We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

great homemade breakfasts while watching birds through picture window-Mica room well worth the extra price-hosts very friendly with good travel and sightseeing advice-don't miss the cactus farm down the road

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

I knew the Mica room was nice when I booked it, but was still blown away upon our arrival. . The bedroom / sitting area / Kiva fireplace / bathroom were all huge and extremely tasteful in a Southwest flavor. This used to be the master retreat bedroom before the owners built the 2nd story on top. The breakfasts were homemade masterpieces, and the advice on what to do and where to go for dinner were right on target for what we were looking for. Will definitely include Desert Trails in our future Tucson plans.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qesdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
226 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

Oh so cozy in the desert!!

If you're in the TUCSON area and dream of a quiet, restful oasis > CALL JOHN & STEFFI!!

Terrific, comfy room on the edge of the park and you are certainly made to feel like a member of the family .. ..

JOHN cooks a terrific breakfast and you can easily lose track of time as you gobble down John's morning specialties and chat with your neighbors .. ..

A GREAT TIME > THANKS JOHN & STEFFI =))))))

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

My wife and I stayed at DT B&B for three nights. We used it as a base for site seeing in the Tucson area. Our experience was wonderful. The Innkeepers, John and Steffi made us feel so comfortable and we felt like family that had come for a visit. Even though John was a willing conversationalist, he usually waited for us to initiate the conversation in case we just wanted our privacy. The DT was just the right size just a few guest rooms and separate guest house. The part of the house for guests afforded us our privacy and gave the Innkeepers theirs. Our room was spacious and comfortable. we had a nice view of the rear yard, patio and pool.
The breakfasts were wonderful ! ! ! The scenery was very southwest, which we loved. The B&B is just far enough outside of town that we felt like we were on a ranch, but were within 20 minutes of commercial conveniences. There were plenty of good places to eat.
We went horseback riding in the National Park across the road from DT. There is a horse ranch just through the B&B's backyard. No need to drive we just walked over.
We highly recommend the Desert Trails B&B, and hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldMike4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

We enjoyed a lovely stay at Desert Trails. The location is excellent. Quickly you can reach Saguaro National Monument, Kartchner Caverns, and many other natural landmarks. Our hosts provided very comfortable beds, cold drinks, tea and coffee, and a variety of treats. Breakfast was excellent with a delicious selection of breads and jams, cereals, yogurts, made to order eggs, ham, and vegetarian sausage for our vegetarians. Loved everything!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingGrandmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Oh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

My wife and I stayed here in Sept 2010. After much research I choose this B&B based on reviews and it's close proximity to the Saguaro National Park. We wanted to do some hiking in the park and found the East entrance was only 5 minutes down the road. After hiking all morning in above average temps we returned to use the in ground pool and patio area. We found the pool and patio area very refreshing.
Our room, Happy Valley was very comfortable and all we needed. It has it's own full bathroom. There is a large living room that is open for guest use and there is a pile of material on the coffee table for local restaurants and attractions. Our host John and Steffi were also a wealth of information and enjoyable to talk to.
The dining room is large with various bird feeders hanging outside the windows with a variety of birds to entertain while eating. And to top it all off, John prepares wonderful breakfast. For someone who likes to eat, I found them very filling. There are also snacks that sit out on the counter just in case you get the munchies.
We found the desert setting perfect for what we wanted. If ever we return to the area, I would definitely book here again.
The only complaint would be the sign out front is difficult to see when approaching and especially at night.
Mike and Nancy

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mastermind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

We had fun times. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Maps were provided and good advises given for planning the day. Breakfast was always a delight. We had a pretty and clean room with a spacious bathroom. The location is great and very close by the National Park. We can fully recommend this place to anyone! We'll for sure be back when being in town.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Senor_Chang_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
11.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#30 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
13.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
12.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12851 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7136
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Sonoran desert from the comfort of a unique, fired-adobe territorial situated on acreage bordering Saguaro National Park East. Different delicious full breakfast everyday and complimentary snacks, fruit, and beverages. Hiking, birding, wildlife viewing and horseback riding within walking distance; dining and shopping within 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Trails Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing