We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Cute, Something Quaint.”
Review of Hifalutin

Hifalutin
Ranked #79 of 1,990 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
621 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
“Something Cute, Something Quaint.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I will admit, this restaurant first came to my attention while reading a travel magazine in our hotel room. I was looking for something memorable during our trip to Tucson. The name alone fit the bill.

I then read that the owners had a chain of sandwich restaurants and had always aspired to open something a little more upscale with a Western theme. The on-line reviews weren't too bad so we decided to give it a try.

There were not a lot of people in the restaurant when we went at an early hour, 6:00 pm. But it filled up quick. This small restaurant has an open kitchen surrounded by Western memorabilia tacked on the walls. They have a good sized bar and an outdoor patio although on this hot day no one was out there.

It turned out our server was on her first day of serving after formerly acting as a hostess. She knew the menu and had some helpful suggestions which is the way we like it. The special of the night was pot roast so two in our party ordered that. One other selected an old comfort food you don't see often on menus, beef stroganoff. The food did not disappoint with some doggie bags going home.

This was a comfortable, down home cooking kind of place that was exactly what our group was looking for. We felt we received good service, decent food and all at a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moearia, Owner at Hifalutin, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi KenVicLee,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are so glad that you chose us to be a part of your memories and that you enjoyed our pot roast. Please stop in the next time you are in Tucson, we would love to serve you all again soon. Have a great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    85
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Chuckwagon Old West Style”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Located just south of Ina on Oracle Road, this western theme restaurant is just as popular with locals as it is with visitors. On this visit, I switched from their standard Cobb salad to try their Old Pueblo bacon wrapped Mexican shrimp, and I was delighted with jumbo shrimp wrapped in crispy bacon with the spicy dipping sauce. It was served with "tortilla slaw" made with black beans, corn kernels, mixed with tart tomato salsa. Worthy of a detour!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustinaTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moearia, Owner at Hifalutin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Justina,

Thank you for coming back in! We are so glad you gave the Old Pueblo Shrimp a try and enjoyed it. We look forward to hearing from and serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“HiFalutin restaurant was fun, not hifalutin' at all!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We tried HiFalutin restaurant in Tucson, Arizona, and loved it. It was western-themed, but not overdone. The decor was tasteful--not your hokey skull heads and horseshoe stuff. The dinner was fantastic for the price--huge portions. I got the famous homemade meatloaf with garlic mashed potatoes and my husband got the chicken pesto pasta with artichokes and walnuts. Both were delicious. Again, not your ordinary western steak fare, although they had that, too. Servers in their cowboy hats were friendly, helpful with recommendations on the menu, and the place just had a good, friendly vibe. We were there as a couple, but I saw families with small children, grandmas/grandpas, business people in suits after work, etc. I really loved the entire experience and this place. My first time there, but I'll definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moearia, Owner at Hifalutin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi Keri,

Thank you and your husband for coming in! We are so glad that you enjoyed our meatloaf and chicken pesto pasta and that our servers were able to help with recommendations. We look forward to serving you both again soon! Have a great week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“good food, good atmosphere, good service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We enjoyed a nice dinner at Hifalutin! My husband had rib eye steak with baked potato, and I had the tenderloin with vegetables. We were both happy with our meals and the service. We enjoyed looking around at the décor of the place. Loved the western theme. Will be back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moearia, Owner at Hifalutin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hi DrSeus,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us! We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your meals and our service. We look forward to serving you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I found this restaurant to be just right for what we needed at the time. The kids' mac n cheese was not Kraft and it was DELICIOUS! The bread is mini blueberry muffins with yummy soft butter. Adult food was also good. Very friendly staff, especially that they let my 2-yr-old them cook the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YKM2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moearia, Owner at Hifalutin, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We're so happy to hear you enjoyed everything. Thanks for coming in to dine with us and taking the time to write your review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hifalutin also viewed

 

Been to Hifalutin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing