We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms, good service, breakfast at a nearby restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
BRITISH COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, good service, breakfast at a nearby restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Check in was easy and pleasant. Nice clean room of a decent size. Good AC, Heated pool and hot tub were very nice in the evening when it was cooler.

A number of trains during the night did make sleeping a bit more difficult than one would like.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs to reduce the sound of the trains in the night. Having breakfast at the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DIVERSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences caused during your stay.

As the General Manager of best western royal sun it can be difficult to hear critical feedback, since we care so much about our customers and want to provide value and satisfaction for every one of them. However, I believe we can always improve, so I will share your thoughts with our team to see how we can enhance our customer experience in the future.

We are diligently working with the City of Tucson to resolve the train noise issue & hope to have a resolution soon. We truly appreciate your input.

Respectfully,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    315
    105
    46
    22
See reviews for
302
351
90
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is the way all Best Westerns Hotels should be run. From the moment we arrived at the front desk until we checked-out we were treated royally. From the initial greeting and thank you for being loyal Best Western Rewards members, to the automatic upgrade (didn't need to ask) to the bottled water offered for the road when we checked-out, we couldn't have asked for better service. The room certainly exceeded our expectations, yes there is noise from the trains and occasionally from the neighboring rooms, but overall it was a great experience. Thank you very much and we will be back the next time we travel through Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Anne,

Thank you for taking time in writing this wonderful review regarding your most recent stay.

We are extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us & the amazing compliments. Our team works very hard to exceed our guests' expectations. Comments like yours are very assuring for our entire team.

Once again, thank you for the business; we truly appreciate it. We are looking forward to seeing you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I travel quite a lot for business. It was impossible to work at the desk provided in the room because the desk was as high as the dresser in which the tv was sitting on. I think if you are going to offer this type if amenity then it needs to be functional. The restaurant on the property serves great dinner. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aztravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we truly appreciate your genuine comments.

By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. I apologize for the issue with the desk chair being too low for your comfort. We will look into this matter & work on resolving in very soon.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed dinner at the Royal Sun Restaurant & Bar. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in future.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Top line: I think this is one of the best budget hotels I've stayed in.

For the price, the rooms are very nice indeed - they have obviously had a recent refurbishment - and they are very clean and comfortable with nice size beds, good wifi and cable TV, and a good size shower/sink area (no bath tub). There is also an iron and ironing board.

I was checked in very quickly, and all the staff I encountered here were genuinely friendly (as opposed to that fake 'hotel friendly').

Tucson is not a huge city, so you're never that far from wherever you want to go to but you're still only a 5-10 minute walk away from one of the main strips where there are quite a lot of restaurants.

I went for the inclusive breakfast service deal, which is served in an adjoining diner. Each morning you have to pick up a token, which then gets you a couple of items from a set menu - it's pretty good, but you might want to order extras which are reasonably priced. The diner staff were also very nice and friendly and the service was quick. However, they're not open all morning so you have to get your order in by around 9am.

The hotel has secure parking - lots of spaces - and a small pool which I saw getting cleaned every day.

I should also mention that, foolishly, I left a $2000 camera in my room after checking out. This was found by cleaning staff and the reception staff had it ready for me when I called the hotel after noticing I had left it behind. I think this kind of action speaks volumes for a hotel and its service.

I would absolutely recommend staying here - I had a very pleasant stay indeed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MendozaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi,

Thank you for both your patronage and for posting such generous comments regarding our business. We work very hard to ensure that we please wonderful customers like you. Thank you for validating that we are accomplishing that goal.

Every day we count our blessings that our hotel attracts such nice and kind hearted patrons like you. That you would take your time to so generously honor our staff is totally appreciated. We are believers that within each review one gets a glimpse of the character and quality of the reviewer as well as that which they review. That being the case....we can only hope that our hotel is near the quality that you represent.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon. . .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Overall my experience at this hotel was very good. The room was comfortable and well furnished and supplied. The staff were courteous helpful. I loved the patio area in front of the hotel--I used it frequently to get some fresh air and relax. I would recommend this hotel as a good value for the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Robin,

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests and hope to have the same opportunity often in the future. We appreciate your kind words about our staff and how you enjoyed your visit.

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Why pay resort prices to live like a king?! This hotel was the BEST priced and was resort quality as well, the breakfast was wonderful and its a FULL restaurant with free meal vouchers! (and drink tickets too!) Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Marty,

Thank you for your compliments to our hotel and I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cooked-To-Order breakfast & dinner at the Royal Sun Restaurant. We have just renovated our restaurant & lounge & I am happy to hear that you had a great time.

We look forward to seeing you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yucaipa, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We thought everything was great. We would have liked to have MSNBC as a TV choice. Everything was sparkling clean. The people at the front desk were cheerful, helpful, very professional. The breakfast was excellent. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZbwroyalsun, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hi Gerald,

Thank you for your compliments to our staff and I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cooked-To-Order breakfast & dinner at the Royal Sun Restaurant. We have just renovated our restaurant & lounge & I am happy to hear that you had a great time.

Thank you for your comment about our TV channel selections. We will be looking to upgrade our channel selection in near future & we will be sure to make sure that we have MSNBC included.

We hope to see you soon. . .

Sincerely,
Neil Shah (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.7 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#22 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
7.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Tucson - Reid Park
6.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
Address: 1015 N Stone Ave, Tucson, AZ 85705-7748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Tucson
#15 Business Hotel in Tucson
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#18 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this full-service, Eco-Friendly Tucson, Arizona hotel located close to the University of Arizona, the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum and the Old Tucson Studios. Enjoy complimentary COOK-TO-ORDER breakfast each morning at the Royal Sun Restaurant & 2-FOR-1 Drinks at Lounge each evening. The newly renovated Green Certified BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites, located near Interstates 10 and 19 in Tucson, Arizona. We offer convenient access to many key area attractions including college Campuses, 3 Malls, three-Golf Courses and the Tucson International Airport. Enjoy spaciously-appointed guest rooms and suites, including hot tub suites, each complete with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 32' LCD HD TV with HBO(R) and DVD player. This full-service hotel also features a relaxing outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, fitness center, business services and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome for a small fee. Guests staying at this Arizona hotel will enjoy being close to the San Xavier Mission, the Sabino Canyon, the Biosphere 2 and the Tubac Artists Colony. Just a short drive away, guests can find the Saguaro National Park, the Kartchner Caverns State Park, historic Tombstone and historic Bisbee. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Tucson, Arizona make a reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Royal Sun Hotel Tucson
Best Western Tucson
Tucson Best Western
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing