We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's average.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Slc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's average.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ear plugs are available in the room bathrooms and you need them because you can hear the neighbors quiet conversations through the walls. The breakfast was very good, you can order one of ten breakfast specials and the choices are very nice. The place is "pet-firendly", something that I do not like because of pet allergies and this is not noted in their ads. But, I asked for a non-pet room and it was satisfactory. The room could be cleaner, I found the previous occupants trash under the dust ruffle. The sheets were clean but thin. The mattress pad had not been washed in a long time and neither had the quilt (it was between two sheets but had make-up smears.) Also, they don't tell you about the extra $4 "green fee" that they tack onto your bill. the people were very friendly. A homeless park is across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms on main level have little "porches" with nice chairs to sit in.
See more room tips
Green Features: They were not noticeable. Except for practices that benefit the hotel, such as not changing the sheets everyday.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diningdiva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

As the General Manager of best western royal sun it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, since we care so much about our customers and want to provide value and satisfaction for every one of them. However, I believe we can always improve, so I will share your thoughts with our team to see how we can enhance our customer experience in the future.

We truly appreciate your input. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in future.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    325
    109
    47
    23
See reviews for
311
359
91
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This Best Western was without a doubt the friendliest , nicest and most accommodating that we have ever stayed at! We highly recommend Best Western Royal Sun in Tucson.the price was very reasonable with an added bonus of daily coupons for an excellent free breakfast, staff was at front desk and restaurant super nice. Rooms very clean. Perfect location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kansastulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

While this is an older facility, the rooms have been excellently undated and provide all the required amenities. The price was right and included a breakfast at an attached facility which offered 10 choices. We also choose to eat there the evening we arrived. The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. The facility is close to downtown and to the freeway which made it easy to get round Tucson. We higly recommend this facility and will stay there whenever we go to Tucson.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Kenneth,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Every day we count our blessings that our hotel attracts such nice and kind hearted patrons like you. That you would take your time to so generously honor our staff is totally appreciated. Also, thank you for your compliments to the Royal Sun Restaurant about the quality of food & service. You may also write a review about our restaurant by clicking on the below link:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g60950-d6034169-Reviews-Royal_Sun_Restaurant_and_Lounge-Tucson_Arizona.html

We truly appreciate the business & your loyalty to our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was concern about being close to the railroad tracks, but never hear a train after we went to bed. The hotel has a great outdoor pool. The location was less than a 10 minute drive from the Arizona State Museum and the Tucson Art Museum which were on our list for this trip. We ate in the restaurant for dinner when we arrived. The food was ok, but the service was very slow and my order was done entirely wrong and had to be sent back. Breakfast however was a dream. It was a custom order from a list of 10 selections. The waiter took people in order(I don't know how he could keep track of when each table came in, but he did) and it took only about 10 minutes to get our food and the place was full. It was a great breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Christine,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

Please accept our deepest apologies for your experience during dinner. I will be sure to share your comments with our restaurant manager & staff. We will work on improving in the areas you have mentioned. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary Cooked-To-Order Breakfast.

We are looking forward to your next visit & hope to exceed your expectations at the Royal Sun Restaurant.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have never been to Tucson, AZ and the Best Western on Stone was perfect in location to Downtown & the Interstate for day trips. The staff was exemplary in all venues, beginning with Julio @ the Front Desk. There's a wonderful fresh fruit stand a few blocks away @ 6th Ave. & Speedway Blvd. The bus stops directly outside the motel, so you can leave your car @ the B.W. I'm running out of space, so, Stay There - ask Julio for more "info"!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasgerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi Thomas,

Thank you for taking time in writing this wonderful review regarding your most recent stay.

We are extremely happy to hear one of the best compliments we can get from our guests. Our team works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations. Comments like yours are very assuring for our entire team. I will be sure to share your comments with Julio & our entire team.

Once again, thank you for the business; we truly appreciate it. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I was amazed and so pleasantly surprised by the high quality of my stay with this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly. My room was fresh, clean and well worth the price. The location was ideal as it was close to downtown, expressway and restaurants. With a noon check out time, I did not feel rushed on my day of departure. The breakfast that they provide in the restaurant has a variety of options and there is plenty of food. You truly feel like a guest, not just a paying customer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi John,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you at our hotel in future. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I travel a lot for business. Most hotels have the same generic feel to them. And if you want to eat and have a few drinks, the food is usually generic and the bar/lounge has the standard fare of beers.

The Royal Sun is different. As soon as you walk into the lounge, is feels like you are in a familiar place. A comfortable atmosphere with a very friendly staff. The food is excellent. Local, hand made desserts. Local craft brews on tap. You can tell that this hotel is committed to being just a little different and ensuring you have a wonderful time during your visit.

The location is also great. Located just north of downtown and west of the university, there is a ton of things to do in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbtraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hi,

Thank you for taking time in writing this wonderful review regarding your most recent stay.

We are extremely happy to hear one of the best compliments we can get from our guests. Our team works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations and make them feel at home. Comments like yours are very assuring for our entire team.

Once again, thank you for the business; we truly appreciate it. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Tucson/St. Philip's Plaza University
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing