We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't mention trains in the brochure...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 December 2012

A nice enough place to stay - newly remodeled and new beds and furniture. Room, especially bathroom seemed cleaner than most - no bathtub which worked great for my stay. Large freight trains run through this part of Tucson DAY AND NIGHT - so much so that the earplugs provided in the room were a foreshadowing of what was to come. Spent 5 nights, centrally located. Not impressed by the restaurant, especially the breakfast. Nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the office are going to be quieter. Rooms in the back are going to get more train noise...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunflowermary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for taking time in writing this review regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We will take your comments to heart & work on improving.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. One again, thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ALAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I chose this Best Western when I had an event to attend at U of A. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff was upbeat with a sense of humor. The room was very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. Best night of sleep I've had in a while.
Spacious comfortable room in one of the better parts of the city and a great breakfast to start the day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for your kind words & compliments! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Over the past years, we have become very popular among parents & companies visiting U of A because of our convenient location. Our Made To Order breakfast at the restaurant has been very successful since we upgraded our menu that offers 10 meals to choose from to start the day . . .

Thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. We look forward to seeing you soon. . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We found this resort motel so convienent to everything we wanted to do. New to this area of Tucson , we have found a new place to stay. The staff were all helpful. We being late sleepers they left us alone till after breakfast. Ate twice at the restaurant, both times service and food were great.

Room Tip: Back of motel was quiet but near the great pool
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cavegirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2012

Relaxing Stay at best Western Royal Sun

Thank you for taking time in writing this review on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear the you liked our convenient location near downtown, U of A and easy access to & from freeways i-10 & I-19. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. We look forward to seeing you soon. . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The front desk staff is eager to please, but for the price, I really have come to expect better accomodations. Unless we wanted heat, we had to leave the air system turned off. The restaraunt advertised 2 for 1 drinks from 5-8. When the bill came, we were told that's only for the first drink. We'd have gone elsewhere for Happy Hour! Not a great neighborhood. We walked to downtown Tucson. Lots of homeless folks there. Nothing or no one else. We advise you to stay at the Hampton or Sheraton near the airport, or any of the Hiltons, Residence Inns, or even the Holiday Inn Express by the Air Force Base. All are much better value (we have stayed at all of them).

Room Tip: First floor room -- sounds like elephants rented the room above us.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 December 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in early December. The rate was very good ($76 plus taxes = $91 a night). All of the staff we dealt with (and there were a lot of them) were very helpful and polite. This hotel has free wifi, free parking, a free breakfast (which is NOT a small continental one), and discount coupons. The hotel has an attached restaurant and bar, which we got 2-for-1 drink coupons to use there. The hotel also gave us discount coupons for local area attractions.

The hotel is located less than a mile from the I-10 freeway, so it's easy to get to. A lot of Tucson is far from a freeway. The rooms are clean, spacious, and are renovated. The shower is large and has a comfortable "rain" shower head.

The only downside of this place is that you can hear passing trains from a few blocks away. The staff must have realized this because each room has ear plugs in it for your sleeping comfort. Our Air Conditioner/ Heater was a bit noisy too. Not like an old A.C. unit in old motels, but still louder than the one in our home. We had it switched on all night, so it may have been the settings we put it on.

Overall, we highly recommend this place for a 3 star hotel. The great staff were the icing on the cake. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobInSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Excellent service and a reasonably priced place to stay at the Best Western PLUS Royal Sun

Thank you for your detailed positive review posted on TripAdvisor! We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary Cooked To Order Breakfast & 2-For-1 Drinks at the lounge. Our guests say that we offer one of the best breakfasts in Tucson. Thank you for your compliments about our spacious rooms along with our convenient location near downtown, U of A and easy access to & from freeways i-10 & I-19. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

Thank you for taking time in writing this review & for the business you have given us. We look forward to seeing you soon. . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#17 of 129 in Tucson
982 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
4.7 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £63 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing