We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #18 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Friendly front desk staff. Delightful waiter at breakfast for just okay quality food included with room. TV doesn't work if it's windy (never heard of this!). Very disappointing that we screen kept going blank during NBA playoff games.Housekeeping never greeted us. Our room backed up to sketchy empty lot along busy street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 104judyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our deepest apologies for not exceeding your expectations during your recent stay.

We have noted all your comments; I will share them with our staff & we will work on resolving all the issues you have mentioned. We sincerely appreciate your genuine feedback as it helps us work on the areas that are most important to our guests.

I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

832 - 838 of 1,308 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

A most accommodating and friendly front desk, grounds staff and housekeeping staff. Wasn't expecting the small Welcome Bag which was a nice touch and the complimentary ear plugs weren't needed in our room as we slept like babies ..... drink vouchers for the lounge we're yet another pleasant surprise and the restaurant fare was great ....... the complimentary breakfast at the restaurant was most adequate ..... Thank You Royal Sun & Suites

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grammajojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

This is by far one of the most rewarding compliments we have received. We believe, we are in business to make our guests happy & make their experience enjoyable. We made you happy & smile makes us realize that we have accomplished our goal. So, thank you for this amazing compliment. We will continue to work hard & create happy guests everyday. . .

We hope to see you in future. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Making a last minute trip I chose this place and was very pleased. It's close to where I needed to be and I was very surprised to see a newly remodeled room. Very spacious and clean. Every employee I encountered was friendly and helpful. I didn't have a chance to try the restaurant for breakfast, but the lounge had a Rockin Karaoke thing I thoroughly enjoyed. Thank You Angela & Macey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LFRnSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, quality of our rooms, customer service, Cooked-To-Order breakfast at Royal Sun Restaurant & Karaoke at the Royal Sun Lounge.

I am happy to hear that we enjoyed our newly renovated rooms. We have recently upgraded all the rooms with new carpet, furniture & beds with premium bedding. Also, thank you for your compliments to Angela & Macey as well as our entire team. I will be sure to share your comments with them.

We are looking forward to your next visit. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Ear plugs are available in the room bathrooms and you need them because you can hear the neighbors quiet conversations through the walls. The breakfast was very good, you can order one of ten breakfast specials and the choices are very nice. The place is "pet-firendly", something that I do not like because of pet allergies and this is not noted in their ads. But, I asked for a non-pet room and it was satisfactory. The room could be cleaner, I found the previous occupants trash under the dust ruffle. The sheets were clean but thin. The mattress pad had not been washed in a long time and neither had the quilt (it was between two sheets but had make-up smears.) Also, they don't tell you about the extra $4 "green fee" that they tack onto your bill. the people were very friendly. A homeless park is across the street.

Room Tip: Rooms on main level have little "porches" with nice chairs to sit in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diningdiva62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

As the General Manager of best western royal sun it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, since we care so much about our customers and want to provide value and satisfaction for every one of them. However, I believe we can always improve, so I will share your thoughts with our team to see how we can enhance our customer experience in the future.

We truly appreciate your input. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in future.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This Best Western was without a doubt the friendliest , nicest and most accommodating that we have ever stayed at! We highly recommend Best Western Royal Sun in Tucson.the price was very reasonable with an added bonus of daily coupons for an excellent free breakfast, staff was at front desk and restaurant super nice. Rooms very clean. Perfect location.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank kansastulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

While this is an older facility, the rooms have been excellently undated and provide all the required amenities. The price was right and included a breakfast at an attached facility which offered 10 choices. We also choose to eat there the evening we arrived. The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. The facility is close to downtown and to the freeway which made it easy to get round Tucson. We higly recommend this facility and will stay there whenever we go to Tucson.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Kenneth,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Every day we count our blessings that our hotel attracts such nice and kind hearted patrons like you. That you would take your time to so generously honor our staff is totally appreciated. Also, thank you for your compliments to the Royal Sun Restaurant about the quality of food & service. You may also write a review about our restaurant by clicking on the below link:
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g60950-d6034169-Reviews-Royal_Sun_Restaurant_and_Lounge-Tucson_Arizona.html

We truly appreciate the business & your loyalty to our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was concern about being close to the railroad tracks, but never hear a train after we went to bed. The hotel has a great outdoor pool. The location was less than a 10 minute drive from the Arizona State Museum and the Tucson Art Museum which were on our list for this trip. We ate in the restaurant for dinner when we arrived. The food was ok, but the service was very slow and my order was done entirely wrong and had to be sent back. Breakfast however was a dream. It was a custom order from a list of 10 selections. The waiter took people in order(I don't know how he could keep track of when each table came in, but he did) and it took only about 10 minutes to get our food and the place was full. It was a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi Christine,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

Please accept our deepest apologies for your experience during dinner. I will be sure to share your comments with our restaurant manager & staff. We will work on improving in the areas you have mentioned. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary Cooked-To-Order Breakfast.

We are looking forward to your next visit & hope to exceed your expectations at the Royal Sun Restaurant.

Sincerely,

Neil Shah (GM)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Tucson City Center, AZ
3.8 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#15 of 129 in Tucson
1,034 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Innsuites Tucson Foothills Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Radisson Suites Tucson
Radisson Suites Tucson
#24 of 129 in Tucson
1,229 reviews
7.6 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tucson-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Address: 1015 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Family Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £71 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing