We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place”
Review of Franklin Museum

Franklin Museum
Ranked #25 of 287 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For more than 40 years, the home of the late collector Tom Hubbard has been the center of Franklin Automobile history. Featuring more than 20 antique and classic Franklin automobiles, as well as a collection of prehistoric artifacts collected by archaeologist Alice Carpenter, the museum is located in a quiet subdivision in the center of Tucson. Open publicly – Mid-October through Memorial Day weekend – Wednesday through Saturday; 10 am to 4 pm. Private tours available year-round; phone or e-mail for arrangements. Large groups are requested to call ahead.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
208 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Terrific place”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stumbled onto this place as the result of a little article in the paper. What a hidden gem. Not easy to find, so pay attention to the directions you are given. Wonderful old, vintage, well restored cars. An the gentlemen that let us in was a wealth of information. We spent a good 2 hours there, and could have spent much more time. Highly recommended if you like vintage cars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank elrobo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    15
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Once you find the Franklin museum get ready for a trip back in time. From what I am told this is the largest collection of Franklins in existence. I have been a couple of times and will certainly return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Classic Cars”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

There are three rooms full of Franklin classic cars. I had no background knowledge regarding the line of cars going in but the guys running the place setup a movie for you to watch before you tour the place. The tour guide will show you around and answers whatever questions you may have. I'm not really a big car guy so this wasn't necessarily the top highlight of my trip, but it's definitely worth the visit if you have an hour or so to kill. My eight year old also found the cars interesting and had plenty of questions of her own. Also it's very inexpensive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rayandgabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So many "Franklins" in one place!”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I owned a car collection, so we are naturally interested in all antique cars. it was great fun to see so many cars of one nature in one place. If you like old cars this is a must to see in Tucson. The location is not easy to find.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxury Cars of the Past”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Luxury car museum only by appt during its few open hours. Cars with rumple seats magnificently restored! Plenty of parking. Tour guide very pleasant and knows everything about these Franklin cars.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank almaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Franklin Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing