We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortuna Inn & Suites
Ranked #104 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great, not horrible”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for the 2010 Gem & Mineral show. It was our first time, and we set a high priority on staying at a hotel that was hosting a show. Our expectations on quality were not particularly high.

The rooms (in the back addition) were ok, with the exception of the table and 2 chairs, all of which were broken and unusable. The safe was also not usable, which mattered as were were on a buying trip at an intensely high-profile event. However, the beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the tv worked. Some ambient noise from the streets outside, but not a big deal.

The hotel was not surprisingly busy, and our few requests (no internet access, broken light, broken safe) went mostly unanswered. I asked about the safe on each of the first 3 days of our stay. The front desk was pleasant, but no action at all. They seemed to be seriously short-staffed.

The other problem was no access to nearby food. The front desk told us there would be dinner served in the hotel dining room, but beyond continental breakfast no meals were available. We found only one restaurant within walking distance (a very nice, fancy mexican restaurant).

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShiShiDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    0
    7
    21
See reviews for
8
6
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The "off season" rates were very inexpensive. However, the conditions made it less of a deal. The A/C in the room worked fine, but the A/C in the "common areas", lobby, halls, breakfast room, etc. wasn't working. There was a pungent smell in the lobby. The layout of the hotel is nice, but that was the only upside. Two of my towels were stained. I was there to recouperate from a surgery. The Dr. office suggested the hotel. They took me back to the hotel, and saw things for themselves. The Dr. office is now looking at other options.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank txtimmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

It was a good stay. Me and my family enjoyed every minute in the warm pool. The rooms weren't anything special but for the price you cant complain at all. The service was great and the breakfast was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshfamily12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Needed time to get away from home. This was a great choice. Hotel is still as nice as it was when we first visited in 1999. Front Desk staff was nice and very helpful. The room was quiet and very roomy. had a very cozy decor.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saparicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mesa az
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We payed a lot of money to stay here. It was disgusting. I felt like I walked into a hostel when entering the lobby. We had to drive down an alley behind the motel to get to where our room was located. There is no security in the portion of the motel that we were staying in (a sign on the door that said keep shut and it was propped wide open.) There was exposed wiring in the ceiling as we walked down the hall. Our room had pipes down the wall where the electricity ran. Our bed had bits of paper in it when we turned the sheets down. There was a blue ring in the sink around the drain from toothpaste that had not been cleaned out. The patio was covered with weeds and had paper bowls out on it. I would rate this below the travel lodge we stayed in last summer, not to mention every hotel we have stayed in around the world (including those that were hostels and in third world countries.) If you pay less than $30 a night I would say that is acceptable, we payed almost 5x that price and I will say we learned so you do not have to!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wasabi_will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

The property has hosted artists from our concert series for a year. The hotel has really helpful staff and a great location - close to downtown, restaurants & entertainment with easy access to Desert Museum.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2009

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were excellent and very clean. We have been having our annual New Years Party at the Executive Inn & Suites for about maybe 10 years. We have tried other places and we not very happy with it. So this is why we came back to the Executive Inn. All of my family and friends all had a wonderful time and cant wait to do it all over again this year!

  • Liked — The Cleanliness of Room and the staff
  • Disliked — I cant think of anything
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MQuiroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Tucson
Comfort Inn Tucson
#71 of 130 in Tucson
94 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Downtown Clifton Hotel Tucson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Copper Cactus Inn
Copper Cactus Inn
#101 of 130 in Tucson
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quail Inn Motel
Quail Inn Motel
#93 of 130 in Tucson
2 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Flamingo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna Inn & Suites

Property: Fortuna Inn & Suites
Address: 333 W Drachman St, Tucson, AZ 85705-7229 (Formerly Executive Inn & Suites of Tucson)
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fortuna Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Executive Inn & Suites located in downtown Tucson, provides easy access to many local points of interest like the Sonora Desert Museum, and the Pima Air and Space Museum. Enjoy the great Arizona outdoors with many recreational activities golfing, tennis and much more. A variety of shopping centers, restaurants can be found in the surrounding area. After a busy day, enjoy a refreshing beverage at the Sonoran Lounge, located on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fortuna Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Inn And Suites Of Tucson
Executive Inn & Suites Of Tucson Hotel Tucson
Executive Hotel Tucson
Fortuna Inn & Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing