We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back for sure....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Ranked #12 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rising Sun, Maryland
1 review
“We will be back for sure....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This was an awesome place to stay. We loved the antiques and not being in a "cookie cutter" place. The attention to detail was great! We really took advantage of the in-room kitchenette (they even supplied the coffee and juice). We arrived very late and were readily accommodated! We will definitely return to The Big Blue House!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    34
    4
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
88
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great unique place to stay. It's like a b&b but with more privacy. The owners were great and there were lots of extras in the room plus a hot breakfast-not just muffins/pastries. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbrrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. We especially liked the seductive allure of the porch, which wraps itself about 3/4 the way around the house. Could sit there all day and read, write, chat, snack and enjoy watching the passers by - not to mention, Lazlow, the sweet kitty that'll sit on your lap and snuggle in if you let him! The room was clean, well-furnished and had the best raisin bread and other goodies available for a delightful continental breakfast. I hear they'll be offering full breakfasts very soon (check it out)! It'll be a little restaurant or dining room sort of thing, I think...They should call it "Lazlow's"...:-).

Room Tip: We liked the room we had on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

This romantic historic house is near downtown Tucson, the 4th Ave. arts galleries/restaurants/ clubs and the Univ. of Arizona. Each room is decorated differently. Ours was full of comfortable antiques; the room next to ours had a deco motif.

Our room came with a refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster oven and an ionized hot and cold water dispenser. The room came complete with utensils, bowls/plates etc. and packets of oatmeal (a variety) and teas (also a variety both caf and non-caf) as well as a refrigerator with juices, milk, yogurt and ground coffee. Lea, the owner, gave us a platter of fresh muffins, raisin bread and pastry each evening.

While most rooms have a private bath within the room, ours was three steps across the hall (we knew in advance). The bathroom and the rest of the premises were very clean.

Our room was one at the top. This was not problem for us but if you have a bad knee or use a cane, ask for a ground floor room.

The wrap around porch and the lounge chairs are a treat. The neighborhood is very peaceful and the porch is a lovely place to enjoy one of the specialty teas. Warning: if you like cats, Laslo the resident gray tabby, will love you forever. He hangs out on a porch chair during the day, hoping for some petting. If you don't like cats, he'll just ignore you. Laslo is a champion sleeper.

We really enjoyed our stay. It almost did not happen since in a senior moment I booked us online for December 23-24 instead of November 23. Lea, fortunately, graciously accommodated us at the last minute even though the previous room occupants had just vacated and she had to drop everything to prepare the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElPasoBirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I wanted a special place that truly gave my visiting German family a "flavor" of Tucson. This place was AMAZING: the house is a beautiful historic home that has been renovated with obvious love, the decor is tasteful, the setting is inspiring, and the owners are wonderful. They treated my family well. They have been coming to the United States for 20 years, but this was my German family's first time in Tucson. They said the Big Blue House was the best place they have stayed in all their 20 years. It had so much character, and felt as though you were coming home. Every room is decorated with a tasteful eye and with a lot of care. We enjoyed sitting outside on the porch in the evenings and talking, even eating a meal or two. It was a treat for me, too, just coming to spend time with them.

I liked that the was so close to both the University of Arizona, 4th Avenue, and downtown Tucson so they could walk, bike or drive to restaurants, shopping, museums, and more. They did a lot on their own in the nearby area, and Lea had great information and provided personalized recommendations to help them decide what attractions to visit.

I will recommend this place to anyone and everyone! I am a proud Tucsonan and this places does our community proud. Kudos to Ken and Lea!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Last weekend, I had to make a trip to Tucson for a training session. Even though I forgot to
call with my confirmation number and our room was cancelled, the owners still had a room available. We would gladly stay again. Loved the room and its mixture of antiques and Art Deco pieces. The owners were helpful and told us about the closest shopping and suggested a place to listen to live music. This was our first BedNBreakfast experience and it was great! Should the opportunity arise to visit Tucson again, this will be my first choice for a place to stay and next time, I will remember to call and confirm.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 513Lucinda513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

This house is beautiful and I wish there were more like this. The owners have transformed this great historic house into a fantastic bed and breakfast which really retains the feeling of a home. Our room was full of antique furniture, the bed was huge (as was the tv on the wall). Breakfast was provided every day via a little fridge in the room - juices, yoghurt, pastry, cereals, fruit. It meant you could have breakfast in the privacy of your room - in our case sitting at an oak chess desk and looking out onto the neighbourhood houses which are also very beautiful.
The location is excellent - walking distance to 4th ave and downtown as well as the university. I have to say I really enjoyed my 4 day stay in Tucson, it is a great funky place surrounded by breathtaking nature. The Big Blue House is not cheap - but it is absolutely worth it!

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teekake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#56 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn

Property: The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
Address: 144 E. University Blvd., Tucson, AZ 85705
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian Queen Anne built in 1899 and lovingly restored and remodeled into Tucson's most progressive eco-friendly boutique inn. Each private suite is unique with vintage furnishing. Eco friendly features such as a RO filtered water dispenser in your own in-suite kitchen.Perfectly located on the "University Bike Boulevard" a short walk to UofA and only 2 blocks "The cultural Center of Tucson" Historic Fourth Avenue... Check out our new University area streetcar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, HRS, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Big Blue House Hotel Tucson
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique Inn Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing