We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, But Be Aware the Location is Far from Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Diamond Casino Hotel
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I'm a local so I REALLY have NO excuse, just don't make the same mistake I did. We wanted to stay overnight after Ron White's performance recently and booked the hotel thinking it was at the same site as the Theatre venue... not so, it's 8 miles away at the OTHER Desert Diamond Casino. Thankfully they provided a shuttle, but we were hoping to just 'stumble' back to our room afterward. I totally missed any reference to this on the Website.
That all being said, the hotel was very nice, the steak house good and the room spacious, clean and comfortable. The A/C was a pretty noisy, though, and when the airport is in north flow you're going to have airliners taking off directly overhead. Fortunately, TUS is not a hugely busy airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macotak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

I like this hotel and have stayed a couple of times. The rooms are nice, the beds are soft and the price is between $ 100-110. If you like to gamble great, but I enjoy the food and the room.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

It is fairly new, and we stayed during the week one night so it only cost $80 or so. Very nice looking, clean casino and hotel. Nice rooms, clean, large and comfortable. A couple dinning options although we didnt eat at any of them as we were only there overnight. The pool area looked very nice although it was too cold to swim. Casino had a non-smoking area which was nice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dgoinplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Girlz getaway golf and gambling trip was perfect except my friends gamble too much:) After a day of golf we settled into our very clean, quiet rooms at Desert Diamond that included breakfast. Girlz are members of the casino and as such get great discounts divided with roommate makes everything just perfect! We even got to sit outside and play cards by the pool before heading back home to husbands and house work :) Staff is always extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klassmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a great time at the Desert Diamond. Not only was the room clean and comfortable but we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast as well. The pool was delightful although at times there were too many children for my liking. I noticed, too, that security made rounds throughout the parking lot regularly. The front desk staff were amazing and provided us wtih directions to one mall we wanted to visit in he foohills (I only had a partial name). The evenings were nice sitting by the pool, the casino (atttached to the hotel) was rather nice for its size and I must remark about the delightful coffee shop around the corner from the front desk...awesome selection and good prices.

Room Tip: We used this as a base to shop, shop and shop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tucsonorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This was my first trip to the Hotel and Casino and I have to say that the amenities and accomodations are well appointed. The service at the front desk was great and the cleanlines of the property was awesome. The rooms are large and clean to expectations. The "Hotel bar" has a daily complimentary continental breakfast which was a great value add. My friends and I went to the buffet for dinner and saved money by making sure we were signed up with a players club card. The "steamship"(Prime rib) in the buffet was very good and worth the money its self. Every dealer in the casino had a great attitude and was willing to help you understand the game if it wasnt clear. Overall it was a great place to stay and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelGuyInAz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Went to Tucson on a business trip and needed to stay close to the airport. This resort offers light casino gambling, free breakfast, and very nice rooms for a decent price, under 99/night. Close to downtown, the hotel has a great steak house, gym, and a small pool and hot tub.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
Thank Balchuey_Huey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
938 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Tucson Airport
2 mi away
Best Western Plus Tucson Int'l Airport Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
2.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
2.1 mi away
Residence Inn Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Diamond Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Diamond Casino Hotel

Address: 7350 S Nogales Hwy, Tucson, AZ 85756-9641
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: £98 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Diamond Casino Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you’re looking for corporate accommodations, need to coordinate an unforgettable meeting, or just want to get away and unwind, Desert Diamond Tucson is the place to be! Newly renovated hotel guestrooms in 2018. Located away from the casino floor. Our hotel and conference center are inviting and packed with amenities to make you feel comfortable and relaxed throughout your stay. We have state-of the- art meeting spaces, a strong commitment to guest service, and a convenient location – just minutes from Tucson International Airport. Ready to kick things up a notch? Our casino floor is packed with the hottest slot machines, table games and friends who know how to have fun – just like you! When it’s time to eat, we have dining options for whatever you’re craving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Desert Diamond Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Diamond Hotel Tucson
Desert Diamond Casino Hotel Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing