We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rescue, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were originally going to stay only one night at the Catalina Park Inn but were able to call the day before and add a night. We're very glad we did because one night wouldn't have been enough to soak up the pleasures of this B&B. After a hot drive from Santa Fe, the inn felt like an oasis--quiet, airy, cool, and inviting. Cookies awaited us in the first entry, and Mark showed us around, pointing out the iced tea and guest refrigerator in the pantry and taking us to our spacious room. We stayed in the Oak room, which had a very roomy sitting area, a four-poster bed, flat-screen TV, desk, and closet. Unlike the bathrooms in many B&Bs, this one was roomy. It retained its period feel, but the owners had thought of modern needs, like a portable cart with shelves next to the sink to put our toiletries. There was also a closet with shelves in the bath. The breakfasts were fabulous and pretty to look at, with regional touches like cactus syrup for the French toast. Mark and Paul are wonderful company and create an upbeat welcoming feel as people gather for breakfast. They're founts of information about the sights in Tucson, and you'd never know that they've probably had to go over the information a million times with other guests! They've also done an amazing job of creating an attractive cactus garden in the large space around the house, with sitting areas and inviting groupings of native plants. The park across the street adds to the feeling of quiet and relaxation, and the walk to 4th St. is pleasant. All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
166
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Catalina Park Inn is well kept and tastefully decorated. Breakfast is good and the owners are kind. Walking distance from downtown Tucson in a quiet neighborhood. Lovely landscaping and lots of birds.

Room Tip: We like the privacy of the Cottage Room and the Bower Room located in the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flagstaffdjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Mark and Paul have created such a relaxing, warm environment that we extended our stay and drove right from there to the Phoenix airport to catch our flight home. Convenient to freeways, funky restaurants and shops; lots of comfortable indoor and outdoor rooms we were welcome to use; friendly hosts and fellow guests; delicious breakfasts; .... in short it was great!

Room Tip: We were in the Oak Room - our own oasis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ-PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Catalina Park Inn. We stayed there for four nights. The home was very elegant, and tastefully decorated. There was plenty of room to lounge around in the house as well as enjoy the outside of the home, in one of the many sitting areas, amidst tastefully arranged cacti gardens. Freshly baked cookies were provided every afternoon, and every morning a delicious as well as visually stimulating breakfast was served. The hosts Mark and Paul really seemed to enjoy their guests and spent time interacting with them, although it was in no way overbearing. They are interesting people and it is obvious that they have many years experience in meeting travellers needs. The B&B is also conveniently located to 4TH Avenue, close to many restaurants. We would definitely stay with here again when in Tucson. It was one of our best hotel or B&B experiences, and we travel a lot.

Room Tip: The room in the basement doesn't feel like a basement. It has lots of light, is huge with a kin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

My 10 year old daughter had never stayed in a B & B before, she loved the homemade cookies, fabulous breakfast, and getting to eat at a big table full of friendly people.
The home is in an extremely convenient location, close to the freeway as we'd driven from Phoenix, but in a very nice and cozy neighborhood. It's clean, interesting, has lots of charm, and the hosts are very accomodating and professional.
We took advantage of the last minute rates and it was well worth it. Catalina Park Inn is the first B & B I've stayed at in Tucson, I have stayed at many others elsewhere, and don't feel the need to even check out any others in town. We look forward to our next stay.
Jenna Lillibridge
Any Rat Rescue Director

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We were referred by friends who had stayed at Paul and Mark's a couple of years ago. They had stayed in the Catalina room in the basement so we asked for the same. It was exactly what we needed at the time with a jetted tub, lots of room and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was french toast with strawberries and sausages. The coffee was hot and welcoming. The house itself it very charming and clean. Paul and Mark are very gracious hosts and helped us navigate our way around the city. We highly recommend it. David and Collette

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dherman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

My daughter and I had a lovely stay with Paul and Mark. The inn is centrally located, quiet, and charming. The breakfasts were delicious~really made with love. I will definitely stay with them every time I travel to Tucson!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.5 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#56 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 309 E 1st St, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson > West University
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927 as the residence of a prominent Philadelphia family, this stately historic-district jewel is a testament to quality craftsmanship of a bygone era.As a Bed & Breakfast Inn, we continue the tradition of attention to detail. Whether you are traveling to Tucson for business or pleasure you will find Catalina Park Inn offers a high degree of comfort, privacy, and friendly service in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. Ideal location near the Fourth Avenue and Congress Street entertainment and dining district. Four blocks away is a light rail stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Park Inn Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing