We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable places on earth.”
Review of Mira Vista Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mira Vista Resort
Ranked #55 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the most peaceful, relaxing and enjoyable places on earth.”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This review is long overdue. Looking for a relaxing weekend, we searched the internet for an enjoyable place to spend four days. As an afterthought, we clicked on "clothing optional" in Arizona while websearching and found MiraVista. We booked our stayed and upon arrival at Phx Sky Harbor, we were on our way. Upon turning down Wade road, we found our way to the entrance and soon we were at the office checking in. The staff (Brent) were very pleasant and helpful - since this was our first visit to a clothing optional resort, we were given a tour of the resort. After settling into our room, we ventured out to the pool area and began our new adventure. We were not disappointed! Everyone we met at Miravista was friendly and courteous - and we met quite a few people. Our initial apprehension with respect to being nude vanished away within mintutes. We found a perfect spot by the pool (under a large canopy) to lounge, relax and swim (with ample sunscreen). We enjoyed playing volleyball with our new found friends, soaked in both jacuzzis, worked out in the fitness room and took long walks around the property. In the evening at sunset, we ventured up to a viewing area with another couple and watched the sun set over "sombrero" peak with some munchies and good conversation. The rooms were very clean and very comfortable - included a TV and internet wifi for catching up on our emails. We experienced wonderful and courteous service at the restaurant - the food was delicious! Every staff employee at the resort made us feel comfortable as we were accomodated with anything we asked for; pool towels, drinks, etc. By the end of our visit, we did not want to leave! Thank you to all the staff and employees at Miravista who made our stay one of the best getaways we've ever experienced! We will return soon to this special place in the desert.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxtripaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    30
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
83
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Simply wonderful. The food was the best I have ever had at a clothing optional resort. I loved hearing about the history. Very relaxing. Be sure to check out the reduced rate for first time visitors, if it is still available.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Norwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

My wife and I spent a midweek day relaxing in the sun, and it was great. She's not fond of "rustic" clothing-optional resorts, but she was really impressed by Mira Vista. Next time we'll stay more than one day.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingScotNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

First time to a resort. Excellent service, nice clean rooms. Friendly staff, they even call you by your first name! Excellent prices. Excellent food. What more can I say, everything was Excellent!!! Met a few friends and the 3 of us decided it was the best day of our lives at this resort.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyInAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We have been to many, many nudist resorts across the world (30+) and Mira Vista ranks in the top 5 (maybe top 3!). Lovely casitas with pillow-top mattresses, pool towels provided. Each casita is a different size and layout. Ours was 31 and, while one of the smallest, it had a more private patio area -- you could see people go by but it wasn't on the main walking area. The exercise room was great - most nudist places do not have exercise rooms or they are bare (no pun intended) at best. Three pools (swimming, volleyball pool and conversation pool (body temp), and a hot tub. Well maintained grounds with catcus and blooming flowers. Excellent restaurant; fabulous food! They will cook to your request. The breakfast burritos is huge and tasty -- could be split. Breakfast also offered traditional eggs/bacon/pancakes and a lighter fare of yogurt/granola/fruit. Lunch was sandwiches (huge!), salads, etc. Dinner offered 3 or 4 choices each night -- tasty, lovely presentation. The staff was so accomodating - no questions asked if you wanted more pool towels -- and they always had a smile!! Entertainment in the lounge on the weekends; bar always open for indoor or outdoor drinks. Lovely reception area with sitting rooms and gift shop. Okay --- wel'll be returning!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kywood1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We decided to take a week away from the big city and head out to Mira Vista for a relaxing clothing-optional getaway. We weren't disappointed. Mira Vista is a charming, Southwest-style resort located in the quiet northwest corner of Tucson, AZ. The facility is first-class, and quite simply the nicest naturist resort we've ever visited.

Reservations were easily obtained by a quick phone call to the resort. Pricing options were carefully explained, as were the facility amenities. Massages are available on request; however, the exact day and time were not confirmed by Mira Vista staff until the morning of our arrival.

Upon arrival, check-in was easy and the staff was very friendly. We got a brief tour of the facilities and were sent on our way to enjoy our weekend. The facility is exquisitely decorated in traditional Southwest style and is very welcoming. Amenities include hot tub, swimming pool, large conversation pool (warmed to 98-99 degrees), water volleyball pool, lounge, dance hall w/ bar, restaurant, games, gift shop, fitness center, and even some historic buildings to capture a little of the Old West feel. The facilities were immaculate. All three pools were very well kept and clean, which is a testament to the attention of the staff, as our first night's stay was very windy and blew around leaves and such. The staff quickly had the pools cleaned out and ready to go for use the next morning.

Our room was a standard room. Nothing remarkable, but it was clean, freshly redecorated and had all the amenities you'd expect at a facility of this caliber...coffee machine, mini-fridge, AM/FM/CD player, cable TV w/ DVD player, and even a fresh supply of pool towels. No smoking is allowed in the rooms; however, each room does have an outdoor patio complete with furniture which could be used as a smoking area. Free Wi-Fi was available; however the signal strength in rooms farther away from the office yielded spotty connections at times.

The restaurant at the resort was fantastic. The food was delicious, and reasonably priced. Most breakfast plates were $6-8 and most dinner plates were $15 or so. The menu was slightly limited; however, we enjoyed a breakfast, lunch, and dinner that were each fantastic. Chef Gerard delivered 110% of our expectations. The wait-staff were very attentive and the food was delivered quickly and efficiently.

The pool area was immaculately kept and offers something for everyone. The conversation pool is wonderful for making friends and getting to know folks. The water volleyball pool saw regular use every day we were there between lunch and dinner. The locals were very welcoming and inviting at every turn. We spent the majority of our days by the pool and made some fantastic friends while there. We found the crowd composition to be mostly couples from their mid 30's on up.

The dance hall & bar were open on the Saturday we visited. Happy hour began at 4:00pm and the drinks were well mixed and reasonably priced. The place picked up after dinner and a DJ was on-site to spin dance tunes. The crowd was great and we had a blast.

We enjoyed a massage by Kristina which was a refreshing add-on to our trip. The massage room was small (one table), but clean and welcoming. Kristina was fantastic and quite skilled at erasing our tension and stress. The rates for massage are typical of most resorts.

The gift shop was small, but had a section to purchase small quantities of toiletries you may have forgotten. Also available were a wide variety of "Mira Vista Gear" - hats, shirts, and towels just to name a few items. Art pieces and Southwestern jewellery were also showcased at the shop.

Although not advertised on the website, the resort does have a few (approximately 5) RV sites with water and electric. The sites were all easily accessible; however the road leading into the resort was narrow at points and might prove slightly challenging to those with larger 5th wheels. That being said, there was one diesel pusher at a site and several 34+ ft. 5th wheels that appeared to make the trip without any problems.

All food and beverages at the facility can be charged against your room (including gratuity), which eliminates the need to carry around money or credit cards.

The only slightly negative experience we had was on our last day. When we called to make our reservation, we expressed a desire to stay on the grounds the entire day of our checkout. We were informed that staying past the checkout time on the grounds would incur a complete day's grounds fees, which we said was fine and indicated that we'd like to stay the entire last day and pay the fees. We assumed that we would be billed per our request; however, after we checked out of our room the last day, we were later confronted by "suspicious" resort staff and informed we would have to pay grounds fees for that day. Assuming we had already been billed per our request when we secured our reservations, we were somewhat confounded by the situation. Upon checking our bill, we discovered the reason the resort staff reacted "suspiciously" was that we had not been charged grounds fees for the last day, and I'm sure thought we were trying to "sneak one past them." Although the situation was a relatively minor inconvenience, and quickly resolved, it detracted from our "worry-free weekend" experience. In hindsight, I would have confirmed the last day's arrangement with the staff during my room checkout, since staying past check-out time seemed to be a non-standard situation. That being said, during the reservation process we very clearly communicated our desire to stay the entire last day and were disappointed at the omission and the ensuing misunderstanding.

Overall, we can't recommend Mira Vista enough for those looking for a quiet, first-class naturist resort. From the wonderful pool area to the great on-site restaurant, Mira Vista is definitely a place you can park yourself for any length of time and forget the outside world. If you haven't yet been, you're in for a real treat - see you by the pool!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveling_Band99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Though I have been a nudist for many years, this was my first visit to a resort.

The crowd was well mixed as to age, shape and quality of tan. Everyone was gracious. The facilites were clean, and well maintained with many activities going on at the same time.

I spoke with several people who were staying and they all praised the food and service. For the price, I don't think you could find a better place in Tucson.

  • Liked — Very up scale, clean and well maintained
  • Disliked — High day fee
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Horseshows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
777 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
14.5 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
8.9 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
12.0 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Vista Resort

Property: Mira Vista Resort
Address: 7501 N Wade Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9626
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#13 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mira Vista is an upscale clothing-optional resort that's a relaxing, stress-free escape from the world, yet so close to town. 14 Suites & rooms plus 10 condos for rent, full-service restaurant & lounge, 2 large pools, conversation pool, spa, Pickleball courts, fitness center, massage. Unique, historic 30 acre property with forever views and beautiful desert landscaping. Open to day guests. Casas at Mira Vista luxury condos for sale with some available for vacation stays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mira Vista Hotel Tucson
Mira Vista Resort Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing