We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel at home here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Feel at home here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently while we were visiting her sister who lives nearby. We only stayed one night, but that was enough to earn our recommendation. The room was lovely and spacious. We were the only ones there that night. As previously mentioned, John was friendly but not intrusive. We were allowed to check in at 11 AM. We were leaving Tucson and my sister in-law and her husband the next morning, so we asked John if they could join us for breakfast before we left. He accomodated us without any problem for a modest additional fee. He gave us detailed directions and map of the best way to get out of town. We have nothing but good things to say about our stay here!

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcel175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
58
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed here October 19-24, 2012, and had a great stay stay. The owners were friendly & welcoming. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was hearty and delicious and different each day. The B&B is on the far east side of Tucson, right across the street from the National Park—so dark, quiet, starry nights, and easy National Park access for running/hiking. It is a bit outside of town though, so it requires 10ish minutes of driving to get to nearby restaurants, etc. Right next door is a horse ranch where they offer horseback tours into the Park and bonfire dinners. We spent 2 nights in the Spud Rock room and 3 nights in the Guest House. Both spaces were clean, comfortable & cozy. I LOVE this place!

Room Tip: I’d highly recommend the guest house, especially if you are traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

In october 2012 we stayed at this beautiful B&B for 7 nights. From the very first moment till the last breakfast we felt welcome and at home. There is very good atmosphere everywhere in this house. We had booked the Mica Room. This room is absolutely outstanding, big and warmly furnished. The bathroom is very spacious. The whole house, the garden and the desert surrounding are an absolute highlight if one is looking for a quiet and nice place to relax. John and Steffi (german speaking) are wonderful hosts. Every morning John is preparing a new creation of his homemade breakfast. Let you surprise, you will not be desappointed. John and Steffi know a lot about history, biology (animals and plants) and planets, so do not hesitate to ask them. We learned a lot.
We will remember our stay at Desert Trials for ever and hope to return back one day.
A couple from Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at Desert Trails for several days in July '12. We found John exceptionally helpful and accommodating when we were planning our trip and the perfect host when we were there. He was friendly and chatty and made us feel welcomed and that our business was valued, but he was absolutely never intrusive. As is clear from the web site, the house is about 10 minutes away from commercial establishments in what feels like the middle of nowhere. (It is actually very easy to get around.) The public areas of the house are lovely and well appointed. There were lots of books about Arizona around the living room, breakfast room and bedrooms and they had multiple copies of Arizona atlases which they offered out on loan. The pool area was lovely and the beautiful grounds are full of birds and lizards and of course lush desert vegetation but there are no mountain views.

We stayed in the Spud Rock room which had both pros and cons. The room itself was fresh, clean, well lit and large enough. We appreciated the sliding door to our own sitting area but do know that it looks out onto a brick wall and that even with the curtains drawn the early morning light comes streaming in.The bedroom felt more like a bedroom in a house with tired, not very interesting decor but the bed and bedding were astonishingly comfortable. The bathroom was huge, with two sinks in a wrap-around counter and a separate room for the toilet and shower. The water pressure was great and both parts of the bathroom were immaculate. The bathroom would be improved by the addition of a towel hook next to the shower. The towels were rough and itchy, it didn't bother us at all but I mention it since some people care about having fluffy towels. We loved that snacks and drinks were available at all times and that we had free use of the guest refrigerator.

It was exactly what we wanted in a Bed and Breakfast, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texxtiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Spud Room with its large bathroom and very comfortable bed. It is a beautiful bed and breakfast in a quiet, desert setting. Just what we were looking for and more! John was the perfect host and cooked delicious breakfasts each morning and helped us choose great activities and excellent restaurants. We felt so comfortable at Desert Trails and it is probably the best B & B we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in several B&Bs in the US and in Europe. If you are traveling to the Tucson area, you should really consider staying at Desert Trails. You will be glad you did!

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AWinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed here in january because of its proximity to a great riding stable next door. We were able to walk right out the back gate to the property next door for an afternoon of horseback riding, then had dinner at a nearby steakhouse and crashed into a very comfy bed for a great nights sleep. we awoke to Johns pancakes and sausage for breakfast which were very good. We shared some great conversation and a few great memories. I would definately return.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thebigeasy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Desert Trails was just right for us. Near a downtown (20 minutes) but a the end of a rural road. Sophisticated home base (great breakfasts, very comfortble bed, working fireplace, small pool) with the attractions that brought us to Tucson next door (a stable, with the horses visible through our window; hiking in Suarjo national park almost accross the street.) Add to this John's humorous, balanced personality and you have a great retreat in the desert.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
11.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#30 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
13.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Hacienda del Desierto Bed and Breakfast
12.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast

Property: Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12851 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7136
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the Sonoran desert from the comfort of a unique, fired-adobe territorial situated on acreage bordering Saguaro National Park East. Different delicious full breakfast everyday and complimentary snacks, fruit, and beverages. Hiking, birding, wildlife viewing and horseback riding within walking distance; dining and shopping within 15-20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Trails Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing