We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer good”
Review of Bangkok Cafe

Bangkok Cafe
Ranked #627 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No longer good”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We used to love this place - BUT - the last time we were there - late 2013 - it was terrible. The service was slow and confused and when we complained to the owner he was extremely rude. We ordered 5 dishes. The food was not properly spiced, overcooked and lukewarm. Not at all what we were expecting. I sent them an email complaining of our visit and never even got a response - which indicates to me that they don't care. We live in Tucson and will not be going there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great options”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Friends were in town craving Thai food. Bangkok Cafe was an excellent choice. Seafood was well presented. Vegetables were flavorful and crispy. Sauces were nicely-spiced. The person in the group who did not like spicy food was delighted. Those of us who like spice weren't as pleased. I'd like a richer spice flavor.

Helpful?
1 Thank AZMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great Food Strictly for Takeout”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nailbanger Here Again; We are still on hunt for the perfect Thai restaurant that has both great food, as well as great service. Here is the skinny, I had the Chicken Pad Thai, and my wife had the Green Chicken Curry that comes with Jasmine rice, we also ordered the Fresh Spring Rolls for a appetizer as soon as we were greeted by the server for our drink order,they never came to the table, she said they forgot to order it at the window? Most dinner range from $12-$17 & appetizer from $5-$9. We went on a Friday night as soon as they reopened for dinner at 5 PM and and we were the only people in the place. They apparently do a big takeout order business, as the Bar was full of takeout orders. The food was the best so far that we have come across in town, but the portion sizes are very small,even my wife had nothing left ,which never happens and the prices are as high if not higher than anyone in town. The takeout seems to be the bulk of business as service here is terrible. The have clean rest rooms and plenty of well lighted parking .Hours of operation M-F Lunch 11 AM -3 & Sat 12 -3 Dinner M-Sat 5 - 9:30, Closed Sunday

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Still The Best”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Revisited after 1 year..May 12 review.It is better than ever.Green curry chicken,Chicken & cashew nuts in spicy sauce with rice and prik nam pla washed down by cold Singha.It doesn't get any better

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jjdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food in simple setting”
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Good Thai iced tea. Tasty spicy deep fried trout. Good red panang curry with chicken. Good size portions. Good service. Friendly. Easy parking. Glad to find this restaurant while visiting Tucson.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank the_beez_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing