We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-Town Sweetness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mid-Town Sweetness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

An utterly charming Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the university neighborhood. The rooms are delightfully decorated and quiet. Mark and Paul are the best hosts and the breakfasts are to die for! Within walking distance to funky Fourth Avenue and a bit further to the University of Arizona. The grounds are lovely with cactus and other native plants that add to the charm and tranquility. It really doesn't get any better than this - if you like old world charm and eschew the chrome and plastic of lesser hotels, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
33
167
30
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden Valley, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Very enjoyable visit for our first time in Tucson. Loved the East room with the patio, enjoying the morning sunshine. Wonderful breakfasts, and Mark and Paul very helpful, of things to see and do. Suggested neighborhoods areas to wonder. We were certainly go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

I really love the ambiance and eclectic decor of this old house, which makes for a very relaxing, peaceful experience.
A plate of freshly made cookies will greet you in the afternoon when you walk through the front door into the parlor, with the faint chime of a clock & classical music in the background.
The grounds are a lush xeriscape, with various fountains adding a tranquil touch.
In the mornings, we dashed madly home from our bike rides, in anticipation of sitting down in the beautiful dining room, sipping coffee and partaking in an amazing breakfast! (the "sides" - homemade scones with chutney, coffee cake, etc., were terrific as well)
Paul and Mark are terrific hosts & make their home so warm and inviting- I can't wait to return in the Fall!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elainej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I visited here for the first time in May of 2013 for a business trip and wished I was traveling for pleasure. Catalina Park is beautiful and relaxing, hosts Mark and Paul are incredibly welcoming and attend to their guests needs. Catalina Park is just what I look for when away from home.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness center but located in a very walkable part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMorris2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Mark and Paul have created the most unexpected, sweet, and serene little oasis in Tucson. We stayed in the Cottage Room, which has its own entrance, and a lovely outdoor sitting area. We were in town for a family celebration, and spent much of our time away from the B&B, participating in large group meals, activities, etc. Each afternoon or evening, we were so happy to return to the peace and quiet of the Catalina Park Inn. Mark and Paul managed to be around whenever we needed anything, but never obtrusive. At some B&Bs, I've gone through the motions of chit-chatting with the hosts, and really looked forward to being left alone... not the case with Paul and Mark; It was truly enjoyable to spend time with them.

The breakfasts were incredible. You might want to go for a run or bike ride (you can borrow their bikes) or something beforehand, though... these are some decadent meals! Breakfast bread pudding with prickly pear syrup? Yes please! Also, the lemon lime cookies offered at check-in are not to be missed!

Great value, great location, super comfortable bed, awesome location...this one is definitely a keeper.

Room Tip: We loved the Cottage Room. Great to have the privacy of your own little casita, and the outdoor seat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmFu77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Three night stay in this lovely inn. Accommodations, hospitality, convenience and facilities were excellent. The owners went over expectations to satisfy us with a most pleasant stay.

We have a small well behaved dog that enjoyed the private walled courtyard as much as we did.

Would return to this Inn again and recommend it to anyone staying in the Tucson area. Not so incidentally, the food is gourmet!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Lovely and convenient accommodations. Our room was well-appointed and spacious. The grounds and gardens are exceptional and full of life. Mark and Paul are great hosts, and the breakfast is outstanding! Both are generous with sharing information about local restaurants, sights, and events. Fellow guests contribute to a convivial atmosphere and lively conversation. We are looking forward to returning when we come back to Tucson to visit friends and attend select events.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
0.5 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#57 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 309 E 1st St, Tucson, AZ 85705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson > West University
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1927 as the residence of a prominent Philadelphia family, this stately historic-district jewel is a testament to quality craftsmanship of a bygone era.As a Bed & Breakfast Inn, we continue the tradition of attention to detail. Whether you are traveling to Tucson for business or pleasure you will find Catalina Park Inn offers a high degree of comfort, privacy, and friendly service in an environment that reflects the quiet elegance of an earlier time. Ideal location near the Fourth Avenue and Congress Street entertainment and dining district. Four blocks away is a light rail stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Park Inn Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing