We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Charm- a Gem!”
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arizona Inn
Ranked #4 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Sammamish
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Charm- a Gem!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Wow! What a surprise the Arizona Inn was! The hotel is 80 years old and has been in the same family for generations. When you pull up it is not impressive from the outside. It is a simple stucco looking hotel. When you enter the hotel you are in such a classy, fabulous hotel that feels more like a mini resort. The grounds are immaculate. There is ping pong, crochet, badminton, tennis courts and a gorgeous large pool. These activities are dispersed throughout the resort. The grass is manicured, the flowers and plants gorgeous. They take great care of this place. The main building has an elegant but comfortable library for free coffee in the morning, tea in the afternoon or just to hang out by the fireplace. They make you feel at home and everything is included. They have a lovely restaurant with casual or more formal dining but I think it is the same menu. Lots of choices and very good food. We were there with my kids ages 10 and 15 as well as the grandparents. Everyone was happy. It is family friendly and people of all ages were there. We were there over Christmas and we found that many of the guests have been going there every Christmas for years. The rooms are all very different from each other. Our room was huge! It had a large private patio off the back with nice furniture. The decor was classic four poster beds, a sofa that opens to a bed and even with an additional rollaway we had a ton of room! The grandparents were right next store in a smaller room but just as lovely. The staff is great and we loved it! I would go back again in a heart beat. You felt at home, there was lots to do and it is gorgeous! So much fun!

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces- and all rooms are very different. Ask about options and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    117
    22
    19
    9
See reviews for
154
309
40
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our family has stayed at the Arizona Inn for every visit to Tucson since the 1930's. After six years away this time, we were thrilled to find that it is as wonderful as ever, in every way. The food is excellent, blending traditional offerings with newer ones. The rooms are cozy and well-appointed and some have private patios for sunning or reading. The services, staff and amenities are terrific, and make for an unforgettable time. The grounds and public areas such as the pool, dining room and library are simply beautiful, especially during the holidays. For us, it truly felt like a homecoming.

The Arizona Inn was established by "trailblazing" Arizona stateswoman, Isabella Greenway and is still owned and operated by her descendants. it offers a unique hotel experience. This is a four-diamond hotel, however, you will not find "cookie-cutter" corporate luxury-- such as that which you'll get at the major chains such as the Ritz-Carlton (though very nice, if you've seen one...etc)!

This hotel has character and although very elegant, it is also charming and welcoming. The newer mega hotels, spas and resorts that have come to Tucson in recent years simply can't hold a candle to what the Arizona Inn has to offer. It is small, by comparison, but if anything that you would like to do, to see or to experience in Tucson is not available in-house, they are happy to connect you with the best activities and services in town.

Though this was a family trip this time (we just couldn't get the eleven year old out of the pool), this hotel is perfect for couples or just a relaxing getaway.We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Book early for a good selection that suits your needs. The hotel staff will be happy to advise you o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We didn't stay at the inn, but we did have lunch by the pool and enjoyed a swim afterwards. The food was fabulous. I had the chicken salad served over greens and surrounded by fresh fruit- some of the best raspberries, cantaloupe and honeydew melon I've had on a fruit plate- soft and flavorful. I also tasted the Brussels Sprouts served with a goat cheese Panna cotta. The Panna cotta was smooth and delicious, and the Brussels sprouts were perfectly cooked with a balsamic glaze. The service was very slow; they seemed under staffed. We waited over 30 min for our food. The pool is great - lots of comfy lounge chairs and fluffy towels. I'm surprised they did not have a lift for people with disabilities as the law now says they must. And the wheelchair access to the bathroom is not marked; I had to hunt for it out a door, around a path. There is an accessible bathroom stall, but not an accessible shower stall. That also seems illegal. The Arizona inn is simply beautiful- lots of lush orange trees and perfectly groomed grass courtyards. Probably not great for the environment, but quite an oasis.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abh345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayson, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was truly an oasis in the desert. The campus was a lush green grass and the gardens although designed with desert flora were just as lush. The staff were totally helpful while being personable and descrete. We enjoyed just walking around within the confines looking at the gardens. The rooms were well appointed with many period pieces and quite comfortable. The only problem we found was that the food was not as good as the surroundings. It was overpriced and, in some cases , underdone. We ate our meals in the piano bar, which has a wonderful piano player. Loved the the show tunes!!! LOVED THE FREE ICE CREAM AT 4:00 every day. We would return and recommend this inn to anyone looking for a wonderful slice of the past in the desert.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a great, Historic resort hotel that is a joy to stay in. The Arizona Inn is excellent in almost every way. We stayed in a deluxe king bungalow and it was wonderful. We extended our stay to 6 nights!
The staff was great and the service was excellent. In fact, superb.
Our only complaint was the food was not worth the price, so we ended up eating elsewhere. That wasn't a problem because there are many places nearby. Oh, there is no hot tub either. Their menu was a bit weird and we found that most of the dishes had some odd feature that ruined it for us. The bar is great. The drinks were well made and the appetizers were good. We gave the main entrees a couple of tries but then went elsewhere.

We would stay there again without hesitation. If I owned it though, I would replace the head chef!

Room Tip: The deluxe king rooms are excellent. I have no experience with any others. We got one away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregoNkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Beautiful, quiet property with unique architecture and history. Such a lovely change from chain hotels and surprisingly reasonable too, especially given the amenities (coffee, in-room frig, free internet and parking, afternoon tea etc.). The staff members are incredibly polite and helpful. I stayed for three nights during a complicated move and felt so refreshed, it was like having stayed at a world-class spa for three weeks. Great location near the University and the medical center.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoundaryPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupeville, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and it was lovely. Beautiful landscaping on the grounds, a delicious (free) High Tea in the afternoon, & chocolates on your pillow. Coffee maker in the room with Starbucks coffee. Also a small refrigerator with water bottles. (This was convenient for us, because we kept some fruit and sodas in the frig). We ate dinner in the piano bar, and it was delicious. The room is set up more like a villa...we had our own little patio as do most of the units. The service was friendly and very accommodating. It's an older historic building site, rooms are clean as a whistle, and good beds, pillows, etc. I took a stroll around the grounds, taking photos of a fountain and the beautiful setting, in general. The pool had steam coming off it, so I know it was warm!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ritarae02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
16.0 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
780 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
6.7 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Property: Arizona Inn
Address: 2200 E Elm St, Tucson, AZ 85719-4395
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson
Arizona Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing