We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Tucson.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fountain Valley, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay in Tucson.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

From the moment we entered the lobby for check in we were greeted with smiles and a very helpful hotel Staff. Dan the manager and his assistant Julio are just wonderful people who care about there customers hotel experience. This hotel is very people friendly and service oriented. They pay attention to detail. Our room was very nice and clean. The furnishings were new and the bed was very comfortable. The on site restaurant had excellent food. The hotel itself is in a little older part of town. Do not be dismayed. This is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank JIM G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi Jim,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & staff. I am especially happy to hear that you liked all the upgrades including new furniture we have installed this month. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    343
    117
    49
    25
See reviews for
338
375
102
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was a very nice hotel in Tucson. Coupons are provided for the attached restaurant for breakfast and a discount off other meals and drinks and the food and service was very good. Fairly close to downtown and old town Tucson. A nice experience overall

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed at the Royal Suites at the beginning of September. we were so happy that we stayed again this past weekend. Its a great stay for the price. Breakfast is nice and made to order and the staff is wonderful. Looking forward to my next stay soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank callen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We truly appreciate the business you have given us over the months & your loyalty to our hotel.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & staff. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Location is close to the University of Arizona and downtown as well as historic sites. The one draw back is noise from trains passing at night and the usual city noises of sirens. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Very friendly, professional and helpful staff. Skip the restaurant for dinner though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi Martha,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing this review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & staff. Our guests really like the convenience of being close to U of A, Downtown, Shopping malls & easy access to freeways I-10 & I-19.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Probably the worst hotel I've stayed at in a while. It was bad enough that after the first night, I seriously considered going to another hotel even though I'd already paid for two nights here. There were definitely some good things here, but the cons outweigh the pros by about 100 times.

Let's get the pros out of the way. Short list. This should go fast:

* Free made to order breakfast. The menu has 10 items and you get to choose one (no substitutions) with a drink. I had the healthy choice #8 each morning, which consisted of a small bowl of fresh fruit, scrambled egg whites, two turkey sausage patties, and toast.

* Big room with relatively comfortable bed and towels.

Oh look, that was fast. Ready for the cons?

* SO LOUD! The hotel is really close to the train tracks with absolutely no sound proof. The train goes by about 7-8 times a night, so unless you're a super heavy sleeper, you'll hear it. In addition to the train noise, there's no sound proof in the walls between the rooms and the outside. You can hear next door's tv, talking, as well as people walking by on the corridor passing by your room. The doors also slam really hard, so every time someone 8 doors down opens or closes the door, you'll hear (and almost feel) it.

* The area the hotel is in is kind of sketchy. For a single woman, I didn't feel safe walking alone for long outside. There's a park across the street and by about 6pm, a lot of homeless people gather there.

* False information advertised for the hotel - when I booked the hotel, I was informed that there's a complimentary shuttle service available as long as booked in advanced. When I checked in and asked about it, the front desk staff had no clue what I was talking about.

* Weak internet service. I had consistently 2 to 3 bars for internet service. Not conducive for doing work, or spending all of your down time on the internet when you didn't want to be outside in the ghetto.

Thankfully I only had to stay here for two nights and for the following six nights in Tucson, I was smart enough to move to a different hotel that was a complete bliss. Needless to say, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xlixx004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at (520) 622-8871.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel has a great staff and excellent restaurant. The hotel has satellite TV however, and the satellite TV channel selection and reliability of signal were awful. Tucson is windy, and when the wind blows, the satellite TV reception was off. I loved staying here for the wonderful staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the excellent restaurant, but the satellite TV and channel selection are Awful. If you watch TV at night and use it to relax, well, plan on other entertainment. I downgraded my hotel rating due to this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi Arthur,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel, restaurant & staff. We are very fortunate to have our new restaurant manager & her team as they do a great job in exceeding our guests' experience. I do apologize for the TV reception issue. I will call DirecTV & see what can be done to avoid this from happening.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We enjoyed this hotel very much. The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. They provided us with cookies and excellent suggestions for site seeing and restaurant choices. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gingerbreadjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for taking time in writing a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words & compliments about our hotel & staff. I am especially happy to hear that you liked freshly baked cookies. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
954 reviews
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 North Stone Avenue, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#9 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing