away
Casino Del Sol Resort
Casino Del Sol Resort
#10 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
13.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
10.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
9.9 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Address: 3800 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-5115
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#4 Green Hotel in Tucson
#4 Business Hotel in Tucson
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Family Hotel in Tucson
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Starr Pass Tucson Resort & Spa blends seamlessly into its tranquil yet animated mountaintop setting, as natural as the surrounding desert itself. Our resort in Tucson merges surpassing luxury and personal service with ample family-friendly recreation, an incredible array of dining options, three nine-hole desert golf courses, entertaining traditions, free Wi-Fi in the lobby and patio, plus supreme indulgences such as our Hashani Spa. Complementing the natural surroundings, our fabulous array of multi-level swimming pools, waterslides, lazy rivers, and dancing fountains are fun for all ages. With spectacular views, exciting activities for the entire family, and a landscape laced with nature trails throughout for hiking and biking, you'll make memories that will last a lifetime. Immerse yourself in our AAA Four-Diamond resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Hotel Tucson
Jw Marriott Starr Pass Resort And Spa
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa Arizona
Marriott Starr Pass Hotel
Marriott Tucson
Tucson Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing