We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic charm!”
Review of Arizona Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arizona Inn
Ranked #4 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you want a trip back to peaceful elegance and friendly charm, this is your spot. This is a very relaxing, humble Inn with a fantastic story and excellent restaurant. It's a beautiful setting, conveniently located to the University of Arizona and downtown Tucson. It's a nice change of pace from the many beautiful resort options.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reddirtrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is The Place for Tucson. All those other places -- Stallion Ranch, Canyon Ranch, etc. -- are for those who love a hectic life. If you've like to stay in the center of Tucson in absolute, truly noticeable quiet, beautiful grounds, delightful dining, welcoming service, and perfect accommodation -- this is where to go.

We stayed here by accident while trying to see too much in Tucson in too little time. The Arizona Inn cured us of that! After just one night, we preferred the Inn to sights and cut back our driving around to one event per day. Why? The Inn is just so, so, so pleasant. It's a destination in itself. Decompression exemplified....

Surely, you can swim laps in the huge pool, play tennis (or croquet or ping pong), ride bikes, gambol on horses and so forth but why not sink into a huge leather chair in the library, read and snooze? A perfect day: sleep late, breakfast on the patio with the complimentary Times/WSJ, off for a tour somewhere, back for a swim and a cocktail, dinner and fine wine, DVD from the classic movie collection and an early collapse.

No need to go on... other reviews are on target though we didn't have a single bad meal and the service was as slow or fast as we directed. No one is rushing you off your table in order to turn it, that's for sure! This is where Old Tucson discretely shows up to arrange things so you're likely to see and chat with wonderfully capable people -- a nice treat -- and an assurance of courtly behavior.

We're putting this on our World List of Most Pleasant Places and now planning to spend a couple of weeks there soon.

Room Tip: Online shopping can hold down costs somewhat. There are a variety of sizes and shapes to the rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Definitely an older crowd and vibe. Lots of dresses, dinner jackets and ties. The grounds are lush and the staff is friendly and accommodating. But the dining is a bit of a yawn, unless your idea of a good time is white tablecloths and muted observations about real estate prices. We were more hiking / outdoors oriented and felt like we'd unknowingly showed up at a formal patio event in shorts and running shoes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vortem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Charming place for the refined, reserved, and elegant. I can't rave enough about this historic property! It has good karma, is well maintained, and is all about service. The woman that started it, wanted a way to give jobs to veterans, so hired them to make all of the furniture, which is now antique. you can tell that staff are treated well here and there is no lack of them. Meals or drinks by the pool are lovely. An absolutely beautiful property with well manicured grounds. Nice tennis courts. Old world charm. Complimentary ice cream social in the warm months or teas in the cooler months make you feel special. Ornate library with large selection of newspapers. Quiet and relaxing. Impeccably clean. Beautiful location. Excellent in every way. They are the epitome of the hospitality industry, the ultimate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calexicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just to get the caveats out of the way first: our only room service breakfast was a disaster--no utensils, and when they arrived a half hour later bkfst was inedible. We mentioned it and were comped. Food and drink service in the Audubon Bar is super slow. Be patient. One night the Negroni was perfect, the next night not.

Small potatoes, though, in a blissful three-day stay at this out-of-time marvel. The grounds as perfect as reported. Pure retro elegance, easy and assured. Well-trained, thoughtful staff.
From the small cocktail party hosted by genial manager, Patrick Cray, upon our arrival to the smiling young porter at departure who, after loading the bags into the car, offered bottles of water, we were happy indeed. Informal meals on the bar patio--uniformly decent (well, a shrimp/asparagus omelet was overcooked). And an excellent Valentine's dinner in the dining room, well-served by Alec.
None of the cookie-cutter brand of Ritz/Four Seasons luxury (I'm not complaining), but a graceful reminder of what care and comfort should be all about. A previous poster here imagined an swell-elegant favorite aunt as charming hostess. That gets it just about right.

Room Tip: Rooms 200 and 201 share a small deck overlooking the pool. If both rooms are occupied, privacy can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vcdarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

95 unique rooms in a 1930 oasis run by the same family (third generation) should be the first clues that quality still sells. This is NOT the young crowd as the clients are of a "mature age" range which perhaps makes AI a GOTO location. Quiet and calm is the end result from this beautifully (you better like pink) appointed Inn that is a soothing oasis in the heart of Tucson. Just down the street from Univ of Ariz hospital this is not a mountain view resort but once you are inside the walls there is no reason to look outside.
The main Restaurant offers top choices while the wine list is adequate (though they need to work on a better temperature control for wine storage….too warm) and the bar offers a few more choices of casual food/sandwiches with an outside patio. The inside living room is just magnificent with wood buying fireplace, comfy couches and great lounging area for the high tea or after dinner Irish Whiskey…or two…or three….
The heated pool is perhaps the highlight and offers a wonderful, calm atmosphere with top notch service poolside of full bar and casual, incredible food. A place you simply don't want to leave once you settle in.
Yet, the rooms are made for incoming ballistic missiles as they are so quiet and individualize. If you read the history, Grandma was brilliant and built this place to last, and last and last while giving the guest individuality. She was way ahead of her time while the Arizona Inn is still THE place to stay in Tucson ANYTIME.

Room Tip: Rooms near pool area (142 is a King Deluxe) offers an easy, private stroll to pool but you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We were going to the Tucson Gem & Fossil show, and heard that the Arizona Inn in Tucson was a great place to stay that was centrally located. The library is beautiful, the dining room is beautiful, the breakfast was very nice...yet the room was just fair at best. The bed was super hard...kind of like sleeping on a hard floor. Not very conducive to sleeping and we didn't get a good nice sleep in the 5 nights we were there. The box spring didn't even have anything covering it...so the edge of that was exposed. Kind of gross. Now to get to the shower. It was very weak. Sure, it's an older hotel, but to pay $389.00 per night and have a shower that dribbles just isn't acceptable!!! Next year...somewhere else for sure!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Suite which was not very sweet... Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earthkarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
2.1 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,002 reviews
16.0 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
806 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
7.9 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
5.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Inn

Address: 2200 E Elm St, Tucson, AZ 85719-4395
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tucson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#17 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £153 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, quiet & sunshine. The Arizona Inn is an historic, boutique, resort hotel spread over 14 acres of gardens, fountains, flowers and lawns in the heart of mid-town Tucson, Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Arizona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Hotel Tucson
Arizona Inn Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing