We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Los Nopales

Los Nopales
Ranked #105 of 1,994 Restaurants in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a hole in the wall with fantastic food at very reasonable price. Homemade tortillas. Very down home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    43
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

No frills Mexican restaurant was very good! I had chimichanga and it was delicious! The service was very good. Decor was very poor and very diner like. But it's the food that counts! Definitely worth a visit when visiting Tucson.

Helpful?
Thank marcycrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great surprise”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

After a day of hiking we drove here from our B&B on the owner's recommendation. We were just too beat to go into Tucson. The kitchen dinette ambience was perfectly relaxing after our strenuous day and the dinner served as my benchmark for Mexican food for the rest of our stay in southern Arizona. I had tacos, and am still trying to figure out how they made those delicious, just right, crispy/chewy tortilla shells they used. My carne seca and machaca tacos were never matched through the rest of the good eating we did on our trip, regardless the price (during which I attempted to become a taco expert), and I had sampled quite a variety of pretty good tacos by the time we got home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

If you are in the Tucson area, especially in the vicinity of Saguaro National Park/West or the Sonora Desert this is the place to go for really good Mexican food. The food is done well, the people are friendly and the service is great. They obviously put their resources into the food and service and not the ambiance. But what the heck, you can't eat ambiance! May be a little tricky to find as it is in a small plaza, tucked away behind a laundromat off of Kinney Road. But ask a local, they can get you there. Whenever, we are in the area, this is a destination for us for at least one meal, more if we can make it happen. However, don't plan on going there on Sunday as they are closed. As one of the owners said: " Sunday is for God and family".

One word of caution: watch out for the folks on golf carts, the transportation du jour of a certain demographic in the area. They love to play chicken with people in real vehicles...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I had heard from several people that this was a good place to go. My husband and I were very disappointed. We thought the food was bland. We won't go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poudregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Los Nopales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing