We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Timeless elegant gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arizona Inn
Ranked #4 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Timeless elegant gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for our honey moon night and had dinner with our small wedding party at his lovely, elegant and charming hotel. First, we were upgraded from a deluxe room to a deluxe suite with a lovely fireplace, excellent seating arrangement for our guests, a complimentary bottle of a very nice champagne and lovely art and books etc. to enhance the charm of the room. Our bedroom had a lovely bed, and yes and a very quiet ambience resulting in a very restful sleep. The bathrooms is large and elegantly appointed with great shower pressure.

We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant. Everything was perfect. Six people all ordering different food, each dish as appreciated as the other. Service was attentive, respectful and spotless. We even had the maître d come afterwards to congratulate us and offer us a complimentary dessert. We opted for after-dinner drinks and sat in the lovely lounge listening to the piano player. We had breakfast coffee in the little (very private) patio area of our casita and enjoyed the warmth, flowers, greenery and peace while sitting in our hotel bathrobes and slippers. This place is an absolute must to experience . We have vowed to return each year on our anniversary. I can't say enough about how attentive to details the staff is and that Tucsonians are so fortunate to have a little piece of paradise right in its downtown!

Room Tip: I think every here is excellent. Book directly with the hotel, let them know your requests, they wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    111
    21
    19
    9
See reviews for
143
289
38
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I have spent five days at the Arizona Inn every February for the Rock and Mineral Show for over a decade, and now we've started going in November for the Astro-imaging conference. We love it because it can have an Eden-like quality of quiet and refuge and beauty. It reminds us of English country house hotels at their best. The service is personal and gracious, the grounds lovely, the rooms large, all the public spaces very attractive. most of the guests are baby boomers or older, although on weekends especially there are families with small kids who make the swimming pool loud and rather unpleasant.

BUT. The management misses very big things.

Number one is security. they do not warn guests they are in a high crime area, and that the inn parking lot across the street is regularly vandalized. They do not spend money on proper security or a guard. Or even a sign to warn guests it is a high crime spot and to leave nothing in the car. It wouldn't look nice. All they have a small sign saying that the hotel is not responsible for things left in the car.

Here's the worst: when we asked bell service to help us put some heavy things in our car the evening before departure, we were not warned not to do so. the car window was smashed and everything stolen. the security guard who came to help us clean the broken glass said he left his own car there for 30 minutes Christmas morning and had it vandalized. the manager did not come out to check on us or apologize. I wrote him a letter asking them to comp us for one nights stay our next visit, or at least a dinner - we stay in a deluxe room and eat every meal there and run up a tremendous bill for five days stay. The answer was no. I haven't really gotten over this , and have never fully enjoyed staying there ever since (my husband loves it or I would stay elsewhere).

The second big problem is having very noisy children in a small, quiet hotel that caters to older adults.

This visit there were three or four families who knew each other with a dozen small children, who took advantage of the Inn's safe environment to sleep in and let their children run wild. And I mean wild. During breakfast at the outdoor café, we were swarmed by the kids back and forth and back and forth the entire time, trying to catch a feral cat that was begging from guests.

The hotel should not have a feral cat hanging out, with the potential to scratch a child or other guest. they should ask guests not to feed it. they should not allow kids to rampage through the restaurant. it cannot be up to guests to ask other people's children to stop running and shouting and surrounding your table. they should not allow parents to have small kids unsupervised in the public parts of the hotel. the kids and their parents were also running past the rooms yelling to one another before nine in the morning.

my husband approached the manager to see if they had a quieter room for our next visit. the manager complained about the children himself and said, what can you do, you can't tell people how to raise their children.

this is so patheticly irresponsible. his job is not to tell parents how to raise their children, it is to tell disruptive guests that the hotel expects them to respect the other guests. this is not rocket science. it is basic.

I am not interested in paying this kind of money and have the stay made unbearably noisy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank H T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
382 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Arizona Inn in Tucson is a first-rate inn, one with a friendly home-like attitude. It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. From the reception to the staff at every level you are greeted with a friendly and easy manner and style. Folks help you with your bags from the curb to your room - and help you navigate the pathways that go everywhere on the grounds of the inn. Here you will find ping-pong outside, a pool exercise room, internet all around, comptuers in the lobby area to print out boarding passes and a very good restaurant, bar, comfortable outside seating and meetings rooms of variuos sizes.

Again the bed was remarkably comfortable and there were exceptional pillows. The bathroom was spotless. Water bottles appear in your room, a new one each day. A little chocolate mint appears each night when your bed is turned down.

A very nice feature is a bar area that serves a rather broad menu quite late. It is unlikely that you will arrive here and not be able to find something good to eat. The main restaurant is very good with many selections and a professional efficient staff.

This is a warm and friendly place and folks here do what they can to make you feel at home and take care of any need that you have.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

What did i like best? The absolute peace and quiet. I have stayed in some incredible places but rarely ever achieve a deep nights sleep. Isn't that what it's all about? No amenity can replace a restful night. The rooms are separate little casitas. No connecting wall to your neighbor. Quiet peaceful ambience! Rabbits playing on the grass under the grapefruit trees. Very comfortable beds and pillows. In addition the history you feel around you gives you a sense of something greater. There are old(and some new) books everywhere. Ask the front desk for a copy of the book "Arizona Inn". The staff and other guests are friendly. Be sure to get the tripadvisor upgrade!

Room Tip: Use the upgrade from trip advisor Room 407 has a private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnaj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

I'm going to get this out of the way...The Arizona Inn is an old hotel. If you are looking for a southwest spa destination, look somewhere else. If you are looking for a unique, historic location, this is your place. We were in room 134 a ways from the lobby. It has is own private patio with lounge chairs for sunning and relaxation. The room was small, but acceptable. If anything it encouraged us to wander the beautiful grounds and hang by the pool! The staff is top notch.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I can't remember the last time we stayed at a hotel where every person who worked there was over the top kind and looking to make our visit so enjoyable. On our way out to our car after a 2 night stay the bellman whipped out 2 chilled waters for our drive.
The first room they helped us to was not what I had been imagining from all the reviews I had read. I mentioned it and the bellman was on the phone and asking for another room!!!! Second room was amazing with our own little patio, lots of windows and natural light, a screen door, a writing desk, and a wet bar.
Love that no cars are allowed on the property as there are no car doors slamming in the early morning.
We could sense the history of the movie star days and the dancing under the stars.
They did have coffee set up in the morning.....wish they would just throw in a scone or pastry.
Thanks to the amazing folks who work at the Arizona Inn....

Room Tip: Ask for one in back by the pool....they all seem to have patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novatoirish6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Loved this local spot. If you want new this is not the spot. But perfect spot to stay for night while we toured the University. Our room was cute and clean. This hotel is living history. Pool area lovely and very relaxing. Wish we would have stayed another night to enjoy all the resort has to offer. A big plus was each night the hotel offers a complimentary sundae bar. Love this idea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlington30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
15.9 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 128 in Tucson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Property: Arizona Inn
Address: 2200 E Elm St, Tucson, AZ 85719-4395
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson
Arizona Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing